India refuse Pakistan approach - Dalmiya

NEW DELHI, April 28, 2003

India’s cricket chief has said his country’s position of not playing against Pakistan – except in tournaments – remains unchanged.

Jagmohan Dalmiya was speaking to reporters on Monday ahead of an Asian Cricket Foundation (ACF) meeting later this week in Dubai, where he will meet his Pakistani counterpart Tauqir Zia.

“The government allows us to play in multilateral events but we don’t have permission to play in bilateral matches against Pakistan,” Dalmiya told reporters on Monday.

“That position remains unchanged.”

His comments came a day after Zia had said in Karachi he was hoping the Dubai meeting would lead to a breakthrough in cricketing relations between the nations.

“India now has to take the initiative to play us first and resume ties. We have bent backwards a lot and we can’t do anything more,” Zia had said.

The hostile neighbours were scheduled to play a series in Pakistan this month but the Indian government declined to send the team due to tensions over the disputed Himalayan region of Kashmir.

The two countries have met only once, at the World Cup last month, since the Asia Cup in Dhaka in May 2000.

Pakistan are next scheduled to tour India in February next year, according to the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) 10-year test plan.

http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/reuters/reuters2586.htm

I fail to understand why for the past four years India is refusing to play against Pakistan. Kargil ka itna zaida sadma lag hai kiya?

latoon ke bhoot batoon se nahi mante. :)

cowards! :rolleyes:

yes COW-ARDS. :rotfl:

Yeah, let them wait another 4 years and when Tendulkar finally retires, nobody would want to play with them anyway. Dhoti k bhoot!

Chickens - For 4 years they have been crying that India is not playing with us and now when it comes to Asia Cup they run for Cover knowing very well that they have good Chance of Losing to this Indian Team. So Chickened Out? COWARDS kahin ke.

Puk puk puk pukak puk puk pukak :hehe:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Yeah, let them wait another 4 years and when Tendulkar finally retires, nobody would want to play with them anyway. Dhoti k bhoot!

We will see what happens after 4 years, Think about your team no one is willing to play you right now. So far How many teams have refused to tour Pakistan and how many times ??

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Puk puk puk pukak puk puk pukak

now we know who is the real chicken

Pehle to sirf Murge the, Ab Murgi bhi aa Gai. :hehe:

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *...
We will see what happens after 4 years, Think about your team no one is willing to play you right now. So far How many teams have refused to tour Pakistan and how many times ??

Others team's excuses have been different, and none of them have a problem playing Pakistan outside Pakistan. Sarjah cup was during war time. So stop bringing other nations into this mess.

darpook kahin k :disgust:

and I thought you were a vegetarian :smiley:

Cowards indeed.

They are afraid to play us one on one on consistent bases, and since WC, they have just started to play us bilateral.
Where were you when India refused in Sharjah or Toronto, weren't those were multilateral tournaments as well.
The Indian govt is nothing but bunch of cowards, these guys are letting the whole country down. And they call themselves world's biggest democracy.

Chickens, Chickens, Chickens !!! How many examples we need to give.

Two tours between 1991 & 1995. Then World cup 1996 - The greatest Bowler Chickened out, in 1998 They chickened out to play against India by awarding extra point to Sri Lanka And latest is Asia Cup. And you call us cowards - If we are cowards then what are you - Vir Bahadur ??

Chickens kahin ke.

Sahara was a Multilateral tournament ? Yeah mere Vir Bahadur Chicken - Another feather in your cap but still not better than Afridi next richards. :hehe:

Man I think Asif Khan has had nervous breakdown. :hehe: :rotfl:

Vir Bahadur - You didn’t use the magic word ‘COWARD’ in your last post. Tells us who had a nervous breakdown - Murgi kahin ke :hehe: