Re: Imran Khan not in favour of cuts in Pakistan’s defence budget
FFBL has partnerships across the world, including South America, Middle East, Europe and Far East. In order to accommodate partners from these places, such meetings are routinely held in various places across the world. Nothing fishy about it.
Board of Directors meetings are held to review accounts and approve them. Nothing to do with business ventures. Business partners are not allowed to attend such meetings anyways The directors are not even executives of a company who make operational decisions. I wonder if they teach how to oversee operations of fertilizer plants in Command and Staff College, Quetta anyways.
I would agree with you if CEO or COO or GMs held such meetings abroad.
Business partners means majority shareholders, and in most cases, overseas directors. Simple concept. Most of our private companies and banks with major foreign shareholders hold BOD meetings overseas...this is not limited to FFBL, unless you have a specific issue with the success of an organization run by the armed forces......(or failure of the plethora of organizations run by civilians)
FFBL bought out a major supplier in Morroco several years ago, and have a major plant there. They have suppliers in other countries as well. They have major investors in other countries as well. Not sure whats so difficult to digest about this.
Business partners means majority shareholders, and in most cases, overseas directors. Simple concept. Most of our private companies and banks with major foreign shareholders hold BOD meetings overseas...this is not limited to FFBL, unless you have a specific issue with the success of an organization run by the armed forces......(or failure of the plethora of organizations run by civilians)
FFBL bought out a major supplier in Morroco several years ago, and have a major plant there. They have suppliers in other countries as well. They have major investors in other countries as well. Not sure whats so difficult to digest about this.
Sorry, no foreign investors or overseas directors in FFBL.
Fauji Foundation and FFC are major shareholders. Unless, you consider people with armed forces background as overseas directors, there aren't any. BTW, which private company held overseeas BOD meeting? Why are you resorting fabrication of facts? :P
They did hold BOD meetings all around the world (Brazil, Spain, Austria, etc), except Morocco. Now please let me know which director belongs to these countries or who is a "major shareholder" from these countries?
I cannot prove with a link, but I know from personal sources that families of the directors were given free vacation in those countries during these so called BOD meeting that are supposed to discuss quarterly financial results.
And yes, I have a major problem with Armed forces running businesses. If they were concentrating on their jobs, we'd all be much better off. The reasons for their so-called 'success' is discussed in post #56.
FFBL is diversifying in the meat export and processing, and Brazil is the one of the biggest meat exporters in the world. There is always a reason.
Other than that, your criticism is laced with bias against the armed forces, which works well to divert attention from the junk that our civilian organizations have devolved into. As they say, apni aankh ka shehteer bhi nazar nahi ata, lekin doosray ki aankh ka tinka bhi nazar a jata hai.
Other than that, your criticism is laced with bias against the armed forces, which works well to divert attention from the junk that our civilian organizations have devolved into.....
Of course it is biased. The contention being that 'armed forces' are not supposed to be in such businesses. They are supposed to provide security for us and that's that. They have failed miserably in recent years, even having had their own installations attacked, badly exposing their competence. They should restrict themselves to what they are paid for. It wouldn't sit nice with me if chaukidar of my house is running a kiryana store while the house gets burgled, no matter how much money he is making out of it.
I am not sure what civilian organizations you are referring to, but civilian government is not supposed to run businesses either. PIA, Steel mills, etc are not supposed to be run by government anyways.