Independent TV channels in Pakistan taken off air

Re: Independent TV channels in Pakistan taken off air

Brother, you are so right. One of the biggest problems in Pakistan amongst Pakistanis is that, they do not want to listen, tolerate, respect other people opinion, or exchange opinions.

Two Pakistani might have different opinion, like TV is mechanical device or electrical device and then they would fight with each other on this issue, they would even kill each other unless other agrees what they believe. One that believes TV is mechanical device would listen nothing but would like other to believe that TV is mechanical device. Same way, the one that believes that TV is electrical device would listen nothing but would like other to believe that TV is electrical device. There believe would be their Emaan, their faith, their honour. Their opinion is their religion. They would never listen … though both may be wrong as in this case, because TV is neither mechanical device nor strictly electrical device, but it is electronics device :).

Any public statements made by President Musharraf on this situation?

This is getting to be ridiculous now with these lawyers and police and military men kay padhay. They're just going to tear the country apart.

Its one chor fighting another is all it is. I don't have any pity for classless lawyers who throw paint at their oponent's face, nor do I have pity for the police walay of their country for their use of brutality. You do that crap in war, not on civilian citizens.

You know what disgusts me more. The army walay had bharay tears in their eyes when having to fire on a masjid filled with fanatic psychotics holding children hostage, but when they were ordered to beat up common reporters they didn't have time for tears!

Pakistanis DO NOT make any sense.

That can happen in only one way and that is if the elections are rigged. in a free and fair election PML (Q) would get wiped off.

You guys are pathetic. Name one US or world news source that does not present a bias? PCG and Witchdr, either live in reality or shut it.

Oh no, in that case Punjab will become a new Pakistan and than we the southerners will be stuck for another battle of scession for independence of South Punjab. Does not suit us, why should we alone should suffer the wrath of Punjab.

Ehsan, i am back on the forum after a while and i remember that you were an ardent supporter of Mush or am i wrong (perhaps you only supported him in Lal Masjid Massacre)

:hehe: I bet they don’t use ITIL?

I supported the state of Pakistan and our brave Jawans who were fighting terrorists and people who had challenged our state. Nothing to do with Mush.

Hmm that is a good and plausible reason but i remember that there was a banner on Gupshup supporting govt. Jawans did not decide whom to kill and leave, it was govt decided and GupShup supported govt.

No one has any problems with Army Jawans who are sacrifing their lives in hundreds while their boss is busy in extending his career.

You mean that 'free and fair election' means that only supporters of 'corrupts and thugs' would be allowed to vote and 'shareef admi' would not be allowed to vote? :D.

Times are gone when politics of 'Idhar ham aur udhar tum' , 'Jo meri baat nahi manay gaa uss kee taang tour dayin gay', 'may aggar peeta hoon to kiya? Kisi ka khoon nahi peeta', 'May Paris designer suit pahantaa hoon tou kiya, apnay paisay say pahantaa hoon' ... used to get tolerated, because it was easy to fool the masses. Times are gone with Bhutto when scream of 'innocent girls of Lahore government college' use to come from government residence as they were kidnapped to comfort Bhutto's close associate 'Khar', to give him pleasure and enjoyment of government power. Times are gone when imminent politicians, Journalists, intellectuals, student leaders, lawyers, and respectable innocent citizens, used to get killed or tortured without any remorse.

You think that 'Z A Bhutto' is still in power when gundas and thugs used to get elected unopposed in National Assembly? When FSF (Federal Security Force) use to knock on the doors and people use to get disappeared if they dared to utter anything against Bhutto. When voters use to get intimidated and killed on behest of strongest candidate in most constituency and most of those strongest candidate were of PPP. When government used to use state machinery shamefully to rig election and kill or intimidate voters.

Brother, this is time of Musharraf when voice of opposition are tolerated and where gundas are treated as human, else these thugs 'lawyers and journalists' in any civilised world would have found themselves behind bar.

If is not jobs of lawyers and journalists to become activist and voice of opposition or for that matter government. They should perform their duty above political bias and should stay aloof of activism and politics; else they not only endanger their honesty but endanger freedom of media and judiciary. It is government that ensures their freedom and if they get biased against government and stop doing their job honestly, than who could ensure their freedom?

Anyhow: I have many reasons to believe that present government is becoming popular day by day, and by their hooligan activities these lawyers and journalists are making present government more popular :). Even politicians in opposition when they declare million march and could not get anyone on road, make government popular :). When people see that opposition are going over the board and government is tolerating them even when they have all forces behind them, people start trusting that government more and more. It seems that present government is using very sophisticated scientific method related to human behaviour to become popular :).

I would not be surprised if present government set up comes back to power after next election, with much larger majority. I would not be surprised if votes of opposition would reflect what they show today when they protest against government (I mean Zilch) . Every one in Pakistan knows what support people like NS, BB or MMA have today in Pakistan. :)

MMA shows their strength regularly when they call for Million march and that ends up as joke.

PPP showed their strength when Asif Ali Zardari landed in Pakistan then kicked out. There strength was also exposed when Chief Justice Fiasco was going on this year.

Support with PML (N) and NS was evident when he landed in Pakistan and suppose to be million people receiving him ended with a bust (I think Shahbaz when he landed in Pakistan, managed better reception, shows that if not huge still there was some support for PML(N) few years back ).

Support of combined opposition was exposed during Chief Justice fiasco this year, when in a country of 160 million people, government did not found any necessity to take extra measures to keep law and order under control. How pathetic was the protest, that combined support of opposition plus Lawyers and Journalists in a country of 160 million people, where Politicians, Lawyers, Journalists behave like wild animals, nothing unusual happened and government did not bothered to take any unusual measures :).

Free and fair elections mean where people are free to vote for who ever they wish and ballot papers are not rigged with PMLQ votes illegally. Try it, the people of pakistan will slap pmlq so hard they wont know what hit them. There is a world outside Mush you know, just in case you didnt. Try looking at it.

No, now a days they are butchered on the streets of karachi and TV stations are attacked and chief justices are sacked and people disappear without trace. mush's democracy in practice.

Ehsan Bhai, aap khush rahayin :slight_smile: … there is no tax on assumptions :blush:. Waisay, I feel that after general election many people would start calling the election as rigged :hehe:

Of-course they would. Just like the Judiciary was free when the decision went the way they wanted, and not free when it did not. :hehe:

You guys talk about free and fair elections as if its the solution to everything. First of all, in order to elect a good leader, you need an educated and intelligent people to vote. Not that Pakistanis are inherently stupid, inbreeding aside. But the average Pakistani (common man - ie panwala) that does show up to vote is easily swayed by his emotions. Women don't really go out to the voting poles (wait, are women even allowed to vote? honestly, you'd think not if you checked out any voting area and the gunda gardi that goes on there)?

You take any poor guy off the street, give him some money and tell him to vote in a particular direction, and he'll do it. These are not free and fair elections. They will NEVER be free and fair until that poor man has some security, balls, and intelligence to say "No, thanks" to the dude that offers him money, and furthermore is able to turn the guy in for bribery!

Oh wait, that would involve a free and unprejudiced and professional judiciary. But you've seen the tamasha the CJ put up when his seat was in threat. I mean, look at the guy's face. The entire nation was behind a man that looks SO CLEARLY like a chor? What does that tell you where Pakistanis' minds are?

Until education becomes mandatory and freely available to everyone (which many people like elitists here, whether we admit it or not, would never allow - do NOT tell me that you'd be ok with your kid sitting next to a beggar's kid in Karachi Grammar or St. Joseph's), until lawyers and judges start acting their age (I wonder why lawyers in the USA don't throw paint at Bush's face?), and when Pakistani people stop acting like the imbeciles they are (friggin' do takay kay elitists) and actually obey the laws that are already in place, THEN we can talk about free and fair elections.

That is because they will be rigged to make sure that the unpopular PML Q wins.

you dont need to type more than that, I bet everyone would stop reading rigth after the first sentence...

And yes, to decent chichora, they WERE blocked... Some people did say how they stopped getting all the news channels yesterday, desperate moves, by a desperate regime...

Unfortunately these PML-Q candidates are the ones for whom the majority votes for. Look at their records, these same people keep getting elected, no matter which patry they belong to. What do you think horse trading and lota-ism is? and why it is so popular in Pakistan? These are the sure shot seats and prior to the elction they side with the party that seems to gain majority seats in the elections and is willing to buy their loyalty.

Rigged elections excuse is now getting old. No elections in Pakistan are completely fair, however rigging goes on from both sides and the loser starts crying foul.

The only examples where people voted for parties were the elections where bhutto won and to some extent when Nawaz Sharif's Islami Jamhoori Ittehad won a clear majority.

it is not an old excuse, in the history of Pakistan there has been only one free and fair election and that was the 1971 election which was won by Awami League.