India: Probe of Muslim woman's death sparks row

NEW DELHI, India (CNN) – The shooting death of a Muslim woman and three others five years ago has sparked a political row in India after a probe said the gun battle in which she was alleged to have been killed was staged.

Relatives collect the body of Ishrat Jehan from Civil Hospital in Ahmedabad on June 18, 2004.

Ishrat Jehan, 19, and the others died in what the police in Gujarat – a state ruled by Hindu nationalists – called a shootout on June 15, 2004.

But a state metropolitan magistrate’s probe of the deaths, results of which were revealed Monday, found the four were killed while in police custody after being picked up in Mumbai and brought to Gujarat.

The state government – led by a powerful but controversial Hindu nationalist leader, Narendra Modi – has rejected the report, citing a federal affidavit in defense of the 2004 “encounter,” as gunfights between police and suspects are commonly called in India.

The state government had accused the four of links with Lashkar-e-Tayyiba, the same Pakistan-based militant group India blames for last year’s terrorist strikes in Mumbai, and the affidavit says that information had come from the federal government, which shared the intelligence with Gujarat authorities.

The federal government has lashed back, saying the affidavit cannot be used as a defense for the deaths.

Don’t Miss
Interpol warrants for Pakistani militants
Video exposes Indian police brutality
Indian police accused of torture
The four were suspects, but “terrorists cannot be killed in cold blood,” Gopal K. Pillai of the Ministry of Home Affairs told The Press Trust of India, the nation’s largest news agency.

Indian Home Minister P. Chidambaram, who was visiting Washington on Friday, slammed Modi’s government for putting up the federal deposition as a defense.

“If a state government acts as though intelligence inputs are evidence or conclusive proof, I am sorry for that government,” he remarked.

His government has never suggested that intelligence inputs sanction killings, he said.

“I think too much is being attributed to that affidavit as if it is meant to defend the government of Gujarat against the excesses that may have been committed by its police. I am sorry for the government of Gujarat and the manner in which it runs its police administration,” he told reporters.

Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which was unseated from national power in 2004, quickly responded.

“Can Mr. Chidambaram then tell us how a state government is then supposed to act on intelligence reports of his government? The police in Gujarat retaliated when it was fired upon. The state police had acted swiftly on information from the central government,” said Sidharth Nath Singh, a spokesman for the BJP.

Singh alleged that “there are accusations of worse fake encounters” in states governed by Chidambaram’s Congress Party.

Modi has been accused of turning a blind eye to the killings of hundreds of Muslims in the wake of the burning of a train carrying Hindu pilgrims in 2002 in Gujarat. The Congress Party, meanwhile, is blamed for the lynching and burning alive of some 3,000 Sikhs by mobs in and around New Delhi in 1984 after the assassination of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi by her Sikh bodyguards.

Political observers and human rights group say ruling politicians often discourage police in India from acting.

Successive governments in India for decades have failed to deliver on promises to hold the police accountable for abuses and to build professional, rights-respecting police forces, the Human Rights Watch said in its report in August.

It alleged that police in India summarily execute prisoners, torture and threaten suspects and arrest people without reason.

“Political masters hold the strings and no government in India – in any of its states – can ever honestly claim that its hands are not soaked in the blood of innocents,” said journalist K.G. Suresh, a long-time observer of conservative politics in the country.

Re: India: Probe of Muslim woman's death sparks row

This topic has already been discussed.
Please dont start multiple India bashing threads on the same topic. If you are short of such topics please PM me.

If you could do careful research you would know that a Real Estate Agent was murdered yesterday in Bangalore. Now you can start ranting about how such bad things happen only in India

fake encounters against indian muslims have become routine matter in india.......

however they are not bothered about the extremist hindus like col shanker parohat even the person who apprehend him (mr. kurkaray) got killed mysteriously in mumbai.

interestingly india is a secular state............

haye haye mr. multiplicity kya hua? takleef bohat ho rahee hai?
what about when u repeat nonsense time after time?!! lolz

I know that you did not read my post carefully. As usual you have started ranting just like that. If you are short of topics to bash India, PM me. I will send you more.

Why discuss the same topic again. I think it is against forum rules for your kind information.

if a local magistrate says something and these people reach the conclusion immidiately. the central agency had informed the gujarat govt about these culprits.

i wonder why all kind of allegations are being probed where modi or his govt is involved!

tu aur kia karain ............. lols

So why they brought them to Gujarat from Delhi?

When a criminal like Modi or his govt is involved, they better probe every kind of allegation.

no...the allegation is that they were brough from mumbai...an un established fact. the high court will definitely revert the decision of the local megistrate but the islamic media will not care for that and will stick to the magistrate version...nothing new!

u sound biased is not it?

how did u know that higher court wud revert the decision........... i cud not understand ur mindset..............

Let me make it simple.

Why to Gujarat??? Cause Modi is there?

You sound so sure. Anyway, whatever the high court does is irrelevant now. Lives are lost based on hatred.

the base fact is that the central intelligence agency had informed the gujarat police of the presence of these people in gujarat with a fixed determination of terrorist act....this fact is being ignored by everyone...even by the so-called human activists and by the magistrate...this is a money game and nothing else.

You are still sliding it to the side. Saying everything so confidentially as if you know everything personally. .

There seems to be a difference in police protection in different cities, they knew in Gujarat they would find protection from above.

/\/\/\ you seem to be equally sure of your findings....

I only discussed what is presented.

You made a prediction and a theory only. Read the first post, then your post and mine again.

/\/\so why you are sure of the rightfulness of a magistrate' conclusion? i can challange that if in future this conclusion would be reverted by the fact finding commission...you would never accept it if is not in your favor....from past just mention a single incident from anywhere in the world when you, i mean that your gentry, have accepted the guilt.

What guilt? Those who died were really guilty of an encounter?

Do you have problem reading or understanding English?

Did you read what is written in the first post?

You keep ranting your made up thoughts and I only discussed what was said in first post.

Shoot out/encounter while in police custody? LOL

/\/\i can understand that you and your gentry can only be happy if everyone agrees toy your (your gentry') veiws...then what the hell we are waisting time in discussion....can you quote any example when your people have accepted that they were wrong or were involved in terror activities....

this is not about terrorism
did u not read the article? :)
is it very hard to stick to the topic mate?

dont involve eveyrthing else here its about a female victim ok dear