With great sorrow, pain and frustation. i have decided to open up this thread to have your opinion about the title of of the thread. Quite a few people have mentioned to me that this whole series has has been fixed under vajpaye-musharaff agenda. Players have been instructed by the respective boards to follow the instructions issued by both governments. The instructions are simple…
“lets have close matches and a final score of 3-2 for one day series”
Both governments want to make sure that the public on both sides should not get upset espeically indian government is extremly serious about it because of up coming elections.If india would have lost both one day and test series badly, that would have generated some sort of hindu-muslim roits in india and would effect BJP chances of winning election to great extent.
Did any one of you hear any thing like this? to me this is the absloutly rubbish and impossible. I believe it is simply impossible to control the matches to such an extent.
The only reason i brought it up because i heard it from people who understand cricket really well…Thst is how they explained it to me. The Plan is simple. The final decision of each match is already been decided ( who will win and who will ose). first 50 overs will be played in a fair and honest manner. and in second half, match will be gauged half way through and will be played accordingly based on already decided result of the match. Given that the picthes are made so friendly, it is easier to manipulate and control the results.
i guess it is total bul****…any views or news to share…
I don't think matches that are this close could've been scripted. Had India and Pakistan won their matches convincingly, an argument could've been made. But it is simply not possible to plan games like this. I mean just look at the anguish on Moin's face when he failed to hit the six to give an example. He looked under a lot of pressure and really tried his best.
On the other hand, I do think that this series is being blown out of proportion and politicians etc are trying to get way too much mileage out of this series. Cricket is just a game. It is not a tool that will bring peace overnight and paper over all Indo-Pak issues. To think otherwise is very naive, in my opinion. I'll say more depending on how this thread unfolds.
btw, there is nothing wrong with this thread IMO, phoenix bhai. as long as the discussion is carried out in a semi-reasonable fashion anything is game. :)
Yeah, I was told something like this one day before the 2nd ODI. I was at someone's house and met this crcket nerd who is a gem dealer and an active sattebaz. He told me that Pakistan was going to win the 2nd game. I told him nonsense and match fixing had been wiped out. He laughed and said it was 'political fixing' this time. This series was about other things. Besides Musharraf was going to watch the game and how would it look if India won? They let us win the first one after all.
Of course I said it was baloney, really, I despise this kind of talk. Then I asked him, ok wise guy who is going to win the 3rd one, and the series? HE said the 3rd could go either way, it will not be fixed, but the series will again be squared 2-2 by the 4th odi. Now this is the funny part, he said since bookies were not involved only a few knew who would win, BUT a pakistani told me before the series started that it was fixed to be 3-2 with the winner being....(no more for now).
Oh ya, the gem dealer also told me how he knew from beforehand that the follow on would not be enforced at sydney, and it would be a tie. why? cause it was steve waugh's last match, and he is doing a lot for the poor in calcutta (ganguly and dalmiya's hometown), that the cup was already with india and politically it would have been a boo-boo to win. howzzat?
I really wanted to open this thread but I was just scared and a bit supportive in a sense because I seriously didn’t want to demoralized the excitement and joy that so many of us are experiencing over the past couple of days. In fact, it is somewhat mean as well to come up with such discouraging news and ruin all the fun. However, I observed both of the games very closely and what I concluded at the end of second game that this series has been fixed even before it started and I for myself thought that its no use watching the rest of two games since there is going to be a final decider at any cost.
anyways, this is just my and one of other friends opinion and i did speak to my brothers, and other friends and they didnt agree with me but told me that i was crazy to come up with such stuff.
I hope i am wrong or others for that matter but as for now it seems like we will be heading towards the final decider in lahore because
if we think why at the first place we have last two games in lahore?
if india were 2-0 (possibly 3-0) up that would have caused major trouble in whole of pak financially(PCB) and not much of the crowd would be expected at lahore.
we are hearing news of vajpee and others stars (bollywood etc) coming to lahore for the final 2 games and what would be the intensity and craze level if india were 2-0 (possibly 3-0)up?
these are just my thoughts so no hard feelings for the crazy cricket fans of both countries :)
well well wel....now that i look back, every thing becomes suspicious... i mean why suddenly advani became so furious about this tour...then why mr. vajpayee decided to meet the players one day before they left for pak.........ok i can understand that...he wanted to encourage indian players and it makes total sense but then why in the world,Mr prime miniter janab Vajpayee sahib called indian manager at his cell phone 5 minutes after india won the first match in karachi. Yes this is 100 percent confirmed news. vajjpayee called indan manager at his cell phone and ithink he also talked to ganguly on phone)... well probably to congratulate them....but even that day when i read these news in indian newspaers, i was little surprised......i mean come on ...it was just a one day match, plus it was the first match...it was not the final match....it was not the world cup final.....why wud Prime miniter himself call indian manager....to congratulate him or to remind him what he is supposed to do in next match.............................oh god.... i think i am getting mad.....yeah i guess i am being mean by starting this thread....but i swear i am just little confused.....i luv cricket so much and i want to make sure every thing is fair and square...
