Imran Khan: Pakistan’s Donald Trump

Re: Imran Khan: Pakistan’s Donald Trump

There used be an MQM supporter here who would often say, oh give Taliban Khan the power in KPK, and you'll see Taliban offices opened in every nook and corner of KPK. But what does KPK get under Taliban Khan's party, Pakistan's first ever female commando force to fight terrorism. How terribly disappointing, right? You can only imagine their pain.

The irony is that libtards who propagated Imran as Taliban Khan are too ashamed and gutless to acknowledged that it is now proven that your oh so liberal, secular and over the top 'anti Taliban' parties that are being hounded for being the actual supporters, facilitators and originators of terrorism in Pakistan, not Taliban Khan!

Taliban Khan is neither hiding in Dubai nor London, nor he's threatening for any commando warfare against Army nor hoping to do any eent se eent for Generals. if he was indeed the Taliban Khan why isn't he Zarb e Azb's first casualty? What's stopping Army from treating KPK in the same way Sindh and raiding Bani Gala?

I really want to know how Taliban Khan is a pain in the ass for Army? If Army can deal with leaders who tried sharing Pakistan's national security secrets, snakes like Zardari and Nawaz who go to India and Afghanistan to say save us from our own Army, then I think dealing with just an overconfident and ill informed leader is not even least of their concerns.

Hain Jeee. PA main bhi koi kisi ko " You are right " kehta hey even when having difference in opinions...
BTW I beleive IK se baree khotee bhi hain jo Solar park ko bhot bari kamyaabi qaraar de rahe hain . MAgar It does not mean he is something specail. Jub ird gird khotee hon ge to khota pun hi prevail karee ga. ( as what happened to Musharraf....)

Pl. tell me the masculine of Mujh as I belevie some posters may got offended by my constant use of Bhains. In urdu I cud not find muhawraa for bhainsaa

So an American is negating this false equivalence

He did want to open an office in peshawar for TTP. Stop being a stupid niraala for once and smell the coffee. You can probably thank Raheel Shareef that it didn't happen as I have no qualms about that idiot Kiyani.

NO No…looks like you did not read my post carefully. I never ever declared Janab Hazrat Imran Khan sahib a khota. Not at all. I said that Khan sahib keeps on falling from his donkey and as a result his khoonkhar hardcore fans keep on taking their wrath upon us poor kumhars…please correct.

second, this khaksar of yours was the first one who exposed the bigotry of shahbaz sharif and company on solar park. Mulahaza farmayien the link below..

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/655671-100mw-solar-plant-talk-abt-real.html?highlight=solar+park

laikan hum to maskeen kumhar hain…patwari hain!!!

Imran khan is narcissistic and his supporters can be "trolls" as Kugelman pointed out. Both of them are fake conservatives, as evidenced by dancing in PTI's jalsas or Trump's cozy relationship with dems in the past, so the comparison is still there.

THE SCARY PART is that Pakistan has an abundance of Trumps like altaf, nawaz and zardari to name a few major political heroes than a bernie, biden or hillary where you can hold your nose and vote for them come election day in 2016.

The thing with khan is that there are conservatives and there are the liberals, the dancing tola is that which used to be with PPP in the past. Like I have posted here many times before Pti has damaged PPP more in Punjab as compared to pmln. To be very frank the troll puna of Pti followers compares with the jiyala mentality of PPP of yesteryears. This is the biggest difference between khan and Donald trump.

I agree. Don’t have any doubt in ur kumhaarness…

Do you know what's stupid:

Half of MQM is behind the bars for spreading foreign funded terrorism, PPP's front men are getting arrested for financing terror, JUI-F minister gets arrested for hate speech, PMLN's law minister is linked with terrorist organisation....but let the boneheads moan about how of all the mega criminals, gangsters and mass murderers wrecking Pakistan, it is 'Taliban Khan' who is pain in the ass for the Army and public, and a threat to national security. If some people actually dedicate the same amount of time, energy and brain cells criticising the actual criminals in Pakistan that they do for Imran's character assassination, Pakistan may actually progress and people may not actually vote for the same looters and mass murderers again and again.

Those who are reading this, don't bother coming up with the retarded excuse that oh yeah well we know they are all bad but...but....but....no there's a no but, if everyone knows that likes of Nawaz are indeed worst of the bunch then why do people elect them again and again? Clearly their actual crimes don't get condemned as much. Look at Dawn and ET's editorial focuses for instances.

So much for this Taliban Khan hate propaganda, not a single link between him/his party and Taliban has been established by LEAs.

Gen Raheel can sit shoulder to shoulder with Kiyani in all military events, (yes the same General who actually wanted to take the negotiation exist out of this conflict to avoid war) he can honour Gen Hameed's funeral, but he probably cannot wait to skin Imran Khan alive for supporting peace talks? The truth of the matter is, Army has never ever found Imran to be a threat. He is anything but a religious extremist. If Army can deal with extremely vindictive, opportunistically traitorous and duplicitous back stabbers like Benezir, Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, Altaf Hussain, I am pretty sure giving a big boys talk to an ill informed brat is not even least of their concerns. So all this phaphey kutni talk of Army and Imran having an inevitable clash of titans if he becomes a Prime Minister is opportunistic fearmongering. This is the kind of line right wing press adopts in the West.

I am pretty sure all leaders when they become Prime Minister are given a talk on national security, and they have access to sensitive information and policy rationale that they did not have while outside of the office. And this instantly changes their outlook on mattes they thought they had long figured out.

It's like Labour Party's new leader, a staunch Republican who believes Monarchy should abolish still had to kneel before the Queen, and receive a talk on national security. This is how establishment works. This is how they burst your bubble to welcome you in the real world where things work slightly differently from what you dream about.

PTI is truly a national party (ok fine some parts of Pakistan will never ever welcome it for obvious reasons). You cannot just say that its supporters are either conservatives or liberals, privately studied burger kids or 'semi illiterate' working class youth, urban residents or rural enthusiasts. It actually has absorbed people from all sections of the society for various different reasons. Why a conservative may choose to support PTI will be different from why a liberal has decided to push its weight behind.

It shouldn't be too hard to admit the fact that PTI does indeed have a very dynamic appeal and multifaceted support base which is actually a really good thing for Pakistan's democracy.

Perhaps Hoodboy would not have written this nasty attacking piece had he considered the fact that unlike Trump, Imran was a sporting hero and national icon way before he entered politics, and he may have only recently discovered that Trump is popular in USA, but Imran has been part of Pakistani politics for 19 years with enough struggle to his name.

The reason that imran wasn't a "threat" as far as TTP was that the army itself didn't want to fight a war. I think Ali Syed posted on how NWA required military operation, but bajor, kurram, swa apparently didn't or the politicians agree to just like NWA operation happened when raheel shareef came into power.

I don't blame that aspect on imran khan, but unlike you (sorry if it isn't but you give them a pass), I don't want a military ruled Pakistan. In fact, civilians like FIA, police, IB should be taking the lead on terrorism and here imran or nawaz dilly dallying on terrorism doesn't give them confidence or authority (face it, pakistani police aren't independent like the West). I think that I have mentioned it before, but look at how the mindset has changed where christians were saved from mobs in Punjab by police after public complaints AND the military pushback against taliban. Before, we had instances that the police were just demoralized leading to loss of innocent christian lives. This is what is happening in afghanistan where police and even army units just up and ran in face of taliban OR in iraq where the leaders have partitioned sunni and shiite areas with the existing kurd ones in the north.

IK’s TTP stance is flawed but lets call a spade a spade. **Zarb-e-Azb is a purely military achievement. **NS gets no credit here in my book. If it was solely up to Nawaz he would still be forming committees (his favourite pastime!) owing to his indecision about it and negotiating with the likes of TTP.

And I do not consider IK a security risk. Even if elected at the centre (seems far-fetched at this stage), he won’t be calling the shots on security anyway. Unless politicians clean up their act and until public and military distrust in politicians remains, the military would continue to influence key aspects of our security and foreign policy. If anyone thinks otherwise then they are living in a fool’s paradise.

NS appears ‘safe’ because of his low-key style of governance, not saying much or anything at all in public! IK on the other hand stands out more because of his vociferous nature and vehement opinions. There have been some signs of progress in KPK such as de-politicisation of KPK police but overall progress is slow. Holding LB elections was s good step as well. IK needs to talk less to the media or only say something once he has achieved something in KPK. Criticising someone every day or appearing solely obsessed with election rigging does not go down too well with many ordinary people. (an important issue for sure but ECP and SC are the right forums to register your grievance not street protests. People do not have much appetite for that apart from his hardcore supporters. PTI should press for electoral reforms via the parliamentary committee so that the 2018 elections are more transparent and fairer than than the last one). ‘Pencil’ and KPK government need to focus all their energies on providing good governance - health, education, job creation and poverty (and terrorism) reduction.

Read what Cyril, one of the most eloquent and courageous journalists has to say about NS. He thinks Nawaz and his ‘boys’ are duffers
King Raheel - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Even in Western countries, politicians do not call the shots on foreign policy, the most recent example would be Obama and how he planned to end Iraq War in his first year in the office back in 2008's presidential campaign. The establishment in all countries devise the framework on foreign polices.

Imran acts like the main opposition leader in Pakistan, and he technically is, and he knows how to stir debates which is actually a very welcoming practice in democracy. But repeated and habitual and feel good character assassination of himself takes away whatever good work KPK government is doing. Constructive and well informed and well meaning criticism on KPK government can help them improve since apart from their CM, it is largely a very inexperienced cabinet. But all that nit picking on "Khan Saab's" mannerism is futile and duplicitous, and achieves nothing. Big frecking deal that Imran told Nawaz that I'm gonna make you piss in your pants. Honestly, the kind of problems Pakistan is facing, is this is the only heartache 'liberals' seems to have? Imran's not so posh manners? Really?

It is like PTI supporters show outrage on mega institutional corruption but those who love to unleash outrage on PTI not being so picture perfect don't show any outrage on other parties' corruption. You see the equation. This is the depth of moral and intellectual polarisation in the country. Why is it only PTI supporters' responsibility to do opposition? Why the so called 'neutrals' don't show the same disgust and rejection?

I mean whopping 980 billion rupee corruption is confirmed in energy sector, where is the outrage by the moral police that even after year of dharna cannot forgive Imran for saying all the *oye's *to Nawaz Sharif. All news of mega corruption scandals and big guns going scott free gets put on the back burner the next day, and that's clearly not an issue for Imran's critics. Those who try to fix Imran's behaviour as if he's some teenager, would ever bother wasting their time and energy exposing corruption of Nawaz and Zardari, and demanding some accountability from likes of Nawaz, Zardari and Altaf?

dear asif, where did in my post or any other post in this thread i have credited Nawaz sharif with anything on war on terrorism? where did i credit NS with zarbae azb? please show me that first. so does it mean that every-time someone criticizes imran, the assumption is that he or she is automatically favoring nawaz and zardari on that issue? i did not know that.

and where did i say Imran khan is a security risk? just because i feel that Imran khan is difficult to be controlled as he is really independent and given his views on TTP (aka lets negotiate with them), it would have been a difficult relationship with general sharif, does it mean i am declaring imran a ghaddar or a security risk? not at all.

you certainly implied that in your post or maybe I am reading too much between the lines!

Most commenters praising Raheel below the article did not get Cyril’s point either! :smiley:

While Raheel Sharif has done a commendable job, the point Cyril is making is,** it is because of our politicians not learning anything from their past mistakes, not grabbing the opportunities that come their way i.e. sheer incompetence, that allows the military to grab the glory and appear as ‘saviours’ or ‘kings’
Also our nation’s constant penchant to look for a ‘saviour’ rather than mending their own ways & improving themselves i.e. ‘the messiah complex.’ "Nepotism aur corruption nahin chorni, taxes nahin deney but … we want an honest leader, bhy wah!"

As Iqbal’s apt saying goes

Khuda ney aaj tuk uss qaum ki haalat nahin badli
naho jiss ko khayal khud apni haalat k badalney ka

well i unfortunately have no control on what others can imply from my posts… that is their prerogative. otherwise if you look into my post below, i did not talk about zarbe azb or giving its credit to nawaz or declaring imran a security threat. nawaz was equally supportive of negotiations with TTP like imran khan and was delaying military operation until raheel pushed him on one side and started the operation.

*Originally Posted by phoenixdesi http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png **you are totally ok with it Sid? you are admitting that IK is a total narcissist and you are fine with him being PM of pakistan?

as i said before, imagine IK was the PM for last 24 months…and even if he was sincere and non corrupt, the problem is that with his no-compromise, zero-flexibility, one-dimensional narcissist personality, how would he fit into this new refreshed policy of our army to fight TTP at any cost and at any place? he still wants to negotiate with them.

as you said, IK does not like to be controlled and “he is always right” but then how would he work with a person like general raheel sharif who is hell bent to fight with these animals with zero tolerance and **no negotiations whatsoever. **

because after all what TTP has done , IK has not moved at all…wahieen sui atkiee hoi hai iss adami kee..stilll stuck with his same old rotten thought process.*

Truth be told, I didn't read Cyril's article either because I thought it was a military bashing one. Hey, I ain't one like some here who would hold back criticism on armed forces (especially the army) for their conduct in '65, '71 and the blunder in siachen as well as the afghan policy, but credit must also be given when they do their job. I just won't make them super messiahs for doing their constitutional duties.

That was actually a very bad article! King Raheel, really? Cyril seemed more frustrated and offended by Gen. Raheel's popularity than disappointed with NS' incompetence. Hardly surprising given his reputation.

Making Gen. Raheel's popularity something so controversial is actually quite dangerous and very counter productive. It is not good for Army's morale at all.

Once again, on Eid, your Prime Minister is out of the country and celebrating it at his multi million pounds mansion in London. Sticking with the tradition of 'going back to home to celebrate Christmas/Eid'. It's the same story every year. Why are these people ruling Pakistan like Kings when the country is not even considered their home? Their families are outside of Pakistan, their palaces are out of Pakistan, their businesses are out of Pakistan, so exactly what stakes do they have in Pakistan? They just want unlimited and unaccounted access to Pakistan's treasury for more loot and plunder. They have destroyed institutions just to save themselves from any accountability. Yet it Imran's bloody *'oye's' *and fiery opposition which seems so unforgivable in the land of pure.

The question is that why an average PTI supporter is so disgusted and outraged by their corruption but an average PTI critic isn't?