Politcal reasons my A$$, thats just the coverup, where were they for the past 50 years, why suddenly change in mind for couple years. To my knowldege, these so called “cross border terrorisim” has been around for ages.
Not playing in Pakistan can be justified but refusing to play Pakistan even in a neutral territory is totally unjustified.
*Originally posted by PakistaniAngel: *
Not playing in Pakistan can be justified but refusing to play Pakistan even in a neutral territory is totally unjustified.
As of current situations, even I wouldn't like to play in Pakistan but there so many neutral venues around the world who are available to host Pak India matches but still...
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
As of current situations, even I wouldn't like to play in Pakistan but there so many neutral venues around the world who are available to host Pak India matches but still...
UMAIR316 Ji,
With all the respect, at my command, for you in Particular and All Pakistanis in General what is the necessity of Pakistan to Play Cricket with India or for India to Play Pakistan?
The Pakistani Cricket Team has proved itself by playing all Cricketing Nations' Teams. In the One Day and Test Cricket Tables Pakistan is ahead of India.
Thus Pakistan has nothing to prove.
As such I would humbly put up to you that there is no need for Pakistan's Cricket Team to play Cricket with the Indian Team.
I hope that in coming times circumstances change and there are India-Pakistan Cricket Matches. I am sure I shall enjoy them no matter whether India loses or wins.
However there is no way that I am going to pine for them and blame the Indian or Pakistani Government for the impasse.
Have a Nice Day
Yeah your A$$ - ![]()
FYI - Its not all at a sudden - In last 50 years India-Pakistan didn’t play a single test between 1954-55 & 1960-61, 1960-61 & 1978-79 and then again between 1989-90 & 1998-99.
So you must have noticed, it’s not ‘Sudden’.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
You are the one who is a hypocrite wh doesn't want to admit that there is a problem between the two countries and its going to remain so whehter we play cricket with each other or not.
Well here we go.... The problem is going to be there so why not play the damn matches, its not like not playing will solve any problems. Cause you need guts to solve problems. A country seven time our size keeps bitching about the so called cross border terrorism. If you people have some balls then why dont you stop it instead of whinning like babies after getting you a** kicked almost everyday. God knows there's enough of you to stop it if you had some balls.
:topic:
Dont we have enough lakes in south Asia ![]()
Everyone knows that the cricketing public wants to see the two teams playing matches. It would be a good step but not one likely under the current Indian govt. For them it's more important to build anti-Pakistan sentiments in their country (witness the films churned out by their industry).
Everyone also knows that Pakistan will play India anywhere, anytime - even in their own backyard under threat from hindu fundos like we did last time. And yes it happened and Asif and the rest all know it we don't need to provide cute and pastes to prove it, we were witnesses to it all at the time.
Well said Extreme. Well they wont listen to you and call everything HAWA ME BAATEIN so we will provide them a link.
** Hindu group threaten Pakistan players with physical violence **
AFP
7 JANUARY 1999
NEW DELHI, Jan 7 (AFP) - A leading official of the Hindu group that vandalised the pitch that will stage the first Test between India and Pakistan has warned touring Pakistan players that they risk physical assault during the highly-charged tour.
Cricket officials from both India and Pakistan have vowed that Pakistan’s first tour to India for 12 years will go ahead despite direct action from Hindu party Shiv Sena.
Four were arrested for digging up the pitch after about 25 Shiv Sena activists stormed the New Delhi Ferozeshah Kotla stadium.
Jaya Bhagwan Goel, the head of Shiv Sena’s Delhi unit, was adamant the party would do its utmost to disrupt the tour.
``Games are played between friends and not enemies. How can you play with a country that is bent on destroying you?‘’ Goel said.
``It is now for Pakistan to think about the safety of its players. Everything is possible in this charged atmosphere,‘’ he warned.
Meanwhile in Karachi the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday downplayed the digging up of the pitch, while Pakistan players said a handful of people should not be allowed to disrupt the team’s tour.
Indian officials were adamant the damaged pitch will be fit for use in the first Test, starting on January 28.
Delhi cricket secretary Sunil Dev said: ``Cricket lovers all over India are waiting for this tour, and we will make sure it takes place. We cannot be taken to ransom by fanatics not interested in the game.‘’
PCB Chief Executive Majid Khan said the team’s tour to India was in no danger and would go ahead as planned.
``We are monitoring the situation and since the Indian government has given the clearance there are no fears,‘’ Majid was quoted as saying by PCB media relation officer Rafi Nasim from its Lahore office.
``It’s a matter to be dealt by the Delhi Cricket Association,‘’ PCB Secretary Waqar Ahmed said.
Stressing he did not want to over-react, Waqar told AFP the problem of the pitch was a matter for the New Delhi Cricket Association.
``It’s up to them to make the ground ready for the Test,‘’ the cautious PCB official said. He declined to go into details.
Local papers said both Waqar and Majid Khan were planning to visit India to monitor security arrangements in India.
Players joined the call saying the tour must continue.
``It’s unsporting and the matter should be resolved around the table. People in India are keen on watching Pakistani players in action and no one should be allowed to disturb the tour,‘’ Pakistan vice captain Moin Khan said.
About security fears Khan said he had played with the junior and senior Pakistan teams in India and always felt like he was playing at home.
``I have never felt any security fear while playing in India but family members back home are always disturbed by the disturbing news in India …,‘’ Moin said.
He said cancelling the tour would deprive fans in both countries of some good action.
Captain-designate for the tour Wasim Akram said the tour must go on and a handful of people should not be given a chance to disrupt it.
He said: ``We are going there to better the relations between the two countries and I hope the Indian Government will not allow a handful of people to deprive cricket lovers of some action and tension packed cricket.‘’
``Both governments have given the go ahead for the tour and the Indian premier has been very keen to see the tour go through so it should go on.‘’
``We are ready to play, but now the ball is in the court of the Indian (Cricket) Board and they must ensure our safety,‘’ said senior player Salim Malik, who with Wasim Akram and Ejaz Ahmed is one of the three survivors of Pakistan’s last tour to India in 1987.
Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif and Ejaz described the pitch vandalism as ``lamentable.‘’
``I think the tour must go on and if some people are once given a chance to disrupt the tour many threats will come in future,‘’ Latif said.
Ejaz said he had always liked playing in India. ``I receive a lot of fan mail from India and people ask me why we do not play there. It’s time now we counter such threats.‘’
Pakistan will arrive in India on January 21. Pakistan last toured India 12 years ago but pulled out of a one-day series with their near neighbours in 1991 and also cancelled two more in 1993 and 1994 because of security fears.
However, they played in India during the 1996 World Cup and the Independence Cup the following year without any incident.
Xtreme - Then why were the three tours between 1990 & 1995 cancelled ?? And please talk about yourself, not everyone. Pakistan toured India only after the threats were withdrawn.
Yes, right now Pakistan will play because it’s desperate, None of the good teams are willing to Tour Pakistan and PCB coffers are almost empty. Look at the replacement they are getting to play in Sharjah Kenya & Sharjah.
Why dont you simply say that you cant back up your ridiculous claim. You were witness to all those threats ?? Did Thackeray sent you a copy of all the threat letters he was sending to Paki Team ?? ![]()
read lahorimunda’s post, you have your answers there Asif.
Boy am I proud of our players. Under threats of physical violence they did their best to forge better relations and represent their country in the right way. Hats off to all involved in undertaking that dangerous but ultimately successful tour. ![]()
Why dont you go and read more, there was no threat from anyone. Here is one simple example :-
“Radical Hindus suspend campaign to disrupt Pakistan tour”
Lahori :- So all at a sudden it has changed to Physical violence from the Death Threats ?? I wonder who is that unnamed leader. What next Some
.....Abey tum ek ek kar ke Pure Indian politicians ka naam le lo - But the fact will remain is none of them are India , They are mere Individuals India is much bigger than Adavani, Vajpayee or any other politician.
hahahhaha,
asif, agar yeh sab India nahee hain to yeh India ko rule kuo kar rahain hain. Agar India democracy hai to in logon ko indians nay elect kiya hai. Agar yeh log India represent nahee kartay to tumharray kehnay ka matlab hai kay India mein democracy nahee?? mein kanfuse hogiya hon ab...
kiya samjhay??
Yeah but not on permanent bases, Pakistan still played India in other places like Sharjah etc.
No, other teams have different reasons not playing Pakistan, security?
INDIA has 100 excuses of not playing Pakistan. South Africa pulled out of Sharjah because of ongoing war, it doesn’t have anything to do with Pakistan.
No one needs to convince you, the whole world saw and heard what Mr. Thackray said to the Pakistani team and he threatened the players, you are the only refusing to accept the fact that Pakistanis were threatened to play but still played unlike someother cowards.
maybe its time to open your eyes and see that your govt is wrong like 95% of the time.
spock, question, I and countless others have argued with some of our friends from across the border in KK.
Eventually we all gave up and got our peace.
You guys will too.
Here are some of th articles in which Hindu militants threatened the lives of Pak players.
BOMBAY, Jan 5 (AFP) - A firebrand Hindu leader in Bombay has reiterated his threat to scuttle a planned Pakistan cricket tour of India this month.
**``We won’t allow them to play and my men are ready in Madras and New Delhi,‘’ said Bal Thackeray, head of the Hindu militant Shiv Sena party which controls the western state of Maharashtra. **
Thackeray has urged all Hindus in Bombay – the state capital of Maharashtra and the centre of Indian cricket – to ``rise up’’ against the 10-week tour because of Islamabad’s alleged support for militant groups in India.
Thackeray accused Pakistan of sponsoring cross-border terrorism in Indian-controlled Kashmir and other areas through its intelligence services.
``In such circumstances, the tour should not be permitted,‘’ he said.
**The Shiv Sena is bitterly anti-Moslem and was accused by human rights groups of killing Moslems during sectarian riots in Bombay in 1992-3. **
Pakistan is due to play a three-match Test series and three limited overs games against India during their tour – the first in India for 11 years.
Pakistan cricket chief Khali Mahmood warned last month that the tour could still be called off if the safety of his cricketers could not be guaranteed.
Indian Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee has personally pledged to protect the visitors.
Pakistan tour on despite militant threat
NEW DELHI, Jan 6 (AFP) -** Pakistan’s first Test series in India in 12 years will go ahead as scheduled this month despite renewed threats by a firebrand Hindu leader to disrupt matches, an official said Wednesday.**
``The tour is very much on, it has been cleared by the Indian government,‘’ Indian cricket board secretary Jayawant Lele said.
**Lele’s assurances came a day after Bal Thackeray, head of the Hindu militant Shiv Sena party, reiterated his threat to scuttle the tour. **
Lele said Pakistan, who arrives on January 21, will not play any matches in the Shiv Sena-controlled western state of Maharashtra, including the cricket-mad state capital of Bombay.
During the two-month tour, Pakistan will play Test matches at New Delhi and Madras, the Asian Test championship opener against India at Calcutta and a triangular one-day series also featuring Sri Lanka across India.
Pakistan, whose last Test on Indian soil was in March 1987, will begin the long-awaited tour with a three-day match against India A in the central Indian city of Gwalior from January 23.
Pakistan twice cancelled scheduled tours to India in 1993 and 1994 after similar threats from Thackeray, who accuses Pakistan of sponsoring cross-border terrorism in Indian-controlled Kashmir.
They however played the World Cup quarter-final against the hosts in Bangalore in 1996 and returned in 1997 for the Independence Cup one-day tournament.
Pakistan cricket chief Khalid Mahmood warned last month that the tour could still be called off if the safety of cricketers could not be guaranteed.
Indian Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee has personally pledged to protect the visitors.
Pakistan will go home after the Calcutta Test and return to play the one-day series against Sri Lanka and India from March 19 to April 3.
The one-day matches involving Pakistan will be played in Jamshedpur, Jaipur, Visakhapatnam and Mohali. Maharashtra will host two India-Sri Lanka games at Nagpur and Pune with the final at Bangalore on April 3.
In other matches of the first-ever Asian Test championships, India take on Sri Lanka at Colombo from February 24-28 and Pakistan host Sri Lanka at Lahore or Karachi from March 4-8.
The final will be played in the Bangladesh capital of Dhaka from March 12-16.
India insist Pak tour on as Hindu militants dig up pitch
AFP
7 January 1999
NEW DELHI, Jan 7 (AFP) - Indian cricket officials pledged Thursday Pakistan’s first Test series on India soil in 12 years would go ahead as scheduled **after Hindu militants opposed to the tour damaged one of the venues. **
**About 25 supporters of firebrand Hindu leader Bal Thackeray’s Shiv Sena party stormed New Delhi’s Ferozeshah Kotla stadium, the venue of the first Test, on Wednesday night and dug up the pitch. **
Delhi cricket secretary Sunil Dev said the damage was ``minimal and repairable’’ and was confident the wicket would be ready before the Test starts on January 28.
Cricket lovers all over India are waiting for this tour, and we will make sure it takes place,'' Dev said. We cannot be taken to ransom by fanatics not interested in the game.‘’
The Shiv Sena, which claimed responsibility for the attack, said they would ``go to any extent’’ to prevent the Pakistani cricketers from playing in India.
Games are played between friends and not enemies,'' said Jaya Bhagwan Goel, the head of the party's Delhi unit. How can you play with a country which is bent on destroying you.‘’
**Goel also threatened physical assault on the tourists, saying ``it was now for Pakistan to think about the safety of it’s players. Everything is possible in this charged atmosphere.‘’ **
Police tightened security around the Kotla ground after the incident and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ordered other centers staging Pakistan’s matches to follow suit.
``All the venues will be protected with immediate effect,‘’ BCCI secretary Jayawant Lele said, adding he was in constant touch with both the Indian government and Pakistani cricket officials.
Pakistan, who last played a Test on Indian soil in March 1987, are due to arrive here on January 21 for a two-Test series, the Asian Test championship opener against India and a triangular one-day series also featuring Sri Lanka across India.
**In 1991, Thackeray’s men vandalised the pitch at Bombay’s Wankhede stadium two days before Pakistan were to play a one-day series in India. **
Pakistan cancelled that tour, and two more in 1993 and 1994, because of security fears. They however played in India during the 1996 World Cup and the Independence Cup the following year without any problems.
Indian Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee has personally pledged to protect the visitors this time, although Pakistani cricket chief Khalid Mahmood warned last month that the tour could still be called off if the safety of cricketers could not be guaranteed.
Pakistan are not scheduled to play in the Shiv Sena-controlled western state of Maharashtra, including the cricket-mad state capital of Bombay, during the two-month tour.
**Four persons arrested for damaging the Kotla wicket admitted they were carrying out instructions from Thackeray, who said on Monday his ``boys’’ were taking steps to prevent the tour from going ahead. **
The vandals struck late on Wednesday after scaling the walls of the stadium from an adjacent petrol pump. Police officials on the spot did nothing to stop the damage.
Luckily, it was very dark and also raining,'' Dev said. They probably could not see properly because there are only small holes on the wicket.‘’
Lele ruled out a shift in venues, saying the government had approved all staging centers. But cricket fans were still apprehensive about the tour going ahead.
Many wondered whether the Pakistanis would take kindly to such an attack taking place in the Indian capital, the seat of the Hindu nationalist government which has pledged to protect the cricketers.
Hey Asif_k, you said Pakistan refused to tour India between 1991-1995, here is the reason.
b]In 1991, Thackeray’s men vandalised the pitch at Bombay’s Wankhede stadium two days before Pakistan were to play a one-day series in India.
Pakistan cancelled that tour, and two more in 1993 and 1994, because of security fears.
And you said no one threatened our team physically, here is the proof.
The Shiv Sena, which claimed responsibility for the attack, said they would ``go to any extent’’ to prevent the Pakistani cricketers from playing in India.
Here is another one!
**Goel also threatened physical assault on the tourists, saying ``it was now for Pakistan to think about the safety of it’s players. Everything is possible in this charged atmosphere.‘’ **
Have a Nice Day ![]()
Pakistan played Test Series in Sharjah with India ??? IF you are talking about ODIs then India also played Pakistan in World Cup in England, CU series in Australia & again in world Cup South Africa and will play again in any multilateral tournament
India never said it’s not sending its team to Pakistan because of Security Issues, It is Political issue and that’s why India refuses to play in any Bilateral tournament.
Whole world must have seen it on PTV.
. Please visit the news archives of India-Pakistan test series and read the most current news and you will notice that there were no threats to Pakistani players, They visited India only when all the threats to sabotage the tour were withdrawn. Also read how they were welcomed in INDIA and how their performance was appreciated in Chennai Test unlike some Pakistani fans who ran onto field and then attacked Indian Captain Srikanth in 1989.
And Please dont give us a lecture about Indian govt being wrong, That is one thing on which we dont need a lecture from you guys.
I support Indian Govts decision of not Playing Pakistan Kar lo jo karna hai. ![]()
*Can everyone stop personal attacks and stick to the topic *