Arey Bhai - Main Yahin hoon. Little busy at home and work both. I guess Vajpayee read Umair316's posts and couldn't take his 'Coward' talk any more and decided that he has had enough of it. :)
Finally all the hardwork paid off! :D
Kudos to Indian govt for continuing the peace process, onus is now on Pakistan to make all the safety arrangements. Once again I stand by Indian Govt's decision.
Not to pick a fight here, but didn't you support Indian govts ban on Indo-Pak cricket ties.
elahi - When was a Pakistani player attacked in India, I can give you examples of Indian players attacked in Pakistan last time we toured Pak ??
Arey bhai saheb, Srikaanth was just attacked, but our Paki players were threatened to be killed.
Arey Bhai - Main Yahin hoon. Little busy at home and work both. I guess Vajpayee read Umair316's posts and couldn't take his 'Coward' talk any more and decided that he has had enough of it. :)
Kudos to Indian govt for continuing the peace process, onus is now on Pakistan to make all the safety arrangements. Once again I stand by Indian Govt's decision.
elahi - When was a Pakistani player attacked in India, I can give you examples of Indian players attacked in Pakistan last time we toured Pak ??
I honestly had no idea an Indian player was attacked while playing in Pakistan. Was he badly injured? This is new to me.
What I do know - Did'nt RSS guys threaten to kill the Pakistani players last time they played a test in India? I thought they dug up the field or something like that....
Anyway, why let a few extremists in each country ruin all of our fun, people the world over can enjoy good cricket. The best way to help the popularity of cricket is an India vs Pakistan match
this test series may never happen....and i can bet on it..... indian gov is playin smart politics again....u guys have to see it from recent political perspective... india-israel growing relationships have reached to a point of no return and pakistan is under deep pressure to do some thing about it. india-israel military cooperation is not a joke... first time in our history, air-force balance has shifted in favour of india.....
in respond, paskistan invited saudi prince right away and managed to get some real strong statements from saudis against indians on kashmir issue. we all know that india has so much economic interests vested in saudia as well as other khaleej states....plus recently OIC has also passed some strong resolutions against india on kashmir...not that india cares abt stupid OIC but this time, OIC used pretty direct language abt kashmir.... and india never likes international attention abt kashmir and there u go.... in one nite india changed all policies... it is just a move on indian behalf to let the world know that india and pak r at ease...india just wants some more time to realize the world that things r gettin better between india and pak plus advani jee r conductiing negotiations with kashmiries and that every thing is going smooth... as soon as international pressure will decrease, india will find another excuse to cut down relationship and will start more killings in kashmir....so i wud say as usual, it is a just a temproary move...plus india really really really wants air space to be opened...and pak is not ready for that... so india is givin us cricket as freebies... i guess we shud play smart this time and keep the pressure on indians..............even though i luv cricket to death and esepcially india-pak cricket.....
karina tu tu zara se baat par jal ke mar jaati hai!!! us din asif ne ghalti se keh diya tha keh pakistani women are prettier, tujhe kitni marchain laggi thi?
Well, I said ‘motti ka haar’ (not motta harra), and a motti haar is pholoon ka haar, ever heard of the hawains greet ppl with wreaths, its just like that, but the flowers are different? Now if you think thats a threat to the Indian cricket players, I feel sorry for you.
*Originally posted by karina: *
Umair teensau solah, there is a vast difference between being attacked and being threatened to be attacked!
There sure is, my friend. There sure is. We'll see what kind of pot will be stirred when, and if, Lashkar-e-jhangvi announces to kill Indian players, and dig out pitches if they cross the border. We'll see if they'd still be willing to come.
Hai re Spock, tu apna mutha marte ve kitna pyara lagta hai, main to vari vari jaoon, lekin teri spelling itni kharab hai mein kya karoon. Dekh abhi bhi mirchain ko marchain bana diya. Sorry yaar sorry…tera gussa mera sar.
Asif and I share these Bihari-Delhi jokes dude. YOu think I’d get angry over such piffling things as Pakistani vs Indian girls? Grow up lalla. The RAW part was a joke…sigh, kyon re Spocksy sense of hoomur bilkul mar gaya? I feel sorrier for you…
Right at the start I said those with political and religious axes to grind would turn up in this thread and in all honesty they shouldn't really participate on this forum if they feel so strongly that there shouldn't be any cricket between India and Pakistan. They should put their money where their mouth is and boycott this place and go wallow in their isolation.
It's guaranteed that the majority of the PEOPLE will look forward to the tour. The real test for India's govt will come if vested interests try and disrupt the tour. Last time Pakistan toured India they braved the threats from militant organisations like RSS and made sure the game went on. Will India's govt go to the same lengths has to be the question? I know the BCCI will do their best becaue they don't want the game to be used as a political football. let's see.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
us din asif ne ghalti se keh diya tha keh pakistani women are prettier, tujhe kitni marchain laggi thi?
Are bhai - Galti se nahi kaha tha, bahot soch samajh kar (aur dekh kar bhi) kaha tha.
Karina - Forgive him yaar, Punjabi me Mirchi ki marchi hi bolte haiN.
Umair316 - Yes, I supported Indian govt then and I support Indian govt's decision now. It has been 14 years now :)
elahi/umair316/everyone else - I do remember some RSS idiot threatening them of physical assault, but I dont remember anyone threating to kill any Pakistani players. I may be wrong though.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *..
elahi/umair316/everyone else - I do remember some RSS idiot threatening them of physical assault, but I dont remember anyone threating to kill any Pakistani players. I may be wrong though.
Yes you are wrong, I remember they were threatened to be killed but they still went ahead and played there.
Nope. If someone threatens to kill in India. they go to jail. Its called preventive arrest.
RSS did not threaten IIRC, it was the Shiv Sena. (The pitch diggers). It was not really from any hatred for the Pakistanis (though that exists too) but more likely to get media attention. i.e they called up Star News and then went ahead at digging up the pitch.
Well enough of this poltu bakwas, lets palyyyyyy ball!! :D
***Originally posted by chandigarh: *
Nope. If someone threatens to kill in India. they go to jail. Its called preventive arrest.
RSS did not threaten IIRC, it was the Shiv Sena. (The pitch diggers). **
Really? Then why were those not arrested? Whether it was RSS or VHP, I don’t remember, but threat did appear in media.
It was not really from any hatred for the Pakistanis (though that exists too) but more likely to get media attention. i.e they called up Star News and then went ahead at digging up the pitch.
Whether or not it was for getting attention, who knows what anyone can do when a threat looms around?
**Well enough of this poltu bakwas, lets palyyyyyy ball!! **
Jaani you’re being a little harsh on the critics here. Cricket and politics are now interlinked and some people are just echoing the views of the politicians.
As a fan I’d love to see Ind/Pak cricket on both sides. Besides the plus of Ramiz it fosters friendship. But think for a moment of player safety. These are not ordinary people we’re talking of but sports icons. I know last time Pak team came they braved it despite the threats and kudos to them, but what if, say, Wasim had been hurt or worse? It would have taken decades to live that down. Now what if a madman attacks Sachin in Pak despite heavy security? A madder man in India could start a communal fight on that ground. I would give anything to normalise cricketing relations but give up ind/pak cricket if it meant avoiding bloodshed (at least for the present).
Not all politicians are mad or crazy. Perhaps vajpayee has this in mind if he refuses to let the tour go on? Kya bolti tu…
And what if a “madman” decided to attack Sachin in Sharjah? We’ve played games there fairly recently with large crowds for both India and Pakistan. Was there not a bigger chance of communal riots there? Or did this clan of madmen did not exist back then? Could you 100% gurantee your players’ safety there?
Coming to the homeground: Have you heard any fundamentalists opposing cricket between Pakistan and India? And these guys are very vocal in Pakistan. Instead of just throwing words around, why dont you be a little more specific, and pin point the exact security threat to Indian players that the Pakistani govt. doesn’t know of? The point I am trying to make is that when India, and Pakistan play, the risk to a player is not quite as great as its made out to be.
And if vajpayee was “not crazy” when he refused to send his team to Pakistan, ostensibly to prevent “bloodshed”, what exactly has made him change his mind now? Can bloodshed not happen now? Has the threat to these “icons” disappeared overnight? Have fundamentalists abandoned Pakistan at once? If “bloodshed” could happen then -when the Indian team couldn’t visit Pakistan- and can’t happen now, then Vajpayee must show proof about the changes on the ground. Otherwise, it’ll only vindicate Pakistan’s stance.
Secondly, if Vajpayee was not crazy, then why did he allow the 1999 cricket series in India? Could bloodshed not happen in India? Pakistan cricketers were openely threatened but they decided to go. While no one has threatened the Indians with anything if they come to Pakistan. What kind of a visionary decision is it to allow Pakistanis to cross over, but debar indians from playing in Pakistan? Surely, the justification for such a decision is not prevention of bloodshed. Because if it was, then the 1999 series wouldn’t have materalised. So what was it then? Was it the cross border infiltration? Has THAT changed at all? Just a few weeks ago Vajpayee was lecturing the UN on how Pakistan bad for infiltration, and India good. Don’t tell me the infiltration stopped overnight. Or did it? Again, if there is no proof, it’ll only vindicate Pakistan’s earlier position, and I am saying that from India’s point of view.
The bottom line is you need to stop making excuses, and get on with it. Pakistani players faced a clear and open threat in India, but they thought nothing of it, and played cricket like the brave men that they are. Today history, commentators, Pakistanis, Indians, and the game of cricket praises them for going to India, and not making security an excuse for not going. That, may I remind you again, when they had been threatened openely by a fundamentalist outfit. So I say, let the Indians come, and we’ll welcome them with open arms. Just ask your parlimentarians who were accorded warm welcomes here. If the BCCI has a problem with the security of its players, then I am sure they’ll talk it out with PCB. Right now, they don’t. Do you honestly feel you care more about Indian players’ safety than BCCI or PCB?
I don't believe that the Indian govt is concerned so much about the players safety as say the BCCI. You might not like hearing it but Vajpayee and his BJP are seen as hardline Hindu nationalists outside of India and they have been instrumental in breaking sporting ties with Pakistan and it's been on political grounds not safety issues so that point is redundant anyway.
Anyway, the bottom line for me is that the game should go ahead and it will be better for all concerned. There is not going to be any threat to Indian players and if the will is there on both sides there shouldn't be a problem. I'm sure the Indian team will be granted the same level of security as the SA team (not that they've needed it) so let's hope it goes on.
ChthonicPowers - Yes, nothing has changed since 1999, that's why you should thank Vajpayee for allowing Indian Team to tour Pakistan. He is doing you guys a favor esp Since it is so important for you guys. Now make sure you enjoy it . Dont forget to pack your stadiums for every test and ODI we play in Pakistan.
If I see empty stadiums in Pakistan during India-Pak matches then I will assume that all this talk about FANS wanting to watch India-Pak match was a farce.
Arey Asif bhai I am already buying up all the tickets to sell them on the black market later on. If you want some, let me know, might do you a good discount. :)
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
ChthonicPowers - Yes, nothing has changed since 1999, that's why you should thank Vajpayee for allowing Indian Team to tour Pakistan. He is doing you guys a favor esp Since it is so important for you guys. Now make sure you enjoy it . Dont forget to pack your stadiums for every test and ODI we play in Pakistan.