Importing Automobile to Pakistan

A relative of mine is planning to move back to Pakistan in a few months. He is interested in taking his 2000 Toyota Camry XLE with him.

The Car is:
Weight: 3131 lbs.
Engine Size: 2.2 liters

What would the total cost to import the car to Pakistan be? This should include taxes, duty, admin charges, and other fees. Thanks!

I am not sure about the exact figures…but i know that it is easily double of the car’s value. A friend of mine took a mazda miata to pakistan and paid about $20K on top of about 20K he paid for the car for the whole process to complete…and even then the port authorities hassled him for a while. I think it is not the most economic and stress free to go. You can usually find all these cars in islamabad and lahore usually when embassies and international firms hold auctions. For example a cousin of mine just bought a toyota alteeza from a diplomat in islamabad for about the same price that somebody would pay to bring a camry here.

Check out this site for more info Pakistan Customs

Re: Importing Automobile to Pakistan

*Originally posted by hskhan: *
A relative of mine is planning to move back to Pakistan in a few months. He is interested in taking his 2000 Toyota Camry XLE with him.

The Car is:
Weight: 3131 lbs.
Engine Size: 2.2 liters

What would the total cost to import the car to Pakistan be? This should include taxes, duty, admin charges, and other fees. Thanks!

I'm not aware of the exact figures either, but as far as I know the custom tax for importing a car can be up to 300% of the car's value.

Oh my. Thats alot. I remember in the 80s my dad brought a Mazda 323 from japan, and it was a mere $8000 compared to today's price.

Kaka Malang, thats a good idea, but finding a Camry XLE is very hard. He has already searched for a camry, and only found 1, but it was a CE.

I guess he'll have to research more into it.

Thanks to all!

Why would someone wanna do that when they can easily smuggle the same and have its new registration made for even half price

Just kidding but why would you when you have many other better options?

*Originally posted by salman_2you: *
Why would someone wanna do that when they can easily smuggle the same and have its new registration made for even half price

Just kidding but why would you when you have many other better options?

I agree. Probably it would be much wiser to buy a car in Pakistan. Agar imported car ki show off maarni hai, then you'll have to pay the price for it. :)

the problem is, pakistan has no directory of car dealers. so its almost impossible to find a toyota camry. i originally thought it was 4 or 5 thousand only, so it was better to import than search.

but after hearing what you guys said, i think it will be better to look for a car inside pak.

if anyone has a website, or tele contact for a directory of cars , pls lemme know. thanks

Buying a car in Pakistan is such a fun thing... especially if you are buying new. There is no such thing as zero percent financing, no leases are advertised, no bank financing to stop you, no trade-in values or Kelly Blue Book to confuse you. Just pay the whole price in cash, and drive the car home.

The recent status symbols for upper middle class folks in Pakistan remains Honda Civic (with automatic and sunroof) and Toyota Corolla. Apparently sunroof and automatic are the "in" thing in Pakistan. The prices are fixed by the company, and if you don't want to wait for the new car and instead want to buy rightaway, you pay a few thousand rupees as premium to the dealer who has them in stock.

For really rich people, the status symbols remain imported Bimmer or Merc or SUV (Land Cruiser, Pajero etc). And for remaining middle class it is Boleno, Cultus and assorted hatchbacks, including the Uno from Fiat et al.

Importing a Camry is not advised, especially if it is left-hand drive. Legally it is not permissible to drive a left-hand drive car in Pakistan, because the traffic is on the left side of the road. Plus, getting any kind of spare parts will be a nightmare and not many mechanics will be familiar with V-6 engines.

Thus its said... live in Rome, like Romans do. Be Pakistani, buy in Pakistan :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Buying a car in Pakistan is such a fun thing... especially if you are buying new. There is no such thing as zero percent financing, no leases are advertised, no bank financing to stop you, no trade-in values or Kelly Blue Book to confuse you. Just pay the whole price in cash, and drive the car home.

Kaunse zamaane ki baat kar rahe ho? Leasing a car in Pakistan has become very common recently. It's still a new thing there, but at least it's an available possibility and people are using it massively.

re

After thinking about it, he has decidednot to import the camry, but rather buy a car locally. He has his eyes set on a 94/95 BMW 540I. Now the question we all feared : Know of anyplace where he can buy one?

This friend/uncle of yours will be well advised to first visit Pakistan.. and then think about the sort of car he wants to maintain there!

BMW 540i ??? Sheesh! About the only BMW imported into Pakistan is 316i (which is probably the smallest 3 series built by BMW) and they are only driven by the richest of rich playboys there. The extra-ordinary rich people drive around in C-class Merc and everyone turns their head to check out the car. The very very rich (or diplomats) drive S-class (very few E-class in Pakistan). I can count the number of 7-series in Pakistan on the fingers of one hand and have not seen a 5-series except in Islamabad.

Most 'normal' people in Pakistan, with a lot of money will drive a Honda Civic or Corolla. If they are off-roaders (jageerdars or plain old show-offs) then a Mitsubishi Pajero or Toyota Land Cruiser will do the trick.

Faisal Bhai, the 540I is nothing. Im talking about the 94/95 model. You can buy a used one for 14k easily.And thats canadian. The reason he picked this is because it’s cheap. The money he gets from selling the camry, will be more than enough for a 540I. The 3 series is also another choice.

a 94/95 540i >

http://photoserver1.trader.ca/autotrader/WebPhoto/Large/2424882.jpeg

I have spotted several 94/95 540Is in karachi, but have never seen them at dealerships.

He is not in Pakistan, nor does he plan on going there anytime soon. He has a newphew in Pakistan who will do the searching for him.

Faisal Bhai, do you have any contacts that could help in finding a 540I, or any 3 series.

Also, how much would a 3 series cost?

Bhai meray… I know 94/95 540i is ‘nothing’ because you are thinking from a Canadian perspective. You don’t find any 5-series in the dealerships in Pakistan because there is no dealership which sells it. BMW 3-series are/were imported by Redco group which provided part and service support, hence they became quite popular amongst the nouve riche. Redco group was owned by Saif-ur-Rehman Khan, a political big shot in NS govt. and hence I don’t know if the dealership is still there, as they were quite a fishy operation, in the first place.

The 540’s u saw in Karachi are those which shauqeen-mizaaj people imported from UK (or other right-hand countries). They are individually imported by the person and you won’t find any dealership support in Pakistan. I had a friend in school whose dad had a Mercedes G-series SUV. He had imported it from UK, and anytime, anything went wrong with the SUV or it needs a replacement part, the request will go all the way to Singapore or Germany or UK and the car will remain garaged for weeks at a time. Shauq hai tau log kartay hein, but its a big inconvenience. Ultimately he tried to sell it but there were no buyers.

Your uncle will be well-advised to get a fully-loaded Civic (which is a very nice status symbol in Pakistan), it will cost him 13 lakhs or so, and is fully loaded with sun-roof, automatic, power windows et al. Plus its fully supported by extensive Honda dealership network all over Pakistan. The money he saves he should invest elsewhere. Plus buying a Toyota Corolla or Civic is a good investment as they will hold their value much better than a not-found-elsewhere-BMW whose only buyers are really rich and really shauqeen car-lovers.

BMW 3-series, when they are brought new (in early 90’s) was about Rs 30+ lakhs. It must have increased a lot now. Anyway, here is the info for you:

Scroll down and you will see the contact info for Redco in Islamabad.

Thanks Faisal Bhai, you know your Pakistani-BMW relations well ;). i'll recommend him the civic, lets see what he does.