Imran Khan: Pakistan’s Donald Trump

Re: Imran Khan: Pakistan’s Donald Trump

you are totally ok with it Sid? you are admitting that IK is a total narcissist and you are fine with him being PM of pakistan?

as i said before, imagine IK was the PM for last 24 months....and even if he was sincere and non corrupt, the problem is that with his no-compromise, zero-flexibility, one-dimensional narcissist personality, how would he fit into this new refreshed policy of our army to fight TTP at any cost and at any place? he still wants to negotiate with them.

as you said, IK does not like to be controlled and "he is always right" but then how would he work with a person like general raheel sharif who is hell bent to fight with these animals with zero tolerance and *no negotiations whatsoever. *

because after all what TTP has done , IK has not moved at all...wahieen sui atkiee hoi hai iss adami kee..stilll stuck with his same old rotten thought process.

Now everyone remember this particular U-Turn from the apparent U-Turner moaners: Imran Khan who was recently propagated as GHQ darling, is now suddenly everything that the GHQ stands for! Remember this new theme of hypocrisy laden propaganda.

Ever since the start of Zarb e Azb, Imran has not once criticised the operation. Last time I checked, Army Chief's not in chairing any Apex committee in Taliban Khan's province. The Corps Commander Peshawar/KPK do not meet Taliban Khan and his CM every other month to say we are not happy with your double dealing on terrorism. The FC are not conducting any anti terrorism operations and raids in Taliban Khan's province, it's the KPK police.

No, it is your so called secular, liberal and oh so anti Taliban parties which are being hounded by the Pindi boys for their support for terrorism, not Taliban Khan! So have some shame, and hold those parties responsible for spreading terrorism in Pakistan in true sense of the word.

The negotiation links being shared on every freaking thread if from July, yes the same month when Pakistan was arranging Peace Talks between Taliban and Afghan government. Imran was heard on the recording defending his negotiation stance by saying that NATO, Pakistan and Afghanistan are going for talks after decade of fighting, so why was I bashed for suggesting the same? He definietly did say Peace Talks with Afghan Taliban is the way forward, but no where he said stop Zarb e Azb, and strike a peace deal with TTP.

So it really makes you wonder, if Taliban Khan is so bad then how on earth he's currently getting along with Army now that his party shares power in province worse hit by Taliban violence? Whatever is happening in Sindh, and the pains Army is taking there, shouldn't all this be happening in Taliban Khan's province?

So enough of this shameless lying and manipulation.

This, well said.

By the why those who are now confessing and preaching that how Imran is inflexible, uncontrollable, one dimensional narcissist who has absolutely no chance of getting along with Army. Now do they have the same face to admit that all that propaganda that Imran is a GHQ stooge being used to topple NS or prevent him from coming to power was nothing but a propaganda based on utter BS, and they were just so so stupid for believing it?

I mean why not? How come some people have suddenly discovered that Imran cannot get along with Army when his cut throat campaign against Musharraf, anti WoT stance, anti US aid stance, anti drone stance, anti operation stance needs no explanation. And yes, Fauj doesn't forget sht like this, if you really know how the GHQ works.

So now following from these facts, would you admit that all that smear campaign, lies and propaganda that Army will make him win 2013 elections, Army will make him get mid term elections, Army will get JC report in his favour, Army will make him win Cantt elections in Punjab was nothing but total and complete BS? Will we see an end to such nonsense? So any word on your beloved liberal fascist and corrupt to the core parties who are using PTI's name to take digs at Army, maligning the institution despite knowing very well that Army has no soft corner for PTI because of Imran's track record?

But on the other hand, if Army knew that Taliban Khan is so obstructive, anti state, anti Army, and a narcissist anarchist then why on earth they allowed him to win elections in KPK of all the places? If he was a threat to national security and state institutions, then they would have found plenty of ways to completely destroy and discard his party.

^ Kabhi kabhi log gadhee per bhi bet kar lete hain , thinking that he is a horse..
In this case Army is not refered as gadhe

J/K. Dont take offenisvely. Pun intended...

Anyway, I guess this physics professor would agree that world famous 'charismatics narcissists' leaders like Nepolean, Alexander the Great, Henry VIII, Queen Elizabeth I, Winston Churchill, Lord Curzon, Attaturk, Jinnah, Gandhi, Bhutto, Malcolm X were all Donald Trumps of their time. Nice! But just for Hoodboy, there are plenty in America that consider Obama a charismatic narcissist.

Honestly, I really don't understand (well I'm lying - I do understand) why Pakistan men are so obsessed with Imran Khan's sexual past? Call him a Taliban Khan or a playboy, he had historically enjoyed mammoth popularity with Pakistani women - and we are talking about largely educated, professional and middle class women.

Usually it is a very women's thing to get disgusted by a man who sleeps around (playboy), or a man who is seen as a threat their social liberties (Taliban Khan), clearly it is the opposite with Pakistani women. But why or why, why are Pakistani men are so damn obsessed with Imran's khan's sexuality? Whether we are talking about bababeys or 30 something men, why Imran's sexuality is such an issue amongst Pakistani men? I really want to know.

I think in my psychology class, I remember reading a theory that might explain such behaviour, but I think I should better not share it here.

Exactly!

Taliban Khan is a security threat to Pakistan!

*Professionals *do not bet on gadhey, especially when they have already been bitten before.

Anyway, if bunch of libtards in the media want to propagate that Taliban Khan is against everything that GHQ stands for, then this is probably the best thing that can happen to Imran at this point. The whole propaganda of Imran being the darling of GHQ was getting too detrimental for both Gen Raheel and Imran's reputation. He desperately needed a break from all this.

As with the new propaganda, no matter what libatards say about Taliban Khan, actions speak louder than words. KPK has the best record of civil-military relations at present, least interference from Army and a phenomenally improved law and order situation.

Hoodbhoy yet again proves why extremist on either end are useless bunch. Everyone who disagrees with extremists is a kafir and wajib ul Qatal. Everyone who disagrees with this breed of liberals is extremist/Taliban supporter.
Take Donald trump's most recent example, someone says to him:
*“We have a problem in this country, it’s called Muslims,” said the questioner in the audience at the New Hampshire town hall meeting on Thursday. “Our current President is one. We know he’s not even an American,” he added. “We have training camps growing where they want to kill us. That’s my question, when can we get rid of them?”
“We’re going to be looking at a lot of different things,” Trump said. *

Has Imran Khan ever made such a statement against any religious group of people?
On Talibans, yes his stance of peace talks may not be the best one (ongoing action is a proof) but is there anything in Imran's practical life that makes him a Taliban supporter?? His work for education? His focus on women education in KPK? His encouragement of women participation in politics? His philanthropic work? Him being University of Bradford Chancellor? Building hospital for cancer patients? bein a sportsman and promoting sports? What aspect of his practical life suggests he has any soft corner for Talibans/extremists????
But our liberal experts will still tell you that he is the worst thing that happened to Pakistan and compare with every negative personality that ever set foot on planet earth.
And the fact that Imran is up against Mandelas like Sharif, Zardari, Fazlu, Altaf makes Hoodbhoy's ludicrous article even more amusing.

Imran is surely GHQ's darling especially considering he won 10/150 seats in Punjab even after holding massive rallies in all parts of Pakistan, makes soooo much sense doesn't it?? Pasha and all sent every forced all electables to PTI before 2013 elections but guess where most of those PMLQ electables went? PMLN awarded 53 NA tickets and 90 PA tickets to PMLQ/PPP electables and some joined PMLN after PTI announced intra party elections (Extremely poor planning by Pasha and Imran isn't it??).
First GHQ miserably failed in 2013 elections and then Gen Raheel Sharif miserably failed to throw Nawaz Sharif government after GHQ/ISI themselves planned the dharna.

Even his stance regarding talks with Taliban is to achieve peace through negotiations. We may or not agree with his assessments. One thing is for sure we need to resolve the issue soon, otherwise could see pashtunistan movement getting strong. A lot of Pashtuns have resentment to the operations going on in their areas. Other than that, his appeal is much more diverse as compared to Donald trump.

Such false dichotomies make Hoodbhoy seem all the more the wacky in his opinion. The fact is, IK is going up against nefarious politicos who are corrupt form here to high hell. Nepotism, profiteering, and the lot of it at the highest levels is status quo across existing political parties. The same dynasties come and go. It is from this frustration that IK has emerged. Like him or not, I just don't think he has that kind of taint. Regardless, even if he does, he ostensibly does not and that is why people like him.

Contrast to Trump. No one else in the republican party nor the democratic party can be compared to any other Pakistani politician...they are much cleaner, and work within the system, in comparison.

It is xenophobia, racism, and a whole lot of bad attitude that is backing Trump.

Hoodbhoy has issues with hyperbole. Should go back to teaching about hyperbolas.

Nailed it!!

He probably discovered Trump is in hot waters these days so decided to settle his own scores based on things he probably doesn't even understand himself. It's not about being angel/perfect, it's about your best choice based on current options and there is a reason Imran has such a massive support. A lot of people like me only support him for his honesty and sincerity and we will stop supporting the day he compromises or if there is a better option.

Exactly, he genuinely thinks (rightly or wrongly) that peace talks could help win the war at least with those who are willing which makes it easier to tackle those who have some kind of agenda. He was worried about war having impact on hundreds of thousands which is turning out to be true as massive amount of people had to flee and obviously those people are not happy. I personally think we couldn't wait for peace talks any longer and it was right time to launch an attack (we always knew there will be price to pay). Either way the decision has been made and everyone supported it but our so called LIBERALS still can't get over it.

:smack: .. Whatta analysis.. I’ve seen everything in this world now.. :bummer:

I dont think that supporting talks with Taliban make IK taliban khan. He has his own opinion whether correct or not. In no way I belevie he is near to the ideology of TTP even if you consider his way of life. ( I mean his wife is a good dancer !! I will be happy if TTP start liking such people. )

On the other hand ppl , I dont know how ppl believe his connection to ISI. Jub IK khood chilla chilla kar keh raha tha keh third umpire ki unglii uthne wali hey than wat else u need.

Jub Javaid Hashmi ne billi thelee se nikaal di hey to ub or kiss bat ka discussion on that issue. It is part and parcel of PK politics that PArties try to make a turmoil and expect third umpire to intervene ( some time pre-discussed which I beleive was the case for IK + TUQ dharna but they fail to attract required level of turmoil ) and some time unplanned like PML-N long march.

Both cases they were looking towards third umpire.

Humari ISI is used to do such adventures starting from formation of IJI to distributing money to politiial paties. Some time it work and some time not . The reason they are not trained to run the country ...

Both cases I dont think either IK or NS being a security threat to pakistan. Both trying to serve the country in their own way which look stupid to one side while great to the other side.

Well i think Hoodbhoy just saw an opportunity to bash Imran Khan using a controversial figure otherwise i don’t really see a reason of his article. Off course you are absolutely delighted to read such staff but it doesn’t excite everyone?
The fact that Imran hasn’t even contributed 1% of the mess we are in today and yet our dear liberals remember him in every 2nd article they write about Pakistan and it’s problems??

sarkar have you heard of that muhawara…Gira Gadhay Se, magar Gussa Kumhar Par , hain jee? :smiley:

matlab statement Khan sahib day rahay that lets negotiate with these animals , magar ghussa hum maskeen kumharon par :slight_smile:

did we ever criticize Imran khan sahib in last 10 months for his past stand on TTP? not really. We all thought khan jee has moved on after peshawar school massacare magar pata challa kay jithay di khoti othay aan khaloti…Khan sahib is still stuck with his past stand and still want to negotiate with TTP. waisay Khan sahib kay saath gadhay walay muhawaray kitany relevant hain :wink:

instead of gazalion explanations and barrage of attacks, ask khan sahib not to fall from his khota again and again. Hold on to your donkey Khan jee. Kiyon mussebat may dalto ho apnay fans ko.

and the second point you raised is spot on…matlab **dirya ko koozay may band kar diya hai aap nay **… mogambo khush hua.

hazrat Khan sahib himself created an impression that army is on my side when he declared chilla chilla kar “third umpire ki unglii uthne wali hey..uthnayyyy waliee hai bhai logo”… aab yae bee hamaara qasoor hai? army never created such impression and now we all know that that was a false impression by khan jee as General raheel sharif kept himself and army out of the crisis and kept a distance from him/PTI and TUQ.

and yes you are right again that Khan sahib is absloutely not a security threat and I dont question his loyalty from the country for one second.

Is Imran Khan really Pakistan’s Donald Trump? - Blogs - DAWN.COM

by Michael Kugelman — Published about an hour ago

In a recent Dawn op-ed, Dr. Pervez Hoodbhoy argued that Imran Khan is the Donald Trump of Pakistan. I beg to differ.

Yes, there are many striking similarities between the two men. Both are celebrities-turned-politicians with sky-high egos.

Both espouse very conservative views and exploit the deep anti-government grievances of right-wing constituencies. And both are as far as one can possibly get from camera-shy wallflowers.

And yet, these convergences are merely superficial. In the end, the analogy simply doesn’t hold for me.
Political scale

First, Khan occupies a significant position in Pakistan’s political hierarchy. He’s elevated the PTI to great prominence in quite rapid fashion, and he boasts a track record of electoral success.

In short, Khan is a bonafide political star. Trump, to put it mildly, is not.

Trump is a wildly successful businessman, but he’s barely gotten his feet wet in politics. And don’t be fooled by his high-flying act as a leading Republican Party presidential candidate.

In US presidential campaigns, fringe candidates often ride on the coattails of populist anger to rush to the front of the pack early on, only to quietly fade away later on.
Naïve not nefarious

Second, Khan may harbour some misguided and troubling views (I’ve written previously in this space about his disturbingly complacent attitudes toward anti-state militancy). Still, they pale in comparison to Trump’s. Trump says such outrageous things that he makes Khan sound like Abdul Sattar Edhi.

Let’s face it: Naya Pakistan may be naïve, but it is neither nasty nor nefarious.

Also read: Imran Khan says will come out on streets against ECP

It’s certainly fanciful to promise an end to corruption in 90 days, but it’s downright cruel and bordering on racism to call for a “Great Wall of Trump” to keep Mexican immigrants out of America.

Also, when was the last time we heard about a cancer hospital developed and funded by Trump — or, for that matter, about any type of Trump charitable project?

Trump claims to contribute to many different charities, and I’m quite sure he does. Yet, he’s no prodigious philanthropist. In fact, an investigation by The Smoking Gun website has concluded that Trump may be the “least charitable billionaire in the United States.”
The supporters

Third and finally, let’s consider the supporters of Khan and Trump.

Not to state the obvious, but there are many admirable and well-informed Insafians out there. Generally speaking, they are a well-intentioned (even if sometimes naïve) lot.

Yes, some will troll you viciously on Twitter. Some can be quite intense in person, too, and especially when railing about drones or other US-patented evils.

But even the most unpleasant Insafians can’t hold a candle to Trump’s partisans.

What’s so scary about Trump’s supporters is not necessarily what they say or do — but rather what they don’t say and don’t do.

It’s worth watching the video of Trump’s town hall meeting in New Hampshire a few days back. At one point, a supporter in the crowd asks, “when can we get rid of” Muslims. Trump’s response: “We’re going to be looking at that.”

This brief exchange was sickening enough. But so was the way in which the audience reacted — or more accurately, did not react.

From the time the question was posed to the time that Trump uttered his terse response, the people seated behind Trump barely batted an eyelid. They simply sat there; several appeared to be smiling.

Also read: Trump in trouble for not stopping anti-Muslim remarks

It was as if the terrible things said in such a shocking back-and-forth were somehow commonplace, and didn’t merit one iota of concern.

Contrast this with Khan’s jalsas, when scores of supporters cheer him on as he thunders about drones or vote-rigging, or even when he grandstands atop a container while saying nasty things about Nawaz Sharif.

These supporters may be endorsing some questionable viewpoints and highly distasteful remarks, but at least they’re not acquiescing in the most base and ugly form of prejudice (this is not to say, alas, that all Khan supporters are unabashed champions of Pakistan’s imperiled religious minorities).

It’s one thing to deal with a man often referred to as Im the Dim. It’s a very different thing altogether to deal with a man who merits the moniker of Donald the Dangerous.

Are there troubling dimensions to the politics of Imran Khan? Absolutely. But are they as troubling as the politics of Donald Trump?

Absolutely not.

So, who should be known as Pakistan’s Donald Trump? I’ll let others answer that question. At any rate, it’s not Imran Khan

You mean the same Taliban Khan whose female supporters were called prostitutes for attending late night jalsa by oh so liberal, secular and anti Taliban parties and their supporters? The same Taliban Khan who was blamed for spreading evil free mixing and fahashi at his concert like jalsas?

You mean the same Taliban Khan who for the first time in Pakistan history has managed to involve diverse group of Pakistani women in record breaking mainstream political struggle and grass root activism?

You mean the same Taliban Khan who is now married to a once upon a time extremely westernised BBC eye candy?

The libtards who call Imran Taliban Khan out of some vendetta or simply because they can't stand man probably have no idea who Talibans are and what terrorism really looks like, if Imran is the Taliban Khan. Such desperate smear campaign is probably the reason why he has survived and is succeeding in Pakistani politics because can see how unfair and unfounded some of the bashing is.

Really, if Imran Khan is a Taliban Khan then why do Pakistan's urban, educated and professional women come out to support him if he is indeed a threat to their social liberties? Young students from prestigious colleges like LUMS, young female doctors, teachers, engineers, artists, housewives, mothers, businesswomen, social workers....why are all these women are stupid enough to support a man who is decapitated as clear threat to their freedom and lifestyles? Half of

I showed clips of Imran's jalsa to my white friend, and I said, look this is 'Islamic Republic of Pakistan', a house full of women some in jeans and shirts, some wearing normal shalwar kameez, some wearing duppatas on their heads, attending late night political gathering which resembles more of a grand street party, waving their hands to national and party songs, all gathered here and channeling a passionate support for a free and fair democracy. Now where do you see the repressive, backward 'sharia state' Pakistan where women are forbidden to play any active role in political movements that likes of Daily Mail love to propagate? Right wing extremist nutters at Daily Mail will get the message if you send them the dharna clips, so I really want to know who do these 'liberals' try to fool when they call him Taliban Khan?

These liberals are the same people who are way more obsessed and outraged with Imran's playboy past than Jamat e Islami's Mullahs. Remember the classic debate - Imran Khan to MQM, your leader is a mass murderer, and MQM liberals are like - Imran Bhai kya baat karte he,* kahan Altaf bhai ke daily mass murders or kahan aapki *glamorous loverboy life. You had consensual sex with a pretty blond woman in your heyday, you deserve to be stoned according to our liberal and secular values, you are a bigger criminal and sinner than all the mass murderers and corruption mafia of Pakistan combined.

This is the true 'liberal' and 'secular' face of those who howl about Taliban Khan the loudest.