May Allah give Nazia a place in the highest of the heavens! We miss you Nazia…
Courtesy Dawn.com
The night was not an ordinary one. More than 5,000 people collected on the cricket ground of the Gymkhana last week to pay homage to the queen of pop music of the subcontinent, Nazia Hassan. The tribute was organized by Nazia’s brother, Zoheb, who, along with music composer, Biddu, had been working on the idea for some time. Biddu had helped Nazia win the Indian Filmfare Award for the song Aap Jaisa Koi in the early 80s. Both of them had composed the song while Nazia had sung it for the Indian director Feroze Khan’s blockbuster Qurbani. The musician flew in specially for the tribute.
Artists recounted past experiences as well as personal views they had of the singer. The now defunct Vital Signs also made the evening a memorable one by coming together for the special night’s event.
The best part of the musical tribute was the pace with which things progressed. At no point were there unnecessary delays. The show began with short acts depicting the lives of Nazia and Zoheb - the first time they learned to hum the correct tunes, the time they reached international stardom and finally, to the time of Nazia’s illness.
The stage tastefully done in white with tall pillars was beautifully set up with fluorescent lights. A huge sea-blue, hand-painted portrait of the pop queen was displayed in the background. Two giant screens on each side flashed various pictures of Nazia in the beginning. Drama marked the first half of the show with background commentary by Sohail Malik, who directed the programme as well, enlightened the public with Nazia’s achievements. A conversation, later, between Nazia and Zoheb from a certain part of their life, followed. Zoheb handled his part well while his wife, Gina voiced Nazia’s dialogue. Both reminisced the time when the sister wanted to quit but stayed on, at her brother’s insistence.
Once the singing performances were underway, there were no hinderances. The only irritating aspect of the show were the guards who dealt rudely with some of the guests.
Nine singers including Zoheb performed during the evening. Anwar Maqsood, the compere, announced Saleem Javed, who started off with Tum Mere Ho. Most of the singers lip-synched as the show was being recorded for television. Saleem’s emotional ditty outlined the evening’s itinerary.
Hadiqa Kiyani and Amir Zaki then walked on to the stage. The duo, who have formed a group called Rough Cut, sung two English songs. While Hadiqa’s voice sounded pretty, Zaki’s guitar skills with the synchronized beats of the tabla nawaz had a resounding impact. Both of them had something to say on Nazia professionally as well as personally. “For me, she is still alive. Her body and soul cannot be seen, but I believe she is here with us,” said Hadiqa. “It was her personality that amazed me and really inspired people to give anything in their life their best shot,” Zaki said fondly.
Shyhaki in his pre-performance statement, was happy to see Biddu in Karachi. “He’s such a refreshing change to the music scene here.” Of Nazia he said, “She was a pioneer and a tribute for her is well-deserved. No one else can take her place.” He sang one of his old songs “since people remember it and its perfect for the occasion.” But he followed it with a Punjabi beat justifying it as “Nazia loved happiness, so we should have something happy.”
Yasir Akhter was up next and his performance was constantly marred by sound problems. Oh Sanam and Yeh Wadi were cut off twice, consecutively as the sound system went kaput! Anwar Maqsood took care of things for the first time. He came onstage and apologized, taking the blame for the mishap: “I stopped the tape since we need to do a full retake for the TV recording,” he said seriously. As soon as Yasir started again, the sound went dead once more. It was here that a feeling that Mr Maqsood was joking, spread among the crowd. Yasir finally took off after a little while, singing two popular numbers in Nazia’s memory.
Opinions and views also climaxed that night for Nazia. Salman Ahmed of Junoon revealed that there was a time when he couldn’t think of Pakistan and pop coming together. “That was until I bought Nazia, Zoheb’s first album, Aap Jaisa Koi. I was mesmerized by the music. It made me realize how wrong I was.”
Salman also played with his old band, Vital Signs. The group had specially gotten together for the occasion. The French-bearded Junaid Jamshed, Rohail Hayat and Shahi (Shahzad Hasan) came on stage for the first time (in Karachi) in eight years. As Junaid commented: “Nazia loved Vital Signs but she loved it even more when we were together. Since this is her night, I would like to call on my one-time band mate and still good friend, Salman Ahmed, to come on stage and join us.” The foursome looked like the dream team of Pakistani pop.
The group initiated with Yeh Sham followed by the evergreen Goray Rang Ka Zamana. They sang some more songs including Sayonee and Yaroon Yehi Dosti Hai. Finally, as they were about to leave, they were cheered back on stage once again for Dil, Dil Pakistan in which the crowd joined in.
The ex-VS members, post-performance, said that there were chances that they just might re-band. “Anything’s possible these days,” said Rohail. “We even might be in the middle of an album, you never know,” commented Shahi, while Junaid, who has just returned from Raiwand after attending a religious congregation said: “Insha Allah, by the end of this year, Vital Signs will be coming out of hibernation with a brand new album.”
The speakers’ guest list continued with the most interesting comments. TV ‘begum’ Bushra Ansari, dressed in her New York-style clothes, said that "Nazia ko nazar lag gai. A frank Amin Guljee offered his true feelings for his yesteryear classmate. “I used to like Nazia very much back in school. We were in the same school and class and I used to watch her all the time. She was so pretty.”
“And what else, besides watching her, did you do in class?” pressed Anwar.
“Oh, I studied as well,” came the reply.
The show reached a sudden climax when Anwar announced the presence of the England-based musician, Biddu. He didn’t sing, but directed the onstage instrumental of Camera Camera which the public thoroughly enjoyed. Zoheb was next. With tears rolling down his cheeks, he reluctantly sang in his sister’s memory. His emotions almost choked him, but he managed to carry it off. Someone in the crowd remarked that it all appeared scripted. But most of the audience was too emotional to notice anything. The sound problem got to him as well, but he played it down with the words:
“That’s the beauty of live singing. You can always sing again.”
He sung a couple of Nazia’s favourite tunes until he initiated Oui Oui - the track that the duo sang for the Bollywood film starring Kumar Gurav. Zoheb was joined by Salman, Junaid and Yasir for the song. The foursome had the 5,000 strong crowd on their feet, singing with them. It was here that the crowd was at its zenith, people were not only singing with the artists; they were also cheering on Zoheb and then Nazia. The quartet went on to sing Disco Deewane and Dosti much to the delight of the public.
The show went late into the night and Zoheb ended the show with a song that he and his sister had composed, but failed to release because of Nazia’s untimely death, Yeh Kya Ho Gaya. It quietened the crowd, and stopped some, who had started to leave, in their tracks till Zoheb finished the song. One must praise the crowd indeed for there was not one instance that marred the delightful evening considering the number of people. Keep it up Karachiites!