Re: Indian Crowd Behaviour & Responces
wait for some indian, they can justify anything the crowd does.
But they won't come today though. :)
wait for some indian, they can justify anything the crowd does.
But they won't come today though. :)
^ They will, once they are done cussing Ganguly themselves. :)
I really feel sorry for the poor guy. Everyone goes through a bad patch now and then.
Although no doubt the series with Pakistan is perhaps the worst time for an Indian captain to go out of form. And on top of that, the team is not winning either. This is a triple whammy for Ganguly.
While the crowd behavior is understandable, I still believe Ganguly has a proven record to take India to victories. They are amongst the top-3 test teams in the world, and Ganguly must be given some credit for their performance in the last few years.
Yaar a1kashur bhai,
Aisi baat nahi, I am still here, and I have said this a number of times, its a very very tall order for the Indians to come up to the standard of Pakistani Hospitality. Unfortunate but true.
The main reason for that is the diversity, and no I am not making excuses, lekin what else can I say apart from Sorry.
arrey Aejaz bhai why are you saying sorry on behalf of the crowd, wasay didnt see you during the game @ gs ;)
simply this crowd is very pro-Indian, bottom line they want Indian victory, doesnt matter how it comes, they even Boooooooooooooooooooooo their captain so that makes it pretty clear what their objectives are.
I'm still surprised why BCCI has not yet made an official apology about the stone throwing incident and the clay pot thrown at Rana.
AT the risk of sounding stereotypical and based on my experience with Gujratees living in America, I find the male gujjus to be very volatile and always ready to do phaDDa. They will talk big, always sound pissed off but the moment you show them you mean business, they will run off. So, it is only expected of them to hurl abuse at players from a distance.
Aejaz bhai.. appane dheek hi kaha( I am sorry bhai, my hindi is limited)
We are sorry for the bad crowd resonse.
But let me try to put it in perspective from the one day that was played in Kochi.
I come from South India, from Kerala, where Kochi is.
Its beautifull state, and model to the rest of the country in litracy, religious harmony and cleanliness. We are also very proud of our sporting culture. We are very sports mad people and play all kinds of games. Our faviourite is football and the state gives a holiday whenever we win the Santhosh trophy. We produce countries best athlates.. be it PT USHA or ANju BABy George..And we love cricket as well.:D . Belieive me, we do. Even my fellow Indians dont beleive it.. but beleive me we are cricket litrate and everything comes to a stop when cricket is played. The only difference between rest of India is that we also stop when foodball world cup is on. :D .
We also have huge minority population. 20% are Muslims and 20% are Christians of all denominations. We were mostly not affected by Partition or with the occasional Hindu-Muslim riots. We also do not think that Pakistan and India will one day be united like the northies have.We consider Pakistan as just another country and their cricket team happen to be in Kochi playing a one day against India.
So we cheered for our home team. We never thought that not clapping for pakistani batsmen's fours and sixers would cause such an issue. If they had known they would have clapped. If these had caused such a heart burn then i am deeply sorry for the crowd.. who just wanted to have a nice time out there( its only occasionally that we get to host a cricket match in our state).. cheering for the home team and then if india wins.. then filling onself with booze.. or if looses then again filling with double the booze.
But i feel that throwing stones at a visiting team's bus is not that sportsmanly. Hats off to Inzy and co. to continue with their cricket and did not give so much imp. to this incident. I think the stone throwing incident helped Pakistani team to get them out of their slumper and square the series..
Congratulation Pakistan,:)
Jai Hind.:)
A crowd that has the nerve to boo its own captain and cheer at his dismissal. I say its us pakis who are at fault really for expecting anything out of this crowd.
^^ Exaclty :k:
Thanks for a nice post…
On the crowd behavior issue, I think we should keep expectations realistic as well. The whole discussion reminds of another epic battle that took place in my home city of Lahore.
Do any of you remember the World Cup Semi Final in 1987? It was in Lahore’s Gaddafi stadium and Pak was playing Australia. With Pakistan performing beautifully in the opening rounds, everyone thought that Imran Khan led Pakistan will roll all over Allan Border’s hapless Kangaroes. People were already salvating about the prospect of a classic India-Pakistan final in Eden Gardens. Several of my friends, even my brother, were in the stadium, all geared up for the expected victory, cheering every run-saved by Pakistanis on the field and every chowka scored by Miandad. Lahoris are a fairly sporting bunch and you can bet they clapped when Aussies scored, but the match can only end in one way, which was victory for Pakistan and thats it.
Australians set Pakistan a target of 268. It was fairly achievable and Pakistan was going all guns blazing and were at 150-3 with Imran Khan and Miandad playing comfortably. A victory was just round the corner. Then Imran got out, and then after some cameos from bowlers, Pakistan’s run chase finally fell short by 18 runs when Pak was all out in 49th over. There was a pin drop silence in the stadium as the fans were utterly horrified. I kid you not, that when my brother and friends came back from the stadium they were shell-shocked from the experience and it took them a few days to get over the loss.
I am sure if Australians wanted to be picky about the whole episode they would complain about the silence in the stadium on Australian victory, but, the fans are not robots who can be programmed to behave in the most politically correct manner all the time. Fans are fans. They are emotional and want their team to win. Thats what makes the supporters cheer their team.
Go Pakistan! ![]()
You know in Pakistan we also throw stones, tomatoes and eggs to help our team get back into the series.
I think if India is not going to win the next match then some 1 should think about throwing some stones at Gang and co for a change...:D (Hope nobody is listening :D )
That was shocking because it was the semi final of a World Cup that everyone was expecting Pakistan to win. You see pin drop silences every game of a long tour and you have to admit that either Indians have no sporting spirit or we are just blithering idiots who cheered more for Sehwag in Pakistan than for Shoaib Akhtar.
And what did Shoaib do to cheer for? Nakhray? ya Bharkaein?
10 bucks say our crowd still haven't learned it's lesson. They are taking vocal lessons so they can yell at the top of their lungs "hindu paki bhai bhai." "we are traitors so what, hindustan zindabad." and other colorful narays for the next tour of india. It wouldn't surprise me one bit if people in karachi and lahore are greasing up their bung hole so they can fully enjoy the bat that they will get sodomized with by indian batsmens. Needless to say, our crowd will take it with a full smile in their face all in the name of "aray, akhir hum bhai bhai hai."