India offers Pak 5,000MW electricity

Re: India offers Pak 5,000MW electricity

Out of the box thinking has to be done if pak wants to get out of power mess.
indian offer can be a quick solution and which i think is good as well, but long term solution has to be planned with consensus.
what the report doesnt tell us is the price per unit that India has offered.
no pride issues should come in mind of some jehadi minded people here.

Here is some outof the box thinking i came across this week.
i am visiting this major state in india this week. the city i am visiting is notorious for power cuts as this state is energy deficient. one of the major problem was people not paying their bills on time. so the govt came up with a innovative solution. they announced that top three cities which pays their bill on time will be spared from power cuts. this city which i am in at the moment came together and citizens started paying bill on time with a mutual understanding. and in last two years this city hasent seen a single power cut. tough this state is still power deficient but more and more cities are competing amongst each other to pay their bills full on time. tough in next two years as rajasthan becomes power surplus (which will transport its surplus ) and new power plants coming to this state situation will be lot better.

competition is a good thing in long term. if indian power becomes a threat to the local producers then may be they will improve their own performance.

ummmm… I wonder how they are able to run Delhi metro if there is such acute power shortage? *

Delhi Metro first railway to get UN carbon credits - Monsters and Critics

Can be a solution in short run but coal fired power generation is the only feasible way to go forward for Pakistan in the long run.

who give a shyt, how much electricity Indians have spare or not.

all i care even if they can transfer a single MW, i am happy. the most close proximity is Pak/India Wagha Border.. sign up the contract with liabilities if India can't transfer certain MW every day, just like we have a clause in contract with Iran/Pak pipeline, Pakistan is obliged to pay 1.5 million dollors every day if the gas transfer doesn't start from the specific date.

either way we have win-win situation.

We Better Accept This Offer

either you are troll or a joke.

dude when dumb people on the talk shows talk about hydro capacity they fail to mention the time & resources it require to build a freaking dam or large scale reservoir.. do you have funding & resources for lets say a 20$ billion project? go figure.

This is the focul point of this discussion and was hinted at by sharaabee.

We just love to go overboard on both sides of logic. If India is facing blackouts and is unable to use its electricity, there must be something which is not working for India. And as sharaabee said that they just wanna "drain overproduced electricity which cannot be stored," it is obvious they would be willing to offer it at a lower price.

Secondly, we also have to see how much we have been willing to pay to rental power producers. And given the severity of the crisis, a bitter pill of high price for a short period may still not be a very bad idea. See what's happening on the roads of Punjab and take a decision accordingly.

here in maharashtra villages are facing 13 hour of load shedding and our govt want to give 5000mw to pakistan...........:D

Right on. e-jihadis don't function via logic or knowledge.. they function via hate.

sounds like you have someone like wazeer tail kanghi raja praiz ashraf in india :D

Yeah, genius - please let us know what alternates do we have and how much will 46,000 MW cost.. lets have your gems...

Load shedding in first world countries don't count :D BTW your govt. is in talks with Eyran to import few 1000 MW while Indian Einsteins on this board are jumping up and down..LOL... Wana bet, wait as long as you want - this is another of those many Indain hot air baloons that will fade away.

Don't worry your MWs are not going anywhere, they are staying in bharat... be happy and enjoy :)

BTW, please don't feel like left out, your state is not alone in power shortages.

Power shortages are bad for business in Punjab, India

Sunil Jain runs a $3 million-a-year packaging business in the northern Indian state of Punjab, but he's not sure how long he can keep his two factories open. Punjab has been plagued by power shortages in recent months, and almost every day Jain's plants are forced to switch to expensive in-house generators to keep operating. "How can we survive?" Jain asks. "How can industry remain here, when there is no power?

My question exactly. What will be the consequences if the bill is not paid at all ? We will have to pay in kind by giving away kidney's of our president , pm , ministers and parliamentarians. :)

i knew that i you will ask this question. Yaar ager mujey hi pouchna tha. .tu pehley likha kyun tha… :hmmm:

anyway… just to give an example …

Project: Diamer-Bhasha Dam
Cost: 12$ billion est. 2011
Power: 4500 MW
Time: 12 to 15 years.

I have always said that , trade with India is in the interest of both countries.

I know I know I have all the cost breakdowns from Thermal, Hydro, renewable nuclear, coal, wind blah blah you name it. But what you fail to undertsand is the best options that are available to pakistan at this time factoring in political and financial situation.

Here are the cost breakdowns from (2009)

1000MW Nuclear estimate cost $2B
1000MW Coal estimate cost 1.2B
1000MW natural Gas cost 1.4B

None of the above are viable options, who will pay for the fuel imports? you! Pakistans experiments with Solar, I don’t even want to get started on that.

factor in the operating cost, fuel etc more than offset its initial cost advantage. For pakistan in the long run Hydro is the best option with 46,000 MW to 65,000MW potential… No other technology of that magnitude is available to pakistan.
Only economically viable option to provide energy is through harnessing hydel-power. It is best suited for our unique set of circumstances and geography.

Bottom line… Pakistans Northern Areas are a gold mine for Hydro-power…

There are volumes on what options are available to pak, their pros and cons.. try google…

the question is............. whether the indians are willing to give 'commission' to the PPP......and how much at that.........the ONLY determining factor whether this deal goes through or not.

oh bahi ... . where the money will come from? our Arab brothers or chinese brothers?
and by the way.. have a poll in Pakistan who will wait for your hydro projects which will take a decade to come online, mashallah !

explain how coal & nuclear are not viable options.

problem is with distribution, leakage, and bill collection i heard.........u keep making more n more bijli........if u don't control those things....it won't solve the problems.......

Oh Bhai, nuclear is out of the question, PEROID... why because no one will give one to us... Those 300MW are puny lil things that don't count and China do not have proven 1000MW reactors yet.. Who will give us 1000MW reactors... Santa Clause..LOL...And where will fuel come from and who will pay for those?. Besides many western countries are moving away from nuclear... Pakistan should have reactors for nuclear baams only.....

Coal - Pak has 5th largest reserves but no one wants pak coal, sulphur???, ... No one has the treatment for cancer yet. May be you can ask China why they spent $70B to buy Australian coal but not from us.

I wonder why countries with abundant sources of energy like oil and gas still build hydros when they can build the cheaper alternative.... Try Google, there is tons on pros and cons instead of making wild claims.