Immigration question...

I know that while you’ve filed a petition for permanent residence to US for your relatives like parents, siblings etc, and the petition is pending, they usually don’t get a visit visa while the petition is pending. But what if they already got the visit visa, say, for 5 years and then you file petition for them? They shouldn’t have any problem entering US since they got the visit visa BEFORE you filed petition for them, right?

Can someone please share their experience/story if they have gone through this themselves or have heard something on this topic? Thanks in advance.

Re: Immigration question...

Roman, udas na ho, thoray din vaseline se kaam chala :D

Re: Immigration question…

^^ :smilestar:, gadhay aadmee, he is talking about his parents and siblings

roman

my aunt had petitioned for my parents and they have been coming to US on visit visas throughout. even after the petition, the only time its recommended thatthey dont travel is when there case is up and in process i.e. theya re waiting for the interview and everything else is done.

its not unique for UK citizens as my sisters inlaws were in a similar situation and they did the same throughout the time from when the petition was filed to when the interview letter came. they travelled on Pak passports.

Thanks Fraudia, that's helpful.

I don't think there is any rule which prevents from travelling on a visit visa while there is a pending PR application. As a matter of fact I know people who have received visit visa while they had a pending application. Obviously they didn't mention in their visit visa application form that they have already applied for a PR application, because in that case there is often a chance of refusal of visit visa application. But in your case, you parents should be ok since they already had the visa prior to applying for PR application. As long as the visa is valid and not cancelled on their passports, they should be fine.

Re: Immigration question…

acha ji???

aankh jo kuch dekhti hai lab pe aa sakta nahi :smiley: haina roman

ashie, give me one good reason I should stop you if you're making a presumptuous a$s out of yourself. :D