Imagine a life...

Re: Imagine a life...

What is the point of having an opinion if it is weak? ;)

This is the way I live. Have always lived. I particularly hate lipstick. The smell the taste, the look. My lips are already plenty red, and why on earth should my lips match my outfit??

Re: Imagine a life…

Yes, but this sort of thinking is promoted and planted in women.

Hubby comes home to go to dinner party.

He is hungry.

She is busy and taking her sweet time to do make up. Trying her matching shoes, purse etc.

He is pacing.

Poor guy gets to see her few minutes. Has to approve of how she looks. Otherwise further delay.

She is still fixing her make up in the car while he is driving.

She mingles with women friends to show off.

He focuses on food,…other women maybe ;).

They come home.

She takes her make up off.

What did he get out of it??? :frowning:

diwana ji, were those other women he may have focused on wearing make up? if they were, then the circle of life is complete, fikar na kare.

^ Make up /no make up, ...........men will still look at women. ;)

whatever guys....I just finished putting all the blingy stuff away. I think I need a break from all that stuff for at least 1 year. I won't buy anything, won't put on any make-up on and won't wear any blingy clothes and any jewellery from now on.

I wanna live my life without all the concerns about doing my facial and hair and blah blah. Instead, I'm gonna go and do bungee jumping, para gliding, rowing, deep water diving etc.

I don't wear too much makeup on a daily basis, my clothes aren't that trendy but nice, I don't wear much jewelery and I imagine nail varnish isn't a part of many Muslim women lives (teh ones who pray regularly) that they'll miss it.

and you don't have to own a designer bag, I don't know about UK but here, u can get a purse anywhere from $5, 15, 50, to 5000+. of course the quality and style differs but cheap options still exist.

But why are these things mutually exclusive?

Why can't you help people AND wear nice things AND go bungee jumping/paragliding etc? I get you can't wear a dress and makeup and heels while doing those activities, but theres'a time and place for everything no?

Wearing makeup or taking care of your appearance, doesn't make you a shallow person, nor is someone who doesn't engage in those things a better person than someone who doesn't.

I know that but for me it's too much time and money consuming...probably coz it doesn't come to me naturally, matching clothes with jewellery etc is like a chore for me.

For me, it's either everything or nothing. Now that I've been building up my wardrobe for a year I can't stop thinking about it All the time and can't stop buying stuff. I