Important: Preparation for GIKI

Salam and happy ramzan to all,
I have done my F.Sc obtaining 860 marks. Now my aim is to get to GIKI . Please help me in my preparation by giving suggestions, tips, information and book names which can help me in my preparation. Also can I study myself or should I go to some preparation center.
The test is in june 2005 but I want to prepare from now.
Waiting for response..

AOA ,
GIKI 's test is very conceptual. It's very tuff to get to this uni as they have less number of seats. Their test is based on SAT . So grab SAT book of Physics and Maths & prepare with it. The SAt books do contain some extra topics than FSC , so dont go for them. It's better to master FSC course first , then u may do those extra topics.
Also there r some E-Cat books available in the market , they r also good.
As far as test prep centers r concerned they r expensive but it's a good option. They guide th estudent in evry way.

Thanks for guidance
Inshallah I will try my best

hello irfan85,

as badar says, giki's test is based on SAT. its a good idea to prepare for SAT at this time in your life, because most entrance tests in pakistan are based on SAT. thats how i prepared for them (six years ago).

in my time it used to maths, physics and english (no chem). the english part is harder than average. Im not sure how the test is now. i found it relatively simple, though it is still difficult to get into.

choose the faculties you want to get into carefully. EE/CS are very competetive, and usually the cream of the crop goes there. Mechanical is second most competetive, but they're the ones who get the best jobs upon graduation. Metallurgy, engineering sciences are less so. its very hard to switch majors once youre admitted, only toppers can do it, so be sure to get your priorities right beforehand and work accordingly :).

jobs wise, mechanical is safest and most rewarding. when i graduated (2002) the average pay of the ME grads was around 40k. all the mutinational companies that come to GIKI on graduation day either prefer or exclusively hire ME grads. second safest was CS (even in this market), almost everyone got jobs, avg pay 18k. EE had a bad year when I graduated. Metallurgy has niche jobs in the government sector, and some pharma/paint companies. ES is the least good jobs wise, but they counteract that by either becoming CS clones or EE clones (taking extra courses)

giki's hostel life is absolutely amazing. the enviorment is the best part of attending that school. truly the greatest experience of my life. but if you're into CS, then these days LUMS is supposedly the mecca.

good luck!

Thanks ravage for very helpful info.
I am from quetta and there are two scholarships for baluchistan. Do you think i can get one??
Further should I prepare math 1c or math2c
Kindly reply

sure irfan.. inshallah. be prepared for some competition though, from what i remember.

im not sure about math 1c and 2c :). i just did two or three sat prep books and was okay.

giki is not as good as it once used to be, damn the guy who taught me pascal is the cs head there ! lol to that and one of our prof's left giki to join my univ and he says the same thing, but good luck to you any wayz

Thanks again ravage.
BTW fatalist which univ are you in??
Ravage which field r u in and what is your payscale [if you dont mind ;)]

irfan, i dont mind. im a student right now at USC. when i graduated from GIKI i got a job in karachi for 14k.. but that particular job was more for the experience at a good place, and I knew i was leaving in three months anyway..

what is true is that GIKI - CS/EE has been hit very hard lately by migration of teachers. that was the situtation when i graduated, im not sure how it is now. you should definitely check that out. ME is still very good though, I recommend that if you are applying to GIKI.

but GIKI's strength has always been its students. they tend to go abroad anyway, atleast as far as CS/EE/ES/MM is concerned and so the focus in on research oriented final year projects as opposed to more market oriented programs such as FAST.

Thanks ravage.
In the mean time, I must congratulate you all specially ravage on the happy momment of eid. May Allah bless all of us and guide us in the right path whether it is our proffesional life or religious life.
Nothing is possible without his help.
HAPPY EID MUBARAK TO YOU ALL

Dear ravage,
Yes you are right. I have also noticed that GIKI students tend to go abroad. There was a friend of my brother ahmed raza (maybe you know him). He had a job of 15000 here. Now just some months ago he went to germany for further studies.
I have also heard and noticed that GIKI students are always preferred in jobs as compared to other universities. You know NAAM HI KAAFI HAI.
Thats why, I have a dream of going to giki

ud be better off with 2C. but the math wont be THAT difficult. however im pretty sure ull need the concepts. 2c covers most of 1c and more

Yesterday I went to market and bought both of them. I think I should study both. Some topics are covered in 1c while 2c is more about functions. They are both important. But Demesne is right because majority of colleges require 2c for admissions.