Increasing Religious terrorism in educational institutions

Yesterday I was watching GEO’s Pachas Minutes (50 Minutes) and people were giving first hand account of religious terrorists. Name of Islami Jamiyat-e-Talba (IJT) was mentioned almost 90% of the times during all these accounts. While we are condemning all other kinds of terrorism, we should not turn blind eyes to this.

A guy (student of Punjab University, Lahore) was beaten by IJT terrorists because “he was standing and talking to a na-mehram class fellow”. As per his account he was given threat before coming to the program too to keep quite.

Lecturer of Punjab University told about the incident in which IJT’s terrorists beat up both MALE and FEMALE students with sticks and glass bottles and destroyed a function because as per IJT’s leaders that was “un Islamic function”. Lecturer offered GEO to view and air the DVD of the function and challenged them to point to any un-Islamic or “ghair ikhlaqi” protion of the function

Here are the words of another female professor from Punjab University “we are living under the cloud of fear aur hamesha yee dar rehta hai k pata nahi kub hamaree baree aa jayee”. She said that she was stopped by IJT workers and were asked to show “NIKAHNAMA” while she was visiting university with spouse.

With all other kinds of terrorism this should also be condemn and dealt with. No one has right to be the thaikedar of Islam and tell people what to do and what not to. I my self has seen this happening in Karachi University where guys were beaten by IJT because they were “sitting with a na-mehram”.

I had to study under so intense fear of both APMSO and IJT that I wanted (and still want) politics free institutes.

Note: Lets keep the discussion on how to deal with this kind of terrorism. I know APMSO, PSF, PPSF and all other student parties are also involve in ghunda gardee and terrorism but one kind of terrorism can not legitimate another kind

Re: Increasing Religious terrorism in educational institutions

What is PPSF? A “patriot” PSF? :hehe:

PSF = Peoples Student Federation
PPSF = Punjabi Pakhtoon Student federation

Where is Imran Khan when you need him?

I saw snippets of the show, I had assumed things had imrpoved in Punjab uni's thats why this was a bit of surprise. Again one has to look at the context, it is the culture that needs to be changed rather than kick out a few people only.

It's supposed to have all started in 1979 when the left wing student groups were poised to sweep student union elections. That's when the IJT was first armed by the Zia gov..the truth is the University administrations frequently do a Lal masjid and cave in..not to public pressure but violent pressure. So if 90% of the University demonstrates for peace they will crack down, if 1% takes out guns they'll cave in...speaking of which thats been Musharrafs policy since day 1 too ...hmm

Universities have all types of terrorrists, coz at present its the Islmaic militancy in the news hence they get hughlighted.

DC u talk of just beating up, tens of students have been murdered by student organizations and graduates of these organizations then go on to become dacoits, gabza groups.

What is needed is to maintain law and order across the board.

yessir! thanks to the army and clowns calling themselves mullas, pakistan is sliding back more and more...only way to contril any of these IJT etc rascals is to have them decaled a terrorist organization by condi rice. them gen.musharaf will suddenly find ways to catch and hand them over

religious extremism is the worst kind of terrorism IMO. I am surprised that Musharraf has so far done nothing about it. Even the Lal Masjid farce has dragged on far too long. It should have been dealt with an iron hand on day 1. Where is the writ of the government in all this? Musharraf it seems is playing political games here.

I think I am not in minority here when I say that although we all love Islam, we would not want to see MMA, JI or any mullah party taking over the reins of government esp. at Federal level because the first thing they will do is kill basic freedom of civilians - ban cable, satellite, co-ed., interpret shariah as they see fit and so forth. As it is, in Pakistan there are hardly any outlets of entertainment for youth. Apart from a few well-maintaned clubs (but how many people have access to them?) like the Islamabad Club, The Gymkhana Clubs in Lahore and Karachi etc. there are no decent theatres or cinemas where you could take your family. The cinemas are mainly for the uneducated masses. Now what do you want our increasingly frustrated teenagers to do ek doosray........samajh rahe hain na aap!

law enforcement. we have some very sensible parts to our constitution but they are almost never implemented. govt usually cuts deal with thugs of any background , it is so much easier than running a well balanced system.

Its ridiculous that these scum arent banned... If Musharaf was really honest about his enlightened moderation, he would have cleared the university of these a holes a long time ago.. More reason for the secualr opposition parties such as PPP to get their butts organized...

lol… And now even the brothels are out of bussiness:hehe:
Where is a bored teenager supposed to go?
Anyways, your right, religous parties would destroy the country.

^ so it's hardly surprising then that bored and frustrated Pakistanis top the list of internet pornographic downloading per capita! Infact muslim countries topped that google research

I dont think Govt will take any action against LAL MASJID before election. They dont want to ruin whatever chances they have of winning the elections.

BTW, this has to be stop at grass root level i.e in educational institutes. These institute provides man power for all these terrorism acts. Let me confess one of my best friend also got involved in this because he wanted to "clear his diploma and bachelors at the same time". He said this is the easiest way to do this. Join any so called student party and he selected Islami Jameiyat-e-Talba for that. He went with them to beat the hell out of students doing "non-islamic" activities in University (like singing compititions, talking with na-mehram etc) and sometime he got involved in clashes with APMSO and in return IJT took care of all his papers both in University of Karachi and Safi Polytechnic in Karachi. I am a witness of beating of girls took place in "ARTS LOBBY" by IJT girls of Karachi University becasue those girls were wearing "RED and WHITE cloths" on valentine's day.

I dont think we understand the difference b/w student unions and political parties these people who are spreading terrorism and using the name for Islam should be dealt properly

Not surprising at all...

No, no, no. Don’t mention the names of these kind of organizations. We are talking about terrorists here.

There is a reason behind such 'terrorism', yes it is an indication of rise of 'talibanisation' to a different level. It exposes many issues in our society, the general 'law-less-ness' of the society, the justifications of crimes by 'clergy/Islamists', loss civic sense etc.

without calling name, can anyone remember any friendly for students of respective colleges/unis. I never came across any with friendly attitude towards its own fellow students let alone people/students from outside.

on the contrast I have seen very friendly and actually working hard for students, unions in the west.

Difference more or less is down to political parties involvement in student unions.

There should be no union or groups on campus in Pakistan. they should be punished and banned.

pathetic student leaders(most of them hail from very un privileged backgrounds who find easy way to get some sham power in this way), what I have experienced my in 6 years in post school education in pak. loosers on our college were always begging /harassain for bikes from students like us. after one time I always switch on secret engine disable button and said its faulty ;) to avoid their free rides. one of my friend denied that on their face, he got beaten inside the lab in the presence of professors, we protested for him along with teachers, they came to terms and never done that on campus again. and that was MSF (Muslim Students Federation). during 4 years at that college, i seen 3 student leaders, come and go(always murdered by enemy groups or their masters).

who survived this you can see them as political leaders now( Saad Rafique, Liaqat Baloch, Raiz Fityana to name a few). political groups use them to do illegal acts and when too many to their name, they gotten rid off and get the new ones from the young waiting pool.

JTI somehow terrorise everyone on of off the campus, be it new year parties night, or simple mixed gathering on campus.

Yes! I can. During my university years, we visited NED to present papers in seminar there and were greeted by all the student parties there. It was amazing. The jeya Sindh party was the most hospitable without doubt, and they helped us with the accommodation and all the other stuff.

In our university, we had a similar incident when IJT threatened to disrupt a farewell function being held in the university. It was moved outside the university and IJT Nazim were invited to the function. IJT Nazim attended the function later as well.