Imran Khan; Over a Decade in Politics, Still an Enigma

Re: Imran Khan; Over a Decade in Politics, Still an Enigma

Nahi nahi Shamraz, you cant have your cake and eat it too. Also I did not call anyone a thug and as that was not the discussion here I went along with the title you and others gave them.

Lets discuss Imran in this thread, the one with highest votes for PM on GS in this thread and may be take the PML-Q and Musharraff's alliances else where.

I am not aware of the development projects in Mianwali that are sponsored by Imran Khan, but that is not my fault, for some reason independent media failed to report it.

^^^ He has built a new university in Mianwali all by himself and funds. saw that on BBC.

good read, with some flaws mostly right though. If Imran stick to rules, its not a bad thing, not being practical may not be politically correct, He should have joined Mushy and then he would have been in better position to change things??? most probably he would have been replaced like Jamali.

but in case of Imran replacement, I think that would have been springboard for him to become a national politics hero too by objecting Musharraf then. He didnt forsee thisone.
He want an ideal and just society in Pakistan overnight things dont change. although he is on right path but approach he has taken is slow and steady and didnt really work in Pakistan. now staying away from elections could have been better only if the lota lot PPP and NS stayed with them? but on what basis? to make Imran a hero for next elections? they are good at horse trading so they jumped into it.

He should have stayed away from them at the first place. now his supporters mostly educated who were out to support him and will go to voting mostly first time will again stay home and dont vote at all making any difference and leaving open space for many thugs.

Can you please share the link? I heard that he started some (many?) colleges too, do you have that information as well?

It can't be worse than what Zia, BB, NS and Mush did. Can It?

Interesting! That comes from a person, who claims to have enough knowledge on Imran Khan. Without knowing the fact that even a Channel like CNN has reported on this til carburation.

Imran has been preaching rule of law and independence of judiciary hence the party’s name Tehreek-e-insaaf. Anyone who stands for these principles will get my vote.
Judiciary and constitution has become a joke in Pakistan. The president has kicked out and appointed politicians & judges of his choice. A country where people can be replaced and constitution is just a piece of paper, there should be more people to stand up against the authorities. If that means they are opposing left right and center then that should not be seen as provoking unrest in the country.

Imran should perhaps promise roti, kapRa aur makan to get the mob of Pakistan to vote for his party. Perhaps that’s the vision Pakistanies want to see. That would be a sufficient agenda and plan for the seventy percent illiterate masses of Pakistan.

People who are going to vote in the upcoming elections are going to vote for parties which have been tried and tested. That doesn’t show intellect of a very smart nation.
Lota politicians who are going to participate in the elections will work with the president who practically appointed himself for the next five years. A man who is standing up for principals where the law of jungle prevails should not be stoned.

He did what his boss Zia and his sponsers (at that time) wanted to do. Now customers have gone wild with the sponsers and vice versa, why just blame the original marketing consultant who is fool enough to believe that sponser was sympathizer of the customers. and its unfair with customers that sponser dropped his support in the middle. Sponser got money and power, who listens to these fools. Same will go with the current customers (enlightened modernization victims). Down the road in 2025, teenagers will be saying the same thing for current generation, how fool were we that after what happened in 1951, 65, 71, 79, 88 and 1998, we still thought the sponser and his current marketing consultant (Mush) will not let us down.

In reply to the comments on Imran. His failure in Pakistani politics just proves that he is not willing to dance on Military and beureaucracy’s tune as most of the politicians. His launch and very slow progress also suggests that how hard it is to make an impact on illitrate population in a feudal system without any backing of local chaudhry/waderas or beurocractic machinery. I was almost 99% sure in 2001/2002 that just like ZAB, NS and BB, this is the time millitary will install Messiah in the form of Imran and will use it for a decade and will throw it in garbage like the formers. But I was wrong, Imran has been humiliated by politicians as bacha siyasastdaan, proves his clean hands.

:jhanda:

Exactly, if anybody deserves a chance, it is Imran

He has done far more personally for the people of Pakistan than any leading politician

2 Likes

Why is he not standing in the elections - especially if the country needs him. Or has taken advice and will stick to charity work?

In that case even MQM would have all the blessings of ISI, Taliban, AlKeyda as these guys (ISI chiefs) were architecting politics, Afghanistan resistance and all that at peak during mid 80s.

he was a brilliant sportsman, philanpropist, and ambassador for pakistan. he has become a radical sympathizing scapegoat with little good will. seldom has a man thrown such a position away.

Alas, he has realized his failings, and decided not to take part in the elections before he is humiliated further by not retaining his seat. Good luck to him in his charity work. :k:

he is not standing?

he should just move back to knightsbridge, we could go to tramp together. :D

2 Likes

Ah, the memories. His MMA colleagues will not approve. :D

i like imran khan. but politician he aint. especially not in pakistan.

Huh? Sometimes we hear MQM was created by a Chicago taxi driver, while other times, it's the ISI or RAW. Which is it?

Imran was a tramp?

tramp is a major London nightclub. uncultured lot here.

I agree - well said - too many people criticising from the sides and that is a very easy thing to do yet if Imran was in Musharafs shoes how would he deal with the situations that arose? Theres far too many here who criticise too - easy thing to do but if anyone really cared thy would go out there and make a difference.

I was disappointd Imran Khan did not take part and I thinkhe let his potential voters own. Pakistan needs new blood, new faces, new ideas. Some people may say he was a principled and had pride but he showed it at the wrong time. I think he overestimated his position within the political set-up. H thought he was elevant but sadly he was proved wrong.

I would not say he was rigid in anyway at all - he had no issues swinging with the Maulvis at all and would have swung with others if given the chance.