India grows faster than expected at record 9.4 percent

Re: India grows faster than expected at record 9.4 percent

SOA
yeh seb toh theek hai.....
But my basic problem is- still can't dare to apply for a home loan with 13.5% interest rate, and guess I am also also a common man, don't know how many common people are still having that "purchasing power", but I remember when interest rate use to be 7.5% and we were moaning that it's too high...and many middle class families like ours are affected due to interest rate.
And those who have taken home loans some 4 years back at floating rate of around 7.5-8% are now trapped in this---just imagine their agony when their interest rate is doubled within a couple of years.

Rahi baat inflation ki, I don't think this is the right policy of RBI to increase interest every second day....pray interest rate is NOT the only way to curb inflation. Price of commodities, petroleum products etc. are also responsible for inflation.

matrubhoomi, pray tell what other tool besides the interest rate does the RBI have to control inflation in an economy growing too fast. higher rates do bring down prices.

^^ exactly.

I have a degree in Economics and Finance and what queer just said is correct

Visualizing a policy and implementing it on ground for actual benefit of masses are two different things.
NDA and UPA governments should be weighed in this context.....No one can deny that MMS, Chidambaram and Ahluwalia had ideology of radical economic liberalization right from day one and are appreciated still today, but nothing on ground was visible during that time, may be due to lack of that "extra" courage to take it to next level. Manmohan ji earned the "fame" by de-evaluating rupee and sending gold.
Corruption was ramapant thanks to Narsimha Rao.

On the other hand one can actually notice, how private players entered in lot in the telecom sector...I never thought that telecom will get liberalized at such a past pace during NDA regime.
Pramod Mahajan was not corruption free, but sincere efforts led so many companies enetering and cheapest call rates now in India actually benefits the people and owes to NDA.

Coming out of city and looking at remote villages in UP, their was no decent road, Prime Minister Gram Sadak Yojana, was in fact a success, all remote villages including mine actually got a "Pakki sadaK". This is different matter that now they are having pot-holes and in bad condition due to lack of maintenance. But having NO road and having a worst road, I will still prefer later.

NDA has to face some very serious challenges like Mush's brainchild "Kargil" for no reason....Before that Vajpayee tried his level best but he was conned at the end because he never realized that neighboring country Prime Minister Nawaz Sharrif do not have full control over his army general for "loving" neighbors army works independently.

Uma Bharati being sports minister, I can't see present day sports minister Shri Ravi Shankar Aiyar is anyway better than Uma.
In India we have to bear with "Netas" occupying ministeries without relevant qualification because they are elected by Junta Janardan.

Very sad indeed to know you are posting this m2k bhai :( I have deep regards for ur posting but seeing what you are posting is very sad. India is a failure :o Unless and until you become religiously aware as to who you are, you haven't achieved a bit.

Being a Punjabi, I can tell you that we never asked Mr. Manmohan Singh's kins to leave, our elders must have offered the Singhs to convert to Islam and stay in Chakwal or Sahiwal- wherever they want to live in Pakistan. There were hundreds of thousands or maybe lakhs of Hindu Khatris (Kapoor, Malhotra, chopras etc.) who chose to convert and stay in Pakistan respectfully in Pakistan instead of leaving like a coward to Delhi and E.Punjab. Its not Lyallpur queer saab, its Faisalabad- one of the most advanced cities of Pakistan with solid infrastucture that you won't find anywhere else. So, Manmohan and Gurcharan leaving Pakistan wasn't Pakistan's loss- it was theirs for sticking to a religion that doesn't help them :)

Petroleum prices are much higher in India, what is the price of petrol and diesel in Pakistan? I guess it must be less even there.

Price of commodities can also be controlled.

Increasing interest rate is the most easiest way, so naturally these "talented" economists opt for that.

Mercenary....I have no degree in economy but engineering:D

Yeah Pakistan is a success and "enlightened"....abb toh khsuh ho jaao

Aalsi saieen, how good is growth when youth refuse to grow beard or when women refuse to wear burqa? As a muslim, please tell me.. please! :slight_smile:

bhai, blind nationalism and patriotism is one thing, saying something which goes against the conventional norms is the other

I cannot pretend and lie to something which I know to be true....

India is doing a good job, its economy is growing, it has a growing middle class, lots of foreign investors....

Pakistan should seek to emulate India

We have a large english speaking population, a very talented work force, we can easily duplicate what India has done....

m2k bhai, my question is- why do we need to learn English in the first place? Why not Arabic? that way, our youth can learn Quran and improve their lives.. I suggest- don't just "emulate" a phenomenon that hasn't shown any signs of sustenance, create your phenomenon that is both ethical and morally right. Menu inj lagda ai tussi Canadian tay angrez ho gaye ho:(

^^ We need to learn English because its the Global Language.

Look at India. It is miles ahead of so many countries in the world because a large percentage of the population speaks English. Outsourcing, call centers, and India's soft image around the world is due to the fact that its population speaks English and is able to articulate its position clearly.

International trade, commerce, communication, negotiation is all done in English.

Its the global Language. We are communicating in English.

Why not Arabic?

Well besides Arabs, no one else speaks it. We read the Quran which is written in Arabic, but I don't understand it. I bought an English Translation of the Quran and from there I understood the meaning of the Quran.

Where does it say that Arabic needs to be the global language ?

The British conquered the world, not the Arabs and thus its their language that rules supreme and there is nothing wrong with that.

English is a vehicle which is used to communicate between different people.

English is the way to go. It is a global language.

We need to educate your youth in english.

It pisses me off when I go to Pakistan and I see Cartoons have been translated in Urdu for young children to watch.

Why not air them in English and children can enjoy themselves and learn English.

Hmmmm.. the problem seems to be far more serious... have you studied Quran completely? Our teacher in Pakistan told us that all inventions, discoveries, science/tech- everything is in Quran, EVERYTHING!!! what advanced countries are doing is simply translate them and are making money off of it!

Arabic is good for us because instead of emulating jaahil India, we can emulate advanced arabic-speaking gulf countries- they are our brothers who've always helped us when it was needed.

matrubhoomi, your reasons make no sense. licensing deregulation , SEBI act, opening up stock markets to foreign investors, allowing 100% foreign investment in select sectors, all happened under the narsimha rao govt. none of these reforms showed up on the streets on day one. it takes years to feel the effects and prosperity resulting from the influx of foreign capital as well as freedom for local industries to function in a free and efficient way, and this is precisely what we are currently witnessing.

nor will subsidizing petrol lower inflation. petrol in india is the world market price. theres hardly any serious taxation slapped on to it. if interest rate seems too high, why dont you take advantage and funnel money into a savings account instead of a house for now? indian banks offer close to 10% on savings accounts these days. higher interest rates will also put the brakes on skyrocketing house prices, and make them more affordable to you.

moin paaji, chaa gaye tussi.

Then your teacher shouldn't be teaching.

If all scientific discoveries are written in the Quran, then why are Arabs and Muslims so far behind the West?

Why don't the Muslims read the Quran and find a cure for AIDS and Cancer?

Come back to reality man....

Ok let me start with a small eg, over a period of 2001 to mid of 2006, US increased its rates from mere 1% to 5.25%, now why was that. Yes factors such a fiscal policy and monetary policy are important. But most important is the monetary policy you have to remember lots of stuff are connected to this let it bonds, stock market and foreign exchange.

Let me go further during this time in US housing market was booming, as interest rates were the lowest (same case as in india) this also made the complete market more demanding.

How does the commodity, durability market get demanding with housing comes
1) Durable products (fridge, tables, cupboards, washing machines...)
2) Other factors even commodity prices increase.
Look at the share prices of home depot inc at this point of time.

So with housing demand, everything is taken into picture at this time please also have a look at the labour market it usually increases. Believe me its a tough task to control inflation and employment at any one time.(Remember if inflation increases it effects the employment, now this will be complete economics subject)

Its the same case in india though interest rates are hiked, but demand for housing market is increasing (read the above factors which come into picture with housing)
Now get the case of RBI if inflation is not controlled , a common man for a short period of time faces difficulty but over a long run life is easy. I hope i could explain in more detail but that would make the post longer.

So with demand and shortage of supply the prices increase and inflation as an enemy comes into picture. Now understand how it effects a common man, if these prices aint controlled.

Over a period employment and inflation are polarized if not controlled and this has to be optimized.

With respect to petrol prices the india should measure WPI excluding petrol prices to get a real picture (US does the same stuff). Petrol prices cannot be controlled by the system ofcourse only inflation can be controlled.

The reasoning of queer should double up my statement, save instead of spending but as of now India is market based on consumerism.

2 Likes

Are u sure the home loans are at 13.5%. As far as I know we are paying interest of homeloans at 9% interest. Though the starting interest rates were at 7.5%.

I enquired last month through HDFC, the best they can offer me was 12.5%--floating rate.

Not sure, but your might be fixed interest rate ?? hence not affected.
In that case you are lucky. Those having floating rates are compelled to pay more.

Rightly pointed out

Absolutely right. Think and you will get the reason. Most of what you know about China is actually what China wants you to know. There are (were) lot of facts no one knew.
India is different. The negetive things about the country somehow show first. The positive things are also not hidden, but people look at the negetive, and rightly so, because problems need attention so that they could be solved.