Here is the synopsis of the Bollywood-Lollywood starrer. The male wants to get on with his new life and is indifferent to the fate of the woman. The South Asian woman, on the other hand, sees no future after a divorce and nurtures a deep bitterness against the former spouse. The last thing she wants is to see him prosperous and happy in a new life; she would prefer to see him suffer even at the cost of her own welfare.
bahi sahab, divorce was finalized on the 14th of August '1947. Ab aap kay naita naheen mantay tow hum kia keh saktay hain. Pakistan eik 'mus-salama haqeeqat' (irevocable reality _ for lack of a better word) hai. Every other day we hear some Indian politician talking about bringing Pakistan into the fold of mahabharat. This is not the way to go about things. Indian politicians ( some of them) are there sitting in the supreme institution that is parliament or running the major parites. They have to change their mindset in order to sustain the peace process.
*Originally posted by Minerva: *
bahi sahab, divorce was finalized on the 14th of August '1947. Ab aap kay naita naheen mantay tow hum kia keh saktay hain. Pakistan eik 'mus-salama haqeeqat' (irevocable reality _ for lack of a better word) hai. Every other day we hear some Indian politician talking about bringing Pakistan into the fold of mahabharat. This is not the way to go about things. Indian politicians ( some of them) are there sitting in the supreme institution that is parliament or running the major parites. They have to change their mindset in order to sustain the peace process.
we took two different paths let us see whose ideas will win
Naah. Bollywood can’t capture what Hollywood was able to do in the 1989 movie “The war of the roses”. Y’all go rent the video and watch it. The movie truly captures the saga of these two Asian cousins ( I’m sure Ya’know all about cousin marriage by now).
Michael Douglas, Kathleen Turner… are the materialistic, consumer-driven Roses …whose seemingly perfect marriage has soured beyond repair; their only point of contact, aside from their two college-bound kids, is their meticulously maintained dream house, which Douglas bought and Turner decorated to perfection.
When Turner gets a taste of financial independence, she asks Douglas for divorce–all she wants is the house and everything in it (aside from his clothes and shaving kit). He laughs at her and she punches him in the face. Things only get worse from there, as nasty divorce proceedings (with DeVito as Douglas’s lawyer) give way to insults, threats, ruined dinner parties, and pet abuse. And through it all, the Roses begin destroying their beloved home (read South Asia) and its contents, just to spite each other.
The problem is that both Bharat and Pakistan don’t want to lead their own lives. They are hell bent in destroying each other. Look what Bharat did in East Bengal and what Pakistan have been doing in Kashmir. Who the heck cared what happened to East Bengalis or the Kashmiris.
daikhee hai ' war of the roses.' Khair, Kashmir conflict is a reality and I think it doesn't do justice with the problem that the people have faced over the years if we start making such analogies :--(
well excuse me. but isnt this a pakistani paper talking about divorce?
i hate to break it to you guys, but no sane indian wishes for a "maha-bharat", as you would like to think. i hate to be rude, but you guys just dont seem to get it ever. why would india throw to the winds all the institutions it has painstakingly built (or atleast laid foundations to) grappling with an order of diversity than pak has never faced, in the last 60 yrs or so and want to take in irresponsible people resigned to the danda logic of feudalism and dictatorship?
despite pakistan's relatively superior endowment with regards to natural resources (which so far have been nicely squandered by rampant feudalism), there is no room for pakistan in modern india except as a neighbour. what was that again that you lot tell the bengalis? - hum yahan tum wahan..
queer sahab thats the kind of indian i like. sadly theres apparently not enough of you if high ranking popular party leaders can get away with sentiments expressed along the lines. i dont want to dig up quotes but search this website for an argument I had with nikhil i think. included people like Atal ji, that ganja guy in bjp (its late in the night) etc etc talking about berlin wall. instances from the curriculum in some provinces showing india stretching uptil afghanistan.
i agree its a crackpot idea. not just because of the ideas you mention but others like us wanting to have someone to kick around in cricket. but no politician who cares about his career in pakistan can make a statement implying unification without risking ending his political career. and that betrays more than anything else what resonates with the people.
while i dont know much about the comments which seem to have stoked the paranoia (didnt take much i bet), i do remember the indian punjab CM making the berlin wall analogy while addressing a gathering in pakistani punjab.
and why not? who are you to deny a punjabi of his punjab? to him, the border is indeed a berlin wall separating him from his birthland. this wasnt talk about merger of india with pakistan. but you folks are so high strung, doesnt take much to make you shriek.
and since when did politicians in pak have careers.
*Originally posted by ravage: *
queer sahab thats the kind of indian i like. sadly theres apparently not enough of you if high ranking popular party leaders can get away with sentiments expressed along the lines. i dont want to dig up quotes but search this website for an argument I had with nikhil i think. included people like Atal ji, that ganja guy in bjp (its late in the night) etc etc talking about berlin wall. instances from the curriculum in some provinces showing india stretching uptil afghanistan.
yes, i remember our discussion. i dont remember your exact links, but whatever they were, such sentiments are obviously very limited, if they exist. if some politician mentions this, it would be nothing more than an attempt to rouse nationalism in the minds of the poor and uneducated...some idea of "retaking pakistan". but regardless, this idea is never pushed by any politicians. i havent heard it anywhere or seen it in any newspaper.
i still don't understand why pakistanis think indians want to rejoin with pakistan. like i said before, most would laugh at the idea. similarly, indian economists would shudder at the thought. it would never be allowed. indians might joke with their pakistani friends about "rejoining" just to get under their skin, but secretly they would have a heart attack if it happened. india is a very different country from pakistan, and it has taken a very different postcolonial path.
yes, i remember our discussion. i dont remember your exact links, but whatever they were, such sentiments are obviously very limited, if they exist. if some politician mentions this, it would be nothing more than an attempt to rouse nationalism in the minds of the poor and uneducated...some idea of "retaking pakistan". but regardless, this idea is never pushed by any politicians. i havent heard it anywhere or seen it in any newspaper.
i still don't understand why pakistanis think indians want to rejoin with pakistan. like i said before, most would laugh at the idea. similarly, indian economists would shudder at the thought. it would never be allowed. indians might joke with their pakistani friends about "rejoining" just to get under their skin, but secretly they would have a heart attack if it happened. india is a very different country from pakistan, and it has taken a very different postcolonial path.
1) There have been statements issued from the Indian side by the politicians ( in a minority of course) of this nature. So to think that we are exagerrating this or making it all up is wrong alltogether. There are people who harbor such nefarious designs and come up with such ideas based on their illbegotten feelings towards Pakistan but I know its a rare breed and majority of the Indians do not share this view.
2) This issue of a South Asian confederation is now redundant to the extent that even the saner elements in India laugh at such news items and this is a joke shared by Pakistanis and Indians at many levels.
*Originally posted by Minerva: *
1) There have been statements issued from the Indian side by the politicians ( in a minority of course) of this nature. So to think that we are exagerrating this or making it all up is wrong alltogether. There are people who harbor such nefarious designs and come up with such ideas based on their illbegotten feelings towards Pakistan but I know its a rare breed and majority of the Indians do not share this view.
2) This issue of a South Asian confederation is now redundant to the extent that even the saner elements in India laugh at such news items and this is a joke shared by Pakistanis and Indians at many levels.
Queer, you get workedup for no reason. :--)
^yeah, good that you know...the whole family of my mother is also shia...persians are a great people yaara and i get along with them very well...i've visited iran twice and enjoyed my time immensely i spent there...planning to visit agian next year...