Go England Go :D

Re: India vs England: 1st Test Match Lords

alhamdulillah, great progress so far

Go England Go. :smiley:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/132246a1fbd3dd288.gif

Go England Go

All Pakistanis are supporting England. No self-respecting pakistani would support india in cricket

Wow.....I just woke up and what do I see..

The formidable Indian batting line up folded for 201.

And our punk batting star :
M S Dhoni c Bell b Anderson 0

This is what Cricinfo has to say :
Dhoni almost guided one straight to second slip and next delivery succeeded in finding third slip with a shot more akin to the catching routines a team goes through before play.

Why am I not surprised.

Actually after today's performance, no self-respecting Indian should either...

With a motaa thorough-bred politician as out cricket boss and a 73-year old senior citizen as the coach - can our Cricket get any more screwed.

This sounds so myopic. Not supporting a team does not necessarily mean cheering each and every opopnent they play. I, for one, am enjoying a good contest. I enjoy banter between India and Pakistan fans but lets not be jingoistic.

Dekho yeh hotaa hai if you simply stop scoring runs and try to save your wickets on a lively pitch.
At the end when you do lose wickets (as is inevitable almost always -esp with India) , you end up with very little runs on the board.
If Jaffer/Gangu had scored a little more briskly...India may still have been all out today morning but India's final score would have at least gotten past 250.

couldhave wouldhave....
How do you know? May be Ganguly couldhave gotten out in 20s and Jaffer in 40s and India would have been all out at 170. Who knows? It is just speculation on your part.

As I posted yesterday the chances of India getting close to the total were slim to none. Nikammajee was expecting Laxman to score with the tail which is almost next to impossible. Inzi can score with the tail, Laxman is not in the same class. I am not suggesting Laxman is bad batsman but expecting miracles from him at #6 when no one else scored is asking a bit too much,
Forget about the fact that the ball was swinging, Laxman has proved his mattle in tought Australian conditions agaisnt a much better bowling attack. Still I had no hope that Laxman would come to the rescue.

England are in a very very strong position now. Their lead is already approaching 200 and they still have quite a lot of batting to come, if England can bat for long I think they would like to declare with the lead around 375-400. On this track it would be pretty hard for India to get that but if they startp laying for a draw and leave the bad balls as well England would get right on top of them. Indian batsman should get prepared to be under a lot of pressure in the second innings. Although the odds are stacked in England's favor I still think Indian has good enough batsmen in their line up to play out a draw specially when it's been raining quite a lot in London so they might lose some more time.

Thank You for understanding the point which i was trying to make to Some1.

Anyway....cant belive India got bundled out for 200......got the news just now, ehsan bahi, this Eng bowling line up is better than with u think of it.....anyway for tomorrow Eng would want to bat for two and half session and 70 overs even at 3 RPO be good enough to let indian have a go at 360+ in 110 overs Approx.....what is the weather supppose to be like for next two days???

India should be lucky if they get target of around 270, but as the way this game has gone both teams have lost alot of wickets after 50 over of inning......so india should keep attcking and hope that Eng batsmen lose wickets and have collapse too......if india lose this game, i dont see'em coming back like Visitor's did in 2001:D

Yaar I must admit one thing after this come back in 2005/6 Jaheer Bhai has emerged as the real asset for team India. He is very consistant and more hardworking then before ( I know he had a bad reputation in the first phase of his career). It almost looked over for Jaheer during his injury days, as Pathan took over as Indian fast bowling spearhead. But the experienced lad has made a come back and has proved that he is better than all the youngster India threw caps at in last 4 years or so.

This is no "would be/could be" stuff. Neither is it any speculation.

It does not take a rocket scientist to understand that poking on "score-able" deliveries just so you want to save your wicket till the end of the day (esp if it is more than 25 overs away) does not count for much. You are allowing the opposition to put more pressure on you esp when you could easily put them into submission because they are defending a small target.

What is the point in poking and prodding for 15 overs, scoring 8 runs and then getting out..

I was not asking for Jaffer/Gangu to play Twenty20 cricket, just to play deliveries on their merit....BUT DON"T RETREAT INTO A DAMNED SHELL UNDER THE MISCONCEPTION THAT YOU CAN SAVE YOUR WICKET THAT WAY. (yes, I meant to say that in CAPS).

I have seen this happen with India more often than I can count...and that is the reason why I am pissed off.

Let's not forget the Monty factor in the last innings. England need another 125 runs (target 300) to possibly win the match. But let's not forget they lost 6 wickets for 26 runs in the first innings. Lahorimunda brought up a good point of how important someone in the middle order to bat with the tail is during a chase.

Having said that I ould really like to see India win. Beating England at Lord's is special. Has India ever won a test at this ground?

haan bai, kidher hai..bahir aa!

Forget about 400.Indians cant chase anything more than 250 in last inning. Only rain can save India.

There is such a good round-table discussion going on. Subject of iconic figure was brought to the table and Ashis Ray spoke his mind stating that even though Tendulkar has made sort of a comeback now after his innings at Belfast against South Africa and he is playing better than he did in the last several years, the difficult decision has to be made sometime, soon. Ray pointed out that day before yesterday, Sunil Gavaskar had said in one of his columns that Sachin should continue until 2011 World Cup, and the reason Gavaskar gave was that Tendulkar should bid farewell to cricket in his home country. To Gavaskar's comment, Ashis ended with "It is a moot point".

Sunny is such an idiot and hasn't changed one bit since his glory days of self importance. Dude, wake up. WHo gives a rat's rear here Sachin ends his career. Is it worth sacrificing a young talent for the country?

England 212-5
Pietersen 103 n.o.
Prior 20 n.o.
2nd innings lead 309 runs

Target is 380 for India.