Independence Day Celebration: August 11-17: Memories of Independence Day

Hello Folks! Do you have any special memories of Independence Day celebrations, in Pakistan or outside in another country? Some of you may have had a chance to spend August 14th in different countries. Please share your experiences and comparisons celebrating it in Pakistan and/or abroad.

Do you have any plans this year?

:jhanda:

Re: Independence Day Celebration: August 11-17: Memories of Independence Day

ohhh i have little christmas lights and i brought from pakistan tons of jhandiyan! i should put them up in my living room :stuck_out_tongue: and my living room too!

but you know what…it ALWAYS rains on august 14th. i dunno why. and here the weather’s been pretty rainy throughout summer. so can’t do anything outside.

:jhanda:

It always rains on 14th August in Karachi …

saree Jhandiaan kharab hojatee hain :snooty:

haina! lahore main bhi hamesha baarish hoti thi…even if it wasn’t a lot…it still was a drizzle. i used to put up diyas the night before, only to wake up and to find keh paani chala jata hai tail main cuz of the baarish :smack:

waaaaaat?

we tried to decorate our gally few times … lekin barish always ruins our plans :stuck_out_tongue:

u beat me to that rain thing :barbie:

^^ :mocking:

LOL did you ever use those turkey flags as jhandiyan? i never understood why you needed colorful jhandiyan :smack: red aur brown aur blue aur pata nahin kaun kaun sa color

A couple of years ago we attended a 14th August mela in Mich. It was soooooooo much fun. There were so many stalls of yummy khaana like tikkas, seek kababs, biryani, etc., and kapRey and chooriyaN. They had games and souvenirs for everyone. We had a great time and hope to attend the picnic we are having over here. Hopefully it won't rain!

last 14th august thank god i was in pkistan and it was raining in lahore and it ws amazing.. silencers off and wooohooo hot hot jalebis in rain with chai .. all the cousins and pora khandaan on the roofs of the houses as we are in the same neighbourhood all of usand it was a lot of fun ... also went for drives and also took my cousins to HKB on 14th august and it was amazing they took our pictures and we came in newspapers and also gave us bades and flags and all

yeah i just hate those jhandias … n never bought any …
usually other then green … there are blue n red …
the reason for that is …
the printer comes in 3 color … Red Green Blue
so printing green jhandiaas in mass number … results in many printer toner (read printer cartage) with blue n red colors :hehe:

I am fortunate in the sense that I've celebrated 14 August in Pakistan for many years and I've been living abroad and "celebrating" it here in the US for many years as well.

In Pakistan: It was a lot of fun as the entire nation was celebrating something with you. We had competitions with neighbors when it came to decorating our house. We would go out and buy jhandiyan and flags. Then we would make layi (or levi) at home (mix aata with water and make a gui) for jhandiyan. Sometimes it would rain and all the jhandiyan would be messed up.

In schools, although we were off from school for summer vacation, we were still required to go to give/attend speeches and many plays etc. We would buy these badges and stickers form the shops and put them on our school uniform. We used to see who has the most among friends and what KIND of badges they have. I also remember buying nishan-e-haider (my avatar) and putting that on our uniforms. The uniform used to have so many holes because of all these badges but it did't matter because we used to get new uniform when school opened.

Then the streets and parks were also decorated. Our neighbors had a BIG family (3 families living in one house) and they used to rent a bus to take their family out that night to see the decorations. They would take us along and that used to be fun. We used to go to the parks and just drive around in the bus. Also, we used to put flags on our bikes and just ride the bikes in the streets. Used to listen to a lot of milli naghmey.

TV had so many programs/drams to play on that day. So if you are not enjoying outside for some reason (i.e. rain), you had enough on TV to keep you entertained.

In USA: It hasn't been as much fun, especially in my old town as the Pakistani community is small. Now that I am in this town, I attended a concert this weekend. On Thursday, they'll be doing "parcham kushaayi", so I'll be attending that. They have another concert on this coming Saturday, I may be going to that one as well. I really wish they have a picnic of some sort in a park or something and they may and I just may not be aware of.

Overall, needless to say, this day is much more fun in Pakistan. I still miss those days.

:( maine kabhi independence day Pakistan main nahi celebrate kiya

I remember how during Zia ul Haq era , a new zeal and spirit was put into celebrating 14 August in Pakistan , that was lovely. I do not know if they celebrate it with this spirit anymore.
In US the only ones I had the chance to attend and liked were in Chicago where it was celebrated in a big way.

I remember, I was in Rawalpindi during one of the 14th Aug, and saw this guy walking on a street, wearing a qameez shalwar entirely made out of Pakistani Flag.

I laughed but now I think that all he was doing is to show his love for that flag and what that flag stands for.

On the 14th Aug day, we were in Murree, where Sohail Rana used to do his children Music show from the main stairs of main post office, right on the Mall road. It was fun watching it live

I had the most horrible experience. I was the only loser who was celebrating 14th august in my gali. Those days of Jhandiyan and Diyas are long gone. No one does that anymore, very very few houses have flags. Atleast thats what I noticed when I went in '05. I couldnt' even find fireworks had to go to some chacha selling them from inside his house.

So I bought some, and let em loose in my gali, only to have people tell me to stop doing phatakey baazi cuz they were sleeping....right after maghrib..riiiiiiiiiiight.

The only patriotism I saw was on TV, and it all looked fake anyways!

Then there was this julooos that went around karachi, several of em, most of it was just guys on bikes making alot of noise...

I thought Pakistan had lost its roots, and forgotten why we celebrate it as a country. I can understand why though :(

^^its about time u shud move from defense to Pakistan

^ That took place in Gulberg, FB Area.

then its a major concern … :help: