Indian players whom I have never criticized....

Since it seems like I am always cribbing, whining and criticizing…I wanted to make a list of Indian players I have never said anything negative about on this forum :

Rahul Dravid
Yuvraj Singh
Zaheer Khan
Irfan Pathan
Mohd Kaif
Laxman
Karthick
RP Singh
Piyush Chawla

And the following players raise my blood-pressure (in the given order) :

Agarkar :mad2:
Sehwag :mad:
Uthappa :mad:
Sree Santh :frusty2: ( चुतीया बोलर , ताम झाम ज्यादा करता है)
Ganguly :grumpy:
Tendulkar (lately) :grumpy:
Wasim Jaffer :konfused:

Re: Indian players whom I have never criticized....

^^ Yep, that seems to be the order lately.
But, each and every player could and should be criticized depending on their performance. And I have/had criticized Dravid, Laxman, Zaheer and Irfan Pathan at different times in the last 7-8 years.

PS: Bhajji ka naam nahi hai list mein???

^ Actually I hate Bhajji for a very different reason...in my opinion he still chucks.

I hate all chuckers, sling-armers and people who do bhangra and break-dancing before releasing the ball...

Therefore I hate Murlis, Akhtars and Malingas of the world.

Deep down, I feel, these guys are cheating no matter how ICC laws view them....

Everytime I see Murli taking a bagful of wickets and the media going gaga over him, it makes me cringe.

I strive for a perfect world.

Re: Indian players whom I have never criticized…

more than anything else, I am interested in knowing whats written in front of Sree Santh? :konfused:

bump (since the boy clearly wants some attention)

There is a reason I wrote that in Hindi. That purpose is defeated if I translate it for you.

dude, malinga does not chuck at all....come on.

^dudess, where did I say he "chucks" ?

It's not easy to bowl sling arm action. I think it is a learned art. Do you hate Thomo too?

well, you named Malinga with other chuckers although you called him sling-armer. Although different, sling-armer is just a normal action.

Decent bhai some1, ne indecent likha hi sree santh ke bare mein, do you still want to know, i don’t know what is the purpose of writing it in hindi when no one can read it :snooty:

Funguy (and also PD)....first of all sling bowling is NOT a learned art.
Nobody decides as a child to become a sling bowler. If sling bowling was a learned art , you would see a number of a sling bowlers in International cricket and not a handful, given that sling bowling has so many advantages. Also, how many left-arm sling bowlers have you seen. And there is no Sling bowling school or coaching that I know of.

I was not following Cricket in the Thomson era. But going by how Thomson conjures up images of great bowling today, I am sure that 30 years down the line, cricket fans of that time will think of Murli and Malinga in the same way because cricket history will not emphasize their exceptional bowling actions.

Here is what I have against sling bowling :
(1) The ball is released at the level of the Umpire's chest. Makes it difficult for any batsman(no matter how good) to spot the ball.
(2) It is very hard for a batsman to read the trajectory of the sling ball.
(3) A sling ball is delivered with a very quick arm action (long run-up is hardly required). This poses another problem for the batsman in judging the ball. (I wonder why Shaun Tait has such a long run-up. He could actually stand at the wicket and deliver the balls with more or less the same speed).

In conclusion, SLING BOWLING is an EXCEPTION and not the NORM in Cricket. Batsmen don't grow up training for EXCEPTIONS. This gives a SLING BOWLER a distinct advantage over his bowling peers.

^ All your objections to sling-arm are from a batsman's viewpoint. With so many of recent cricketing rules biased to favor batsmen (restrictions on bouncers, restrictions on fielders etc), please excuse me, when I say 'who cares!'. The reason sling arm is not adopted by a vast number of bowlers is because it is difficult to control the ball in that action. If someone can consistently control the ball while using sling arm, more power to the them. Personally, I believe, we need more problems for the batsmen to make it an even contest between ball and bat.

And when was the last time watching or playing cricket became boring when the bowlers were dominating. it alwas drags when batsmen stick around at a snail's pace. I say the bowlers should be allowed to do whatever they like. Remember, the bat is wider than the ball.

Exactly, it is more difficult to deliver the ball at the right spot with a sling action. So if someone like Malinga with his unusual action is sending batsmen back to pavillion with deliveries in the block hole, then he should be applauded.

Some 1 jee just try it on your own, bowling with sling arm action. I am sure you will be going haywire:D

By the way, do you think Chanderpaul also cheats as it would be difficult for some bowlers to see his stumps with his unusual batting stance?:D

OK, if the general idea is to give more power to the bowlers just to even the playing field and make cricket more interesting - then why care about chucking even. Part-time javelin throwers like Akhtar can be allowed to go full-time with total impunity.

Yes...SLING BOWLING is not easy. Agreed. Come to think of it...even CHUCKING is not easy. An average bowler will find it very difficult to spin/swing the ball if he is given the option to "CHUCK". So, going by fkhan2's logic, we should therefore also allow bowlers/chuckers like Harbhajan/Murli/Shabbir to ply their craft without fear of punishment, since it is such a difficult art.

Einstein, where did I say that whatever is difficult should be allowed? I was refering to your 3- point theory about Malinga where you suggested that it is soo easy for Malinga to terrorize poor batsmen.

Newton, now don't play that cat-n-mouse game with me. You even asked me to attempt bowling with a sling action to see how difficult it was. You were obviously trying to justify Malinga's action.

There is a clear distinction between slinging and chucking - one is legal, the other is not. Hating a slinger as a matter of personal opinion is one thing, everyone has a right to an opinion. But it will be tough to argue on a technical basis that it is akin to chucking.

Re. the issue with a batsman having difficulty picking up the ball from a sling-armer, I believe that it just an evolutionary issue that will get addressed over time. As more slingers come on the scene, we will see changes being made to the umpires clothing etc to allow the ball to be picked up earlier. Recall that Malinga and Tait are the only real slingers of note over a 30 year period since Thommo. Not not like there are so many of them around. Probably had similar discussions going on when the first left arm bowler started playing the game - batsmen complaining about the angle of delivery etc.

IMO a lot of the really cool innovations in the game have come from necessity as a reaction to something that was completely weighted the other way. Thus, reverse swing was invented by Pak bowlers to combat the flat subcontinent pitches. If the ICC persists in making the rules so one-sided in favor of batsmen, can foresee that we will see a lot more new bowling trends, whether it be slinging, or 14.9 degree bends. Maybe even Kaneria's famous mystery ball :-).

Alright, may be I wasn't clear while explaining it you (obviously I forgot that I was talking to you).

Did I ever say that since chucking is difficult therefore should be allowed? Or did I ever talk about chucking at all?

Yes I am justifying Malinga's action as a completely legal action and yes it is difficult to bowl with such an action.

And finally a logic like yours that someone is bowling deliveries which are difficult to spot or read is a highly stupid one. Comeback again with a sound logic to justify your hatred. Just because you don't like someone's action is not good enough to pass a verdict.

By the way you never answered my action about Chanderpaul? Or what about Ijaz Ahmed's stance?:D