I saw two teams out there doing their best to win and not even a hint of anything else. Desis are experts when it comes to baseless speculation and that's all this is at the moment. Which isn't to say fixing doesn't go on but just look at the reasoning given by some of the conspiracy brigade:
1. if we think why at the first place we have last two games in lahore?
2. if india were 2-0 (possibly 3-0) up that would have caused major trouble in whole of pak financially(PCB) and not much of the crowd would be expected at lahore.
3. we are hearing news of vajpee and others stars (bollywood etc) coming to lahore for the final 2 games and what would be the intensity and craze level if india were 2-0 (possibly 3-0)up?
Not much of a crowd expected in the last match if we have lost the series by then? It has to be level so the stars will turn up? Give me a break.
This is absurd. like Xtreme said, we desis are expert in speculating ridicuslously baseless matters. I have heard such stories too But the way players are trying their level best that you could see it in thier faces, it would be really unfair and discrediting to spread such stories.
If players are ACTING to try hard, then i would say ke all of them deserve oscars.
pd, thats what happens when you start paying attention to such stories. ;you get suspiciuos. Ever heard of the phrase 'jitnay munh utni baatain'.
These are ridiclous and baseless allegations. Whatever the result of these two matches the rumour mongers and conspiracy theorists would have come our with a number of reason as to why a certain situation is prevailing. Why can't they relax and enjoy the series for once. This is really pathetic.
Wait for the theories if the series is tied at 2/2 after 4 matches. These guys will have a field day.
there is a littly fixing and drama in all the matches but saying that the whole series is fixed it kinda sounds absurd it is not possible to score 1300+ runs in 2 matches and players putting their names and i totally agree with Xtreme i dunno y its just in desis that when there is nothing wrong we will find one point or come up with a speculation that somin is wrong i have never heard that pakistan lost the match because they played bad everytime they loose all u head is the match was fixed dyamn man they r human too and as far as this series goes well it is a dream of every pakistani to play against india and vice a versa and who ever does puts in their maximum effort so callin this series a phoney or fixed is wrong i would say end this topic and enjoy the series and let the politics be in the politicians hands :k:
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I saw two teams out there doing their best to win and not even a hint of anything else. Desis are experts when it comes to baseless speculation and that's all this is at the moment. Which isn't to say fixing doesn't go on but just look at the reasoning given by some of the conspiracy brigade:
Not much of a crowd expected in the last match if we have lost the series by then? It has to be level so the stars will turn up? Give me a break.
exactly! The reasoning is ridiculous. In the matches played there was no hint of anyone trying to throw the match away. Everyone tried their best.
Now if india or pak win the seriesby say4-1 the conspiracy theorists will say.. ppl were starting to get suspicious and thus players were ordered to let the series swing drastically in one team's favour.
This is first time that I am hearing this. Only self-centered loosers will think like that. Its a game. Some ppl can't see others (in this case 1.3 billion) happy at all. You're calling them cricket experts, I will call them loosers only.
But one thing is true, beside the urge to generate goodwill for both countries and soften the tension, both governments have agreed to play this series and that also at a time where they have political challenges. For Pakistan it was Dr. AQ Khan's case and for India the upcoming elections, for sure. As for India, its also a time first time in decades when Indian team is stronger than Pakistan and they have high hopes that they will win first time on Paksitan soil. But its everyone's choice to make decission like these. I would say its a plus point for India, thats it all. But fixed series, nah! its rubbish.
wohh wohh talk about ghusa and so much of rage!!! i myself want the very same as you guys do. lol
its just this thought came to my mind after one of my cuzin started the whole issue and he ruined the whole game (2nd ODI) for me. i didnt feel like watching it anymore.
i really hope that is not the case bcz my heart says that they cant be fixed and i myself want sheer joy out of this series but then when i listened to my cuzin and freinds around me that acutally made me start thinking over this matter.
chalo khair i hope im wrong and i really wish kay series gets finished with an 4-1 thrasing in the favour of pakistan. :)
This is idiotic. Those conspiracy theorist need to have life...
Regarding people who heard someone telling them who will win the match.Its a juts a 50/50 chance.I must have been a match fixer since I guessed results of almost all the matches in Aus well in advance.