I am not going to bash him or praise him here, who was the genius to play an injured player knowing about his groin injury, NZ was generous enough to let us use a runner but why did we bet on gaining a runner against India? (I believe in one of games against India they refused to let use a runner). Is this question raised in any of the threads?
Re: Imran Nazir
Because there was no better option. The other option we had was Butt. Even a one handed Imran Nazir is better than Butt in 20/20. He scored 33 or 14 deliveries, and got run out thanks to Younis's stupidity knowing Nazir was struggling with an injury.
^ yaar Fawad Alam, Abdul Rehman mar thori gaye thay… or were they?
I agree that half of Imran Nazir is better than Salman Butt (esp in this format).
Ok...Pak played Imran Nazir....that's their choice.
But the way Imran seemed to be fuming after the run out, it was as if it was Umpire's fault for refusing him a runner. He had the gumption to ask the Umpire for a runner again after Vettori had made clear his unhappiness about Nazir's conduct in the last match.
India did not play Sehwag instead of including him and hoping he would be provided with a runner.
The rule is clear, you don't get a runner if you go into a match with an injury unless the opposition allows you to do so. Nazir appeared to be stretching his luck a bit too far.
it was pak team’s own fault to let an unfit imran nazir play…can’t blame any1 else but themselves…:halo:
The rule is clear, you don't get a runner if you go into a match with an injury unless the opposition allows you to do so. Nazir appeared to be stretching his luck a bit too far.
I agree, thats why I said NZ were generous to let him use a runner.
Fawad is not an opener…and Rehman is a bowler. So they cant replace Nazir with one of them. Only choice was Butt..and they picked an injured Nazir over Butt. Unfortunetly there was no choice at the top of order to replace Nazir..and we all saw what Akmal did when he got promoted to #3.
Nazir was doing fine…he was standing and delivering…stupid Younis wanted to take that tight single when he clearly knew Nazir was struggling with an injury. The way Nazir was striking the ball..if he has stayed a little bit longer, game was ours.
^ We have so many "tried" openers in the team: Hafeez, Akmal, Malik himself, Afridi, they could've easily come'up with little bit of shuffling when they knew Imran was suffering from injury. The bet didn't pay off, whether because of his own mistak or stupid Younis.
I am glad it was the umpires who refused runner. It didnot happen becoz of Indian objection.otherwise... ;)
yes exactly
was confused by some of comments
vettori had a lot to say about his sportsmanship
nazir had a word with umpires and umpire said something back to him and it was done
^Besharmi ki had kar di Nazir ne
After being roundly castigated by Vettori for his unprofessional conduct, he had the guts to approach the Umpire again for a runner...and then fumes when he got run out...atrocious!
imran nazir aik benazir type ka batsman hai isi liey besharam bhi hai...:p
That cannot even be put in comparison with the EXTREME RUDE UNACCETABLE attitude of banging whole arms against the ground and stares as that of a criminal would have just before murdering his victims for intimidating other criketers. The penalty turns out to be 25% cut in the compensation instead of ban on matches, that wasnt an acceptable penalty for such attitude.
yar itna acha to khel raha tha kal
Younis ne runout kra dia bechare ko,,,,,,,,,
But then the Q everyone should really ask is,
If Vettori had any doubts about Nazir's injury why did he allow him to have a runner in the first place? It was only after Nazir started hitting those sixes that Vettori realised his own blunder and turned to the umpire like a sore loser. That's also pathetic IMHO.
OK India were perfectly within their rights not to let him have a runner in the Final but as I understand it, the injury Nazir sustained in the NZ game was not related to his previous injury. Atleast that is what I heard Shastri saying on TV.
i think the umpire would have allowed a runner at the end of the over, once he got his treatment.