In need of Ideas

What are some fun and most importantly time consuming activities to partake in with parents, more specifically with mom. I’m asking on behalf of a shy guppy.

Shopping, movies, and cooking are not possible suggestions. Come on now I know you guys have fun with your parents.

Lots of cookies and cupcakes for the person who makes the best suggestion.

Re: In need of Ideas

watching paki drama's :)

before we were married all of us sisters would watch paki dramas with our father (ammi is not a big fan of t.v). I miss those times it was alot of fun !!!!

Even abu says he misses his drama club :(

I sometimes go for long drives with my ammi. We just chit chat, gossip and giggle over silly things and sometimes have serious talks. It's a nice way to just chill and hang out.

Those are good ideas; I guess it’s easier for us girls because we can talk about clothes alone for hours upon hours but what about the male population what can they do?

arguing, always works, even when you don't plan it :)

I Love walking with my mom or having a cup of tea. I Love talking to her about anything and everything.
I would ask her tons of questions related with our family etc and i can see her face getting more excitment as we talk.
If we go to six flags etc i would drag ami ji with me :D to various rides and it so nice to see her smiling. I could do anything literally anything to see her smile.
I would take her out whenever i can. Take her for manicure and padicure it relaxes her. She mashallah looks absolutely stunning even today. I would also massage her feet, hands whenever i can. I would also put oil on her head and make sure she is relaxing. [it does gives a lot of sakoon and tons of duas from her]

The truth is we wont have our parents forever. So i like to interact with them as much as i can so i can talk to my kids and grand kids for ages regarding my parents. [Inshallah]

With abu ji... he likes to talk about his boxing time and our khan family :D so those are the only things. Oh loves to go out for long drives and sit on passenger seat and enjoy. So yeah i do like to take him out as well. He loves going to different plances only if i am taking him or my little bro. He expects so much from me that its not even funny. Every time i graduated i made sure i would see him first. He love seeing me achieveing things. He has so many expectations from me that i get scared sometimes. INshallah so far i been pretty good.

I am close to my ami ji. I guess abu ji has become pretty stubborn and plus him being a taurus doesnt help either .

The awesome part is MOm is my best friend she understands me :~) - I could never be like her the way she is mashallah. I love ami ji...I try to understand her but there are times when i cant and there are times when she cant but she sits down and listens to me.

[now i will have tea with her ....]

Thats fun to me - seeing them laugh - making them laugh is also another pleasure. Yeap I love my mom and dad

Nia you sound like a very loving daughter..I bet they are very proud of you.

You are right we need to cheerish our parents...after all they have to put up with us :)

my mum n i can talk talk talk ....whenever we see eachother....!!!:)

White Water Rafting 'n sky diving Woman! ;-)

Well depends on your location, I loooooooooooooooooooove nature walks or hiking and they both adore it. By the river side, beach or a trail into the woods are classics. Camping is lotsa fun, or staying in a luxury resort, going travelling to exotic places. Or did u meant short term time-spenders? Well do you guys enjoy books=chapters is a nice hang out :)

Crafts....I'd have to say, while Baba enjoys a piece of reading, mom 'n I can work on crafts. It can be alot of fun. Buying furniture from Ikea and then giving it a finished look by painting and assembling it together is a great activity. Gardening may sound old fashioned, but is such a rewarding refreshing exercise for the soul. hmm... pulling out old pictures/albums and re-aranging them? :) Spring cleaning and putting up a yard/garage sale. Can be fun for dad as he can sell stuff he likes to discard and see another cherishing it.
hmm.. well I like the camping idea though or a picnic :)

ps. Our classic family activity is to mow the hundreds of lawns and pull weeds plus make fun of everyone nearby in the gardens at grandpa's farm house, when ever we have a family get together. Bbq and loadza eating.plus building an outdoor bonfire at the end of day roasting marshmallows or corn and sitting around it chating is the no#1 hit with my family on weekends.

belle -- Chess is a great time consuming activity. We talk so much during the game that the vazeer is almost always in for danger and ammi ends up with teh same line each time: " nahi nahi, dobara chaloongi, may nay daykha hi nahi" :D

Family also has a healthy amount of religious discussions, tons of sher o shairi, reviving our childhood and talk of the future :) Each day ends soo quickly!

Eating gobi with your mom could be fun too... :D

Ask any Mom about their childhood and you can burn a few hours without any problem.

Good ideas y'all, thank you.
I personally do not have a dull moment with my mom, I just say “dad” and she goes on for hours about him.

However, I asked for a friend and I am sure he will appreciate these ideas.

Zabardasti, Gobi season is here!

hahah no kidding.

minah_pa thats a horrible idea :o

belle - let me explain

it is the highpoint of my mom's visit is the argument. Someone (usually her :) ) says something, I disagree, my husband backs up whatever my mom says, I call him a traitor, she loves him more, they talk about how unreasonable I am and how I have no patience, I demand attention, both turn and give me a "you poor child" look......... At the end of it, my husband and my mom are closer and happier because they score points. I'm happy cause I love the arguement, don't care about losing, they love me.

Love - dysfunctional family style

Just sit and talk to her. When my mom and sis get started damn, 7 hours later and they are still chatting away endlessly.

stay around her in the kitchen when she is cooking or ask her crazy questions about her plants when she is looking after them or act surprised or silly when she tells you a news from the news paper. or offer to make her tea. that could be fun even if she has to make it for herself again :smiley:

or go for a drive or go shopping with her. oh many things.

with dad, just talk about career and dry stuff :grumpy:

thansk roshi-

i forgot to mention the main thing :D i dont get my father 99% of the time ...but i have learned to have paitence with him - ofcourse i lose my temper - but i have learned to clam myself and simply stay quiet......... I knwo i will get to his age at one day and my kids probably wont get it either.... lol

guys can do a lot of things with moms..my mom asks help from my youngest brother in cleaning around the house..also, guys can involve their moms in gardening..they can help moms with laundry..and while they are doing activities with moms..they can talk to moms about their childhood, school, college, professional experiences, talking about siblings and dad and what not. Talking is always fun. My youngest brother loves chocolate chip cookies and some other cookies..so my mom gives him ingredients and he basically makes the cookies with mom. Also, he helps mom in shaping seekh kabab etc.

I personally never had problems with my parents because with mom i always talked or helped her around the house and with dad..i always talked about the work, religion, business ideas etc..or any help with net search etc.

i talk alot with my parents . probably on every topic n issue .

give them suggestion though they are tired of them. :hehe:

make alot of unique dishes for them which i have to eat by myself at the end of the day.

play ludo with my mother n do alot of cheating.

go on long drives n for walks with them.

think over every point that they have taught me in life.
God bless them n save them.