Imran Munter meeting raises eyebrows

At the time when the government and military are trying to make some changes regarding the foreign policy towards the Americans, what will this meeting between Imran and Munter achieve? Is he trying to convince the Americans that he will prove to be a better bet/asset for them in the region to further their interests in the region?
Imran-Munter meeting raises eyebrows**

Ahmad Hassan | National |](http://www.dawn.com/category/today-national)From the Newspaper
](http://www.dawn.com/2011/12/17/imran-munter-meeting-raises-eyebrows.html)http://www.dawn.com/2011/12/17/imran-munter-meeting-raises-eyebrows.html

**ISLAMABAD: The meeting between Imran Khan, the Tehrik-i-Insaf chief, and the US ambassador on Thursday have raised a few eyebrows.
**Imran’s detractors pounced on the opportunity to pillory him, asserting that his anti-Americanism had been exposed as empty rhetoric.

Imran Khan avoided an explicit reply to a question about the meeting, saying his stance on the war on terror and Islamabad’s collaboration with Washington was clear.
He said his position during the meeting was similar to his public stance as he believed that Pakistan should withdraw from the “US-imposed war” in Afghanistan and that his stand had not changed after his talks with Ambassador Cameron Munter.

Speaking at a news conference held to welcome a couple of former members of Punjab Assembly and lawyers at his party’s secretariat, the PTI chairman also refused to support or oppose calls for removal of Inter-Services Intelligence Director General Lt Gen Ahmad Shuja Pasha following claims by American businessman Mansoor Ijaz about his visit to Gulf states.

“The matter is pending for hearing in the Supreme Court, which is competent to arbitrate and give its judgment.”Shah Mehmood Qureshi, the former foreign minister, and PTI secretary general Zahid Hussain Kazmi were also present on the occasion.

The Awami National Party’s MNA Bushra Gohar had called on floor of the lower house on Thursday for dismissal of the ISI chief to facilitate independent investigations into the memo scandal.

The call was endorsed by Leader of Opposition in the House, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan.

The PTI chief said PML-N’s decision to take the issue to the Supreme Court was right. He said the issue was sensitive and should be thoroughly investigated.“It is fortunate for the country that the apex court presided over by Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry is the most independent one and it is probing the memo issue and will definitely dig out the truth,” he said.

Imran Khan opposed any attempt to replace the present system with martial law and said successive military dictatorships had already destroyed the country.“My party is democratic and it will always support democracy and never accept imposition of martial law,” he said.

In reply to a question, he said the ‘tsunami’ of PTI which had started from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and entered Punjab would sweep into Balochistan and Sindh after the Karachi rally scheduled for Dec 25.

Commenting on President Asif Ali Zardari’s stay in Dubai for medical treatment, he said it was strange that the government had not only failed to build a hospital for its leaders but had also failed to arrange security for them.

The PTI chief said the biggest challenge before the country was that while its tax collection was among the lowest in the world, the ruling class was fighting the war on terror for the sake of money.

He said Mr Qureshi had been appointed vice-chairman after exhaustive consultations within the party and keeping in view his untainted past and vast experience.Political workers, led by former Punjab minister Col (retd) Mohammad Anwar and former MPA Pir Abbas Mohyuddin of Makhad Sharif and Justice (retd) Chaudhry Mohammad Tariq of the Lahore High Court, along with a number of lawyers from Attock, announced they had decided to join the Tehrik-i-Insaf.

Re: Imran Munter meeting raises eyebrows

Had I posted this thread, there would be huge cry..at times NS refused or reschdule meeting with American Ambassador, Pakistani Boy-Cotting Bonn or other conferences, what is he discussing with them? rate of Bananas? not to mention rumors regarding his visit to States and meeting with US state department people!!!

These things will hurt him badly (the people advising him these days are doing a lot of disservice to him and his cause)...if he wants to come sitting on the shoulders of the military and the Americans then he cant deliver any change. If he believes on the strength of the people then that's another thing and for that he will need to maintain some distance from the Americans (especially when no one is talking to them).

I hope these advisers leaves him alone but then again they never left Bhutto, NS, BB and Mushy alone, how come they are going to leave him alone...

He should have avoided this meeting.

bhai aap bas 10 minute late ho gai!!!! :p

This is the main gateway to power now in Pakistan. This gateway was opened by Zia-ul-Haq in the late seventies and Mush re-inforced it to with full strength. Perhpas no one can enter this gateway without the approval of Sam and chokidars of this gateway, now kyani and pasha. IK has understood this barrier, only keerhay makorhay of Pakistan will never lead him to seat of power even 100% of keerhay makorhay want him to be head of state.

This is a bad move by Imran Khan, even if he genuinely earns enough votes through turn-coats (lotas)/good coats such meetings will sour the claim of people's support to bring him atop.

IK is naive enough to realize that every move will be pounced on by his opponents (PML-N and PPP). These two parties are Phd's in character assassination and hence IK's every move and word should be well thought out.

The same things I am repeating in my posts about IK, he start polticis was good but he continiously making mistakes in every step, the change he is talking about just a slogan to make people fools specially youth. he gonna change everything with help of already used lottas haha.

Why can’t Imran as a politician meet with Munter or anyone. Why do we have to see negative in every thing? But conspiracy-driven minds (read Pakistanis) will always look at things from conspiracy angle. And the focus of IK’s recent discussions with US officials was more on trying to convince the Americans that military force alone will not eradicate the menace of extremism in the rugged terrain of FATA

If your brain is in-place, your heart is beating and eyes are open you will not ever vote for proven failures like PPP and PML-N again

And could not agree more with the following comment on dawn website

^^
aur nahi tu kya!

All IK wanted was to invite Munter to join PTI... :)

Every politician can 'meet' with Munter or anyone, but if meeting is with a representative of a country you criticize for its destructive policies and plays a big role in your countries' string pullings then you better explain to nation what your meeting was about, what was exchanged between you and Munter.

But just because you do not approve of certain policies of a country does not mean you absolutely hate that country or cannot meet with it's ambassador to express your reservations about their strategy in the region or to offer them alternative solutions

With a team of 2nd and 3rd grade leadrs of PPP and Q he is hinself going to a bad **'Mian Azhar' ans acting as apuppet of estab,
He is now really the llast hope .
Last hope of US.
**Bad ko Urdu main 'Gandah' kehtay hain

I didn't say Imran "hates" US, I agree he can meet US ambassador but he needs to give an statement what the meeting was about to stop speculations, otherwise Benazir and Nawaz used to meet US ambassadors too, and people 'speculated' that they begged US of support to 'grant' them a chance to come into power in Pakistan.

dirty, pasha saab!

After IK's meeting with Munter in this tensed environment, NS and other politicians are really worried for what may have been discussed between the Kind Maker and the candidate of premier-ship...

The False News network had its reporter on the task to investigate the matter and if possible get the reaction of NS on this. The mission was successful and the team managed to get more than we asked for, they somehow manged to record the secret telephonic conversation between NS and Munter. For the interest of readers, the text of the conversation is pasted below:

Cameron Munter = CM
Nawaz Sharif = NS

CM - Hello

NS - Hello, Please can I talk to His Highness?

CM - Sorry wrong number, no body with that name lives here!

NS - Pardon me please, it is not name it is the status we give to the Ambassador of USA, It is bad manners to call HH by his name!

CM - Oh ok, yeah this is Ambassador of US, Cameron Munter!

NS - Your Highness, This Nawaz Sharif, remember me, i use to be bald, but i now i have got some hair...

CM - Yes, Mr. Nawaz Sharif, i remember you, we told to be respectful towards you, and if this is about inviting me to another Lunch or dinner, then i am sorry, last time when i had lunch at your house, i had to go back to US for treatment.

NS - No no, you are most welcome, i'll fire that chef, but i didn't call to invite you, it is very difficult in these circumstances, i called you regarding your meeting with Imran Khan!

CM - What about that meeting, you refused and he agreed...

NS - I wish i could show you my heart, it was torn when i had to reschedule my meeting with you, but one day you will understand i was right, tell me what you discussed with Imran Khan, have you offered him premier-ship of Pakistan? that would be disaster, no one but only me can serve you the best in Pakistan, you know that.

CM - I am not obliged to tell you what was discussed in the meeting, but being a close friend and respect you have for me and my country, i would tell you that, yes, Imran Khan is being considered for premier-ship...

NS - Why??????????????? whats wrong with me? i waited so long, and now you have selected this guy, it would be disaster, what good he can bring to you and i cannot?

CM - You see, we have observed his statements closely and State officials in US believes that he have close contacts with the Taliban which can be instrumental to have successful peace talks with Taliban, nothing but an honorable exit from Afghan is what we are looking at and that is our sole objective, you know our economy is deteriorating and we cannot afford this war any more.

NS - But i can help you with this, i also had good connections with Talibans of Afghanistan, remember, how i served you last time i was in power?

CM - Yeah we remembered that, despite ours pleads you went on with the decision for the atomic blasts!

NS - Lets not discuss past events, what was done is done, let us talk about a better future? Have me as a premier of Pakistan and i'll deliver the goods and will control the Army by hanging Pervaiz Musharaf and punishing all other culprits. I can also work on arranging talks with the Real Taliban of Afghans and i'll certainly not block the NATO supply as Zardari have done? is this good enough for you?

CM - Thankyou Sir, the offer is very generous, but you see, Pervaiz Musharaf is our ally, we don't want him to be hanged, that is why we want to work closely with Imran Khan, because, he have no vendetta against Mushy, and also he have appeal in the masses, and he also promises to not to block the supply routes and he have given us firm commitment that he will help us get out.

NS - See there is always a way, why don't IK and Me work together, i can make him deputy PM or Interior Minister or something like that? and we can all be in the win win situation

CM - That is a good suggestion, i always believed that you are better then other politicians, I'll give it a serious thought and discuss the possibilities with the high ups, but until then, both of you need to bring the confrontation to the level where possibilities of alliance between you become real. Stop criticizing each other, and i'll ask Imran to behave as well!

NS - Does that mean you will have another meeting with Imran?

CM - No, i need to not call him for the meeting for petty issues, i'll let somebody from the embassy speak to him on this.

NS- Thank you, so when can i have an answer?

CM - I don't know, but it won't be long, may be before the end of the year or latest by 15th of January.

NS - Thankyou sir and Merry Christmas and Happy new year..

Ever heard of EU or US politicians meeting Pakistani Ambassadors? Its general practice that only government officials meet with Ambassadors. Politicians only meet when they need external support for domestic issues. That is standard in Pakistan and Imran Khan is no different in that regard.