India drops out from Asian Test Championship in Pakistan

AFP - 21 August 2001

NEW DELHI, Aug 21 (AFP) - India on Tuesday decided not to participate in the four-nation Asian Cricket Test Championship set to begin later this month on Pakistani soil, official sources said.

The government sources said the decision was taken in a meeting between Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Home Minister Lal Krishna Advani and Foreign Minister Jaswant Singh late Tuesday evening.

Their discussions were on the basis of a letter written by Sports Minister Uma Bharati to the prime minister suggesting India should not participate in the Asian Cricket Test Championship, the sources said.

The four-nation championship was due to begin at Multan in Pakistan from August 29 with the first-ever Test between Pakistan and Bangaldesh.

India were scheduled to play Pakistan in the city of Lahore in September – an event which would have been the first Test match in Pakistan between the two rivals after more than one decade.

India has refused to participate in any bilateral cricket series with Pakistan, whom it accuses of backing cross-border terrorism in the disputed state of Kashmir.

Other sources said the Indian decision to boycott the championship was a fallout of a full-scale military skirmish fought by India and Pakistan in the Kargil zone of disputed Kashmir in the summer of 1999.

India had cancelled a scheduled cricket tour of Pakistan in December last year and then pulled out of the Sharjah series in the Gulf because of Pakistan’s presence.

The rejection came a day after firebrand sports minister Bharati in New Delhi said India will not be coerced in participating in the tournament.

``The decision cannot be forced upon the government,‘’ Bharati said Monday, reacting to Asian Cricket Foundation President Jagmohan Dalmiya’s statement that India should convey their decision by August 23 or the championship would go ahead without them.

``We will not take a decision merely on the threat issued by someone,‘’ Bharati, a vocal Hindu nationalist leader, added.

India and Pakistan have fought three wars, two of them over Kashmir, since the subcontinent’s independence from British rule in 1947.

India accuses Pakistan of arming and training Islamic guerrillas in Kashmir, a charge Islamabad denies.

Relations between the two now-nuclear states deteriorated after a landmark summit between Indian prime minister Vajpayee and Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf ended last month without tangible results in the Taj Mahal town of Agra.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

chalo…koi nahin…sri lankanz are spankin indianz pretty well…

…jidher bhi jatay hein bay-charay indianz maar hi khatay hein…lugta hai pakistan ki Qismut mein hi nahin hai indianz ki ‘phainti’ lagana!..

khair…
i was expecting this kind of response from indian gov…itz a shame but is 4 indianz…4 no1 else!..

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

This is really disgusting.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

We the cricket lovers( both from India n Pak wanna watch palyers in action against each other)

The interesting part is that they r participating in all other games!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

If u see the moon
U will see a star near it

It was as expected, the Indian government and the saffron brigade within it does not want to lose to Pakistan, simple as that.

darpok team

No “sportsmanship”,they proofed it once again.
Politics is one hand and sports and etc. on the other. Nothing in commen.
If croatia, serbia and bosnia can have sport events and competitions then why not those two countries??
“India ko Allah se kiya kohi special daawat milni chaye?”
…this is sad

“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”

Fraudia,
**darpok team **

Your response is kinda childish I think

I think limiting a ban to cricket is silly. They should either stop all sporting contacts or not at all !
I dont understand one thing though – the Pakistan government has banned Indian movies in theatres. Most Pakistanis here agree that watching Indian movies is wrong till the Kashmir problem is not solved. So when you can mix art and culture with politics then why not sports ? Dont you think like the movies, sporting contacts should be stopped till the Kashmir issue is resolved ?

Originally posted by BombayKid:
*the Pakistan government has banned Indian movies in theatres. Most Pakistanis here agree that watching Indian movies is wrong till the Kashmir problem is not solved. *

No coz i cant understand banning Indian movies either.

"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"

Indian team is running scared. Once again they have decided to hide from the Pak Attack.

Originally posted by BombayKid:
*Fraudia,
**darpok team *

Your response is kinda childish I think :)

I think limiting a ban to cricket is silly. They should either stop all sporting contacts or not at all !
I dont understand one thing though -- the Pakistan government has banned Indian movies in theatres. Most Pakistanis here agree that watching Indian movies is wrong till the Kashmir problem is not solved. So when you can mix art and culture with politics then why not sports ? Dont you think like the movies, sporting contacts should be stopped till the Kashmir issue is resolved ?**

Mumbie Child ... the Indian movies are banned on sahre value of its CRAPIENESS!

As far as cricket .. woh dekho Lala dum daba kay bhag gya ... Hindustanies cant take major butt-whopping ! ..

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
** the Indian movies are banned on sahre value of its CRAPIENESS!

No offence yaar but don't you watch indian movies?! I do, so why support banning it?

"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"

It's time the ICC acted against the fundamentalist Hindutva agenda. Uma Bharti is the lunatic hindutvan who has demanded that the Ayodhya mosque should have been handed over to the hindus, therby justifying it's destruction. Should such a person be in charge of Sports Afaairs in the first place?

How can we have a test championship if India are going to play cat and mouse with test cricket? If India won't participate fully they should be banned from taking part. I guarantee you such firm action will have the spineless wimps crawling back to sign up to the tour.

Well first of all dude that it was a sarcastic remark … and I really don’t watch Indian movies not cause of them being Indian .. Indian movies (for that matter Pak movies too) are total garbage and dumb ..

Having said that lets stay on the topic .. I seriously don’t believe that Indians pulled out of the ATCC in fear of whopping .. although they did so in Sharjah and Canada .. here the soul reason is Hindu Fanatics .. who control the world ‘largest democracy’ (more fat is bad!) and who live among diverse religious community by abusing their fundamental rights … Indian stance is hypocrite to the bone (as is the case always) they are sending a SAF game squad to the ‘terrorist’ state and suffered a serious butt-whopping in hockey but refuse to receive Cricket butt-whopping staying behind the dhothies and sari of fanatics … its not a matter of policy its pure hatred on the part of Hindu regime that is at display

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

No not all indian movies are crap…but i do agree on the other facts

“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”

Firstly, What does art has to do with Sports??
Secondly, I think we will gladly consider putting their crappy movies to our theater if, and only if Indians start to air our PTV serials on their Dourdarshan.
BK, what a nice stupid reference

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

who cares if they play aginst pak or not. the result will be Pakistan beat india! you all agree?
as far as indian movies are concerned. i do watch them but i do agree with a falla who belives they are crap. i watch them just to see how slizzy indian girls are!!

[This message has been edited by pyara420 (edited August 24, 2001).]

Originally posted by Ali_R:
** No coz i cant understand banning Indian movies either.

If they ever allow Indian movies to be played at Pakistani theatres then India would get BIG $$BUCKS$$ from there.... now that's one thing we don't want!!! Right?

Then why you eat at Mcdonalds, go to Burger King, have a Pizza at Pizza hut??!
jewish owners...you dont care about this. Do you?!