Imli Chutney recipe

How does one make it??

Re: Imli Chutney recipe

take sum imli pulp...add in about 2 cups of water+ zeera+salt+brown sugar or normal sugar+ red chilli flakes...let it cook on slow heat till it becomes thick!

How much pulp?? Do i use the whole packet??

I tried this one recently and it was total yum!! Its a bit different than how my ammi makes it but i really liked the taste of this one.
Imli Chutney (Tamarind Dip) Recipe - Pakistani Sauce/Chutney/Pickle - Fauzia’s Pakistani Recipes - The Extraordinary Taste of Pakistan

Im confused now :(

isnt there a simple simple recipe

LB... I just take some imli water. Or if you don't have that. Then just talke like half packet of imli, add almost 2-2.5 cups of water and put it on heat. Break the pulp while it is in the water and on heat. Keep the heat to mediumish heat and cook for like 30 mins. This way you i'll be able to extract most from the pulp. Then strain the mixture. Make sure you get all the liquid out of the pulp. Put that water back in the pot, add sugar or brown sugar, salt, red pepper, and little chaat masala. Let it cook on medium low heat for atleast 30 mins. If you feel the need of cooking it longer, cook another 15-20 mins. But be careful because the chutney thickens up a little bit when it cools down.

You can also get imi paste from desi grocery store. Take 4-6 tbsp of the imli paste mix it in water, put the water on heat, add your sugar, salt, red pepper... and let it cook for 30 mins or so...

You can do little variations too..i.e. add little ketchup while cooking... gives a yumious taste...

If you want to make lot of chutney only then use the whole packet other wise use less....

Thanks Lusi that sounded easy.

So you throw away the pulp??

If the pulp still tastes khatta that means if you want you can add little more water and take more juice out of it, if you don't want then just throw it away. If you decide to take more juice out second time don't add too much water...maybe like 1/4-1/2 cup

ADRA...wont u be able to get some tamarind/imli concentrate from Indian stores there..??

they are the easiest solutions to making imli chutney....it doesnt have any seeds etc so u wont have to strain it later on...just take some concentrate and add some water(to thin it out as its quite thick) and salt ,red chillies,sugar/brown sugar and zeera seeds and cook till the required consistency...
to prevent it from going bad if u are not going to consume all soon,add a few tsp of white vinegar to it....

Use equal quantity of tamarind pulp and dates. Add water chilli pwder and sugar as needed. boil till thick. Strain

Adding very thinly sliced red onion and peppers to the imli chutney tastes really good ooo and grated carrots. Oh and the ketchup thing is cool too.

Oh cool im going to be in Imli heaven.

chips we hardly get imli, i dont think there will be any pastes :(

At our homes we never cook imli chutney. My mother used to do like this: Separate the seeds and grind it on sil batta with some mint, red whole chillies, zera and salt.

Its quite yummy when eaten with arhur ki kitchri.

^^ arhur kitchri...what is that??

Have you heard of toor daal? Its made of toor daal and rice.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/288703-arhur-ki-kitchri-kacchay-aam-ki-chutni.html

^^ Ok thanks..

the way fatee makes imli chutney is:

imli pulp 1 tsp + 2 tbsp water + honey + chat masala.

done.

imli+sugar+salt+red chilli+water,mix all these things n put them on heat,aur jab thick ho jahy to utar do,simple
my teachr told me this recipe n its taste is realy good
sari things apnay taste kay mutabik use karo
tip;;;;;;;;;;agar imli ki chatni khati lagay to uss mah salt add kar dain,salt say khatas kum ho jati hai

pastes are so much easier and tastes just as good IMO.