Imran Khan to coach Pakistani Team

http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/MAY/187820_PAK_28MAY2003.html

what do u think???

Imran Khan has announced he is returning to coaching, to help lift Pakistan cricket out of the doldrums following a disastrous World Cup campaign.

Imran led Pakistan to glory in the 1992 World Cup, but on his retirement he turned to politics, and is now a member of parliament and leader of the Movement for Justice Party.

“After Pakistan’s disappointing performance in the World Cup, a lot of my friends asked me to help Pakistan cricket and despite my commitments in politics I have agreed to help with coaching,” said Imran, speaking at a launch of regional cricket clinics. “I want to pay back what this country has given me.”

Pakistan were among the pre-tournament favourites for the World Cup, but failed to go beyond the first round. In a massive overhaul, the selectors have since dumped eight senior players - including Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar and Inzamam-ul Haq.

Imran believes that Pakistan needs to copy the approach taken by the Australians. “Pakistan has a lot of talent but we need to harness that talent like they do in Australia, which has enabled them to rule the cricket world. A player in Australia is ready for international cricket once he comes out of their academies and first class competitions, which is not there in our part of the world. Cricket is so very much popular in Pakistan that every boy wants to don the green cap but you need to work hard.”

Ramiz Raja, the chief executive of the Pakistan Cricket Board, said a new first-class structure was among the many steps taken by the board to improve Pakistani cricket. “It is nice to have a person of Imran Khan’s stature on board, and through these regional clinics and competitive first-class competitions we will set a strong foundation.”

Karachi: Pakistan cricket legend Imran Khan said Wednesday he would coach young blood to lift national cricket and urged the country to follow Australia's shining example.

"After Pakistan's disappointing performance in the World Cup, a lot of my friends asked me to help Pakistan cricket and despite my commitments in politics I have agreed to help with coaching," Khan said speaking at a launch of regional cricket clinics.

"I want to pay back what this country has given me," said Khan, a Pakistani MP who leads the Movement for Justice party.

Pakistan, one of the pre-tournament favourites, failed to go beyond the first round in the World Cup in southern Africa in February-March this year, which was won by Australia.

In a massive overhaul, Pakistan dumped eight senior players - including captain Waqar Younis, his long-time pace partner, Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar and Inzamam-ul Haq.

"Pakistan has a lot of talent but we need to harness that talent like they do in Australia, which has enabled them to rule the cricket world," said Khan, whose 362 wickets in 88 Tests and 182 in 175 one-dayers made him a leading fast bowler in the 1970s and 1980s.

"A player in Australia is ready for international cricket once he comes out of their academies and first class competitions, which is not there in our part of the world," said the all-rounder who led Pakistan to their only World Cup title in Australia in 1992.

The coaching clinics, conducted under the auspices of the Pakistan Cricket Board and soft drink giants Pepsi, will be held at more than a dozen venues.

"Cricket is so very much popular in Pakistan that every boy wants to don the green cap but you need to work hard," he said.

PCB chief executive Ramiz Raja said a new first-class structure was among the many steps taken by the board to improve Pakistani cricket.

"It is nice to have a person like Imran Khan's stature on board, and through these regional clinics and competitive first class competitions we will set a strong foundation," said Raja, himself a former captain.

Pakistan holds two major domestic first class tournaments, which are dominated by sponsored teams not cities.

considering Imran's influence on the paki cricket, it seems, Waseem will be making a comeback to the team...(may be as a captain)....

and what about Javed Miandad? phir dodh ke makhi wala hisab? and what about Imran's political career?
besides I don't think it's a good decision by Imran. He's been away for too long and I doubt he'd bring an impact that he might have 5 years ago had he decided to coach then.

Great news to see Imran doing some coaching. INshallah he will have plenty of thoughts and ideas to share with the pakistan cricket board management.

On wasim comming back in the team? nope i dont think so. I cant see him comming back, imran will concentrate his efforts on re-building the team with new faces and bringing talent to the game like he said.

where are the links boss?

great news but what about javed, personally i would pick javed over imran.
he can still be involved with the team in other ways.

On the surface it seems all rosy and a neat idea but I kind of agree with Zulfi here. It will have a negative effect on the entire team. With Rashid in command and Miandad behind, it seems they are doing pretty ok. But well the cricket gurus know better. ...

Well.. as long as he sticks to coaching only we should be fine.

i wouldn't pick either imran nor javed

how about me becoming the coach??? :D

Originally posted by ammarr: *
Well.. as long as he sticks to coaching *only
we should be fine.

what is Miandad doing?

He'll bring the divide again. PCB needs a brain.

Two swords can't fit together.

*Originally posted by knightofhearts: *
Pakistan cricket legend Imran Khan said Wednesday he would coach young blood to lift national cricket and urged the country to follow Australia's shining example.

"Pakistan has a lot of talent but we need to harness that talent like they do in Australia, which has enabled them to rule the cricket world,"

*"A player in Australia is ready for international cricket once he comes out of their academies and first class competitions, which is not there in our part of the world," *

The coaching clinics, conducted under the auspices of the Pakistan Cricket Board and soft drink giants Pepsi, will be held at more than a dozen venues.

"It is nice to have a person like Imran Khan's stature on board, and through these regional clinics and competitive first class competitions we will set a strong foundation," said Raja.

The article does not suggest he will be coaching the current team members, I think he will be teaching youngsters at the domestical level and prepare them for the national team. In that case I think there will be no conflict between Javed and Imran. Secondly they have played togather for so many years and they always put national interest above their own conflicts. Thats something that Wasim and Waqar failed to do. I mean I admire Wasim Akran and rate him probaby the best fast bowler ever but the truth is he did almost destory Waqar's career. But I think Miandad and Imran will work out just fine speically since Imran would only be grooming the youngsters.

Thats a wonderfull news. :k: Now I am sure there will be a strong PAK team that can kick any one’s a$$. Khan sahib the man :k:

Wonderful news :bhangra: I’ve always wished Imran would coach Pakistan and Wasim bhai should also follow his footsteps.

Good news for Pakistani Cricket Lovers!!!

Thats gud:k:..
but what about javed?

Great news....but what will happen to his political party?

Miandad is a better thinker than Imran...and probably a lot more talented all around

Well, we have given miandad a couple of chances, why not give em to imran too?

knightofhearts thats great if Wasim Akram can make a comeback we need him badly.And Imran Khan is much better than Javed, I think his coaching of 1 day is bhari over Miandad's 100 days coaching ;)