While reading armughals post in another thread, this question came to my mind. I wana know which one of these two great players would you like to have in your national team and why?.
*Originally posted by funguy: *
While reading armughals post in another thread, this question came to my mind. I wana know which one of these two great players would you like to have in your national team and why?.
:) both are legends but u know what i will do???..... i will take Sachin Tendulkar in my team first, then i will ask Imran Khan to lead both of us : - )
sachin.
some indians think that greek mythology shud have a "god of cricket" like there r gods for everything else....
and guess who wud hold the golden bat of immortality????
yes, none other than tendlia....
well, if there was any such thing, then tendlia wud definitely be under that great god who sits on the throne in mount olympus....
and zeus wud definitely be renamed as 'imran khan'....
or maybe just 'zeus khan' to make it look neater.... :p
Imran Khan, no doubt. He is a winner, and he is a great captain. Not to mention that he is an extremely talented bowler, a very useful batsman and an immensly lucky guy to boot.
SRT is a great batsman, no doubt, but I am doubtful if he is the one I will make to bat if my life depended on it. The jury is still out on his abilities to rescue the team from a dire situation.
Imran Khan without any doubts.
There are other batsmen of Tendulkar's caliber but no one is like Imran Khan, maybe only Gary Sobers.
A great bowler, and a very good batsman, and probably the greatest captain after Steve Waugh and Clive Lloyd.
Imran has won Pakistan a WC, how many WCs has Sachin won India?
The sole purpose of fungus in this innocuous seeming thread is to trigger the usual India-Pak maar-pit and then grab some popcorn and watch from the sidelines.
*Originally posted by Some1: *
The sole purpose of fungus in this innocuous seeming thread is to trigger the usual India-Pak maar-pit and then grab some popcorn and watch from the sidelines.
Well since you have joined the discussion, I'm pretty sure it will come true.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Imran Khan without any doubts.
Now that's a surprise. I was expecting you to choose Tendulkar.
Some1, common yaar, give us KK guppies some credit than that. I asked the question after reading armughal's beautiful comment about Imran in this other thread. ANd to be quite honest, I am having a hard time deciding between the two. I would pick my choice in a little while.
Ok little while is up.
I pick Imran Khan because of his tough mental capabilities in the cricket field.
The pakis will choose Imran, the Indians will choose Tendulkar. End of Story. So much for your "mental capabilities".
On second thoughts, Asif_k might try to side with Imran just to impress everyone of his unbiased judgement.
This is how predictable people's opinions have become on this forum.
Some1, armughal is an Indian and he already picked Imran over Tendulkar. You predicted Asif_k will also pick Imran. This leaves your sorryself with the biased opinion. Wana have some of my mental capabilites?.
Haven't studied this armughal character much. But what I said is generally true if you surveyed a million Indian and a million Pakistani cricket fans with this question.
Some1, acha bhai maaf kerdo yaar. ghalati hogaee. abb niklo iss thread sai. chalo chalo chalo.
Ok before I leave this thread to the morons, here is my personal "unbiased" opinion :
If you want me to choose between Sachin and Imran to play today (i.e. in the year 2003), I would choose Sachin because Imran's bowling might have been good during the era he played in but I suspect he will be effective in today's cricket environment. Infact towards the end of his career Imran Khan was not much of a bowler (much less a batsman) just like Kapil Dev/Botham during their end days. People like to romanticize players from the bygone era...players like Don Bradman...what they forget is the quality of cricket (batting/bowling/fielding) is much improved today compared to the times when these players played in.
Having said all that, if you want me to choose between Sachin/Imran for the "captain" of the team or as a selector. It will difinitely be Imran. Imran has a great knack of discovering and grooming talents plus had/has an excellent temperament and finally great leadership qualities.
Ok before I leave this thread to the morons, here is my personal "unbiased" opinion :
If you want me to choose between Sachin and Imran to play today (i.e. in the year 2003), I would choose Sachin because Imran's bowling might have been good during the era he played in but I suspect he will be effective in today's cricket environment. Infact towards the end of his career Imran Khan was not much of a bowler (much less a batsman) just like Kapil Dev/Botham during their end days. People like to romanticize players from the bygone era...players like Don Bradman...what they forget is the quality of cricket (batting/bowling/fielding) is much improved today compared to the times when these players played in.
Having said all that, if you want me to choose between Sachin/Imran for the "captain" of the team or as a selector. It will difinitely be Imran. Imran has a great knack of discovering and grooming talents plus had/has an excellent temperament and finally great leadership qualities.
You sir, are brilliantly stupid for comparing a retiring Imran Khan to Tendulkar in his prime.
The only moron is out of this thread as soon as you decided to leave.
holds his green passport to the people of gupshup and announces very loudly I AM STILL A PAKSITANI ![]()
and the day i say tendlia is a batsman for crisis u can mark me an indian ![]()
*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
You sir, are brilliantly stupid for comparing a retiring Imran Khan to Tendulkar in his prime.
Take a course in Angrezi and you might understand what I said.
Lemme simplify it for you, I said I will choose Tendulkar of 2003 over Imran of 1982(his prime) for a match to be played in 2003 because the standards today are vastly different from 1982....
Take a course in Angrezi and you might understand what I said.
Lemme simplify it for you, I said I will choose Tendulkar of 2003 over Imran of 1982(his prime) for a match to be played in 2003....
I think its only common sense to compare these two in their prime. No good comparing a 40 ++ guy to a 30 year old.
And before I take a course in angrezi, you need to take a course down history and, and keep out of this thread.
Thank you,
Bye.
And dont let the door hit you on the you know what.