India named top tennis team in Asia

Thats a good job by India. def something to be proud of. A question of indian pals here. Is the sport catching on in India? i.e. these folks have really worked hard to get to this level. Is ther grassroots level development of the sport so there is a new generation of players to take on the role when these guys go past their prime?

Thats what is needed. If that is being done then its a good sign for this sport in India.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Thats a good job by India. def something to be proud of. A question of indian pals here. Is the sport catching on in India? i.e. these folks have really worked hard to get to this level. Is ther grassroots level development of the sport so there is a new generation of players to take on the role when these guys go past their prime?

Thats what is needed. If that is being done then its a good sign for this sport in India.

Fraudia,
As per my knowledge this game is still played by rich and upper middle class families.But somehow India always managed to produce good tennis player.They have been among best team in Asia for last 40 yrs now.
But most of players have come from sporting families where either parents were great tennis players or exceled in other sports. But somehow we always have good players.Senior Krishnan was once ranked in tope 16 in 60s.Vijay amrtiraj went up to 4th or 5th Ranks player in 70s.vijay and his borher anand were one of best double teams.Then in 80s Ramesh Krishnan has highest ranking of 16 in singles.In 90s we have great player like Paes and Bhupathi.But somehow they couldnot excel in singles but they won 5 or 6 double grand slams.
But more than that India has very good record in Davis cup.They were runners up 3 times. :)

Fraudia ji - Sadly that is not the case. Most of the Indian players who have played at the International level, were not the product of any infrastructure but their Individual Talent. I dont think there are any significant Grassroots developments being carried out or any infrastructrue for improvement of Tennis are being built at national level. It is limited to the big cities like Delhi, Madras, Banglore, Calcutta where the respective tennis associations are doing pretty good job of providing excellent facilities for practice to their members and that means it is still limited to the people who can afford those memberships.

Wow, I am in awe of the great Indian tennis players. They are the champions of India...

I am also the best cricket player on a small quiet road here in the UK, there are only 2 people that play cricket on this road apart from me.

But so what I am the champion on this road.

Yaar honestly who gives a crap if India was named top tennis team in Asia.

Tennis is a sissy man's game, any1 who plays it should get beats as their treats.

Pakistani Tennis players

Ahmed Wahla (home town: Lahore Pakistan) is on Northwestern University Men Tennis Roster

http://www.collegetennisonline.com/upload/h-Wahla.jpg

University of South Carolina Athletics (Tennis Roster)
Nasir Sherazi (Home Town: Lahore Pakistan)

http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/scar/sports/m-tennis/auto_headshot/p-sherazi.jpg

http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/scar/sports/m-tennis/auto_headshot/p-Sherazihead.jpg

Boston College Tennis
Nida Waseem (Home Town: Karachi, Pakistan

http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/bc/sports/w-tennis/auto_headshot/p-waseem.jpg

South Carolina State University
Zia Hai (Home Town: Karachi, Pakistan)

http://www.aug.edu/athletics/graphics/tennis/ziahai02.jpg

Lyon College Tennis
Mujahid Khan (Home Town: Islamabad, Pakistan)

http://www.lyon.edu/webdata/groups/athletics/Tennis/2002/2002%20Profiles/2khan,m.jpg

*Originally posted by rizwanfareed: *
Tennis is a sissy man's game, .

yeah if we are talking about how you would play it :D

Aif thanks for the info, its sad though. In countries like India and Pakistan the lack of support at grassroots level and a planned approach for the growth of a sport is bad. There used to be a couple of Pakistanis lads who were decent at tennis, not as good as these indian gentlemen but best that pakistan had produced and they made some waves, but sadly no follow through. Squash was also built due to individual commitment of some players.

to give you an idea, the dude who just won Pakistan table tennis tournet, asim hayaat..he beat Farjad Saif in semis to get to finals. These gusy were at the top of the game in Pakistan back in 1984. players from other countries from that era retired and went into coaching. Jiang Jialiang, Waldner, Apelgren etc. these guys are still at it..why, because they got their due to individual effort and since then there has been little effort to get a new group to replace them.

that's like America calling the Tampa Bay Buccaneers "world champions" of football...i mean being named the best tennis team in Asia isn't really a big deal...

I agree, tennis is for sisies. Ping Pong all the way!!!!

Asian countries hardly care about tennish. No biggy in being number one in Asia. I would really laud if an indian win major grand slams consistently to be respected in the World.

I think we should be boasting our infinite achievements in squash. By far we will be the best for another hundered years against Asian countries. Right now our top player in squash is ranked around 15th - Number one in Aisa :p

Point is : Asian ranking doesn't bring jackshi$

*Originally posted by TUMS: *
that's like America calling the Tampa Bay Buccaneers "world champions" of football...i mean being named the best tennis team in Asia isn't really a big deal...

Hey..Football is very very famous sport in States. Millions watch it. You can't even compare the tampa bay with the "current" asian champ for over 40 years in tennis

stop this crap…
coming from those people who post an entire thread to glorify if one pakistani double player wins a double match in first round of a Grand slam…
but then no fault of yours.this was first time someone playing in a granslam..lol :rotfl:

By they way we just defeated NZL 4-1 in Davis Cup. :wink:

This is current Davis cup Raking…we are 14th…

http://www.daviscup.com/ranking/current.asp

See you are so predictable. I knew it. :hehe:.

Anyways Does ICC have seperate matches for DOUBLE WICKET in every world cup Tournament ?? Or Do they add the scores of Double Wicket in a players’ career record ? :rotfl::rotfl:

Man this is another one of your gems.

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
stop this crap....

take it easy, yaar. u know this is gupshup - Pakistan's discussion board. Don't expect us to 'glorify' anything india does, just like we don't expect indians to 'glorify' Pakistan.

Win titles..win championships and you get my respect :D. Again , Asian champion means in south Indian lingo “Illay”

I wasnt actually proud of our 15th ranked player in squash, it’s actually dissappointing when we ruled this game but somehow you are boastin a 14th ranked indian team. khair lets hope the Indian team jumps to the top 5 which I don’t see ever happening. :hehe:

Our Tennis player has an Olympic medal. :rotfl::rotfl: .

Rizwanfareed - do you have an Olympic medal too ?? Bahut Dhuan uth raha hai yahan- AQ Bhai woh kaun sa sher hai - ‘Kisi Bulbul ka dil jala hoga’ ??

Please, Please someone post that Sher yaar.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
Win titles..win championships

Leander Paes :-

'96 Olympics Singles Bronze; Doubles Champ at '99/'01 French Open and '99 Wimbledon, '99 Wimbledon & '03 Aust.Open MxD champ; '90 Wimbledon & '91 US Open Junior Champ

yeh Chaman se kaisi aa rahi hai buye Kabab
Shayad kisi bulbul ka dil jala hoga**
By the way,Asif do u remember 1987 Davis cup semifinal when we defeated Australian in Australi.That Australian team has big name like Pat Csh,FitzGerald,Wally Masur.

here is the score card..Just to bring some Nostalgia..

Tie detail Rubber scores by set 
 1 2 3 4 5  
 Rubber 1 
Ramesh KRISHNAN (IND) 6 6 3 8   
John FITZGERALD (AUS) 1 2 6 6   
 Rubber 2 
Vijay AMRITRAJ (IND) 1 6 12 6   
Wally MASUR (AUS) 6 3 10 4   
 Rubber 3 
CASH / DOOHAN (AUS) 6 6 6    
AMRITRAJ / VASUDEVAN (IND) 3 4 4    
 Rubber 4 
John FITZGERALD (AUS) 7 6 6    
Vijay AMRITRAJ (IND) 5 3 3    
 Rubber 5 
Ramesh KRISHNAN (IND) 8 6 6    
Wally MASUR (AUS) 6 4 4   

http://www.daviscup.com/results/tieresult.asp?tie=10000625

Vijay vs Masur match was awsome.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Leander Paes :-

'96 Olympics Singles Bronze; Doubles Champ at '99/'01 French Open and '99 Wimbledon, '99 Wimbledon & '03 Aust.Open MxD champ; '90 Wimbledon & '91 US Open Junior Champ

Actually I was looking for singles that has more wieght but winning doubles is also very respectable. Good Job. Indians are truly deserving number one Asian team ..thas about it :)

Yup if Squash was an olympic sport.

Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

yeh Chaman se kaisi aa rahi hai buye Kabab
Shayad kisi bulbul ka dil jala hoga**
By the way,Asif do u remember 1987 Davis cup semifinal when we defeated Australian in Australi.That Australian team has big name like Pat Csh,FitzGerald,Wally Masur.

Ohh Thank you Brother. How can I forget that game and I was so tensed during that Ramesh Krishnan/Wally Masur reverse Single Game.

Since then I watched almost every Davis Game as long as I was in India and trust me what a treat it has been over the years to see Leander beating players like *Goran Ivanisevich, Wayne Ferreira, Arnaud Boestsch, Henry Leconte & Jeremy Bates * to name a few.

Last year (2001) also I watched him play against Andy Roddick in US and he won the first set, lost the next three but not before strtching Roddick to 7-5 in 4th set. It was an awesome game but probably Roddick's serve and youth was too much for him. He still won the Double with bhupathi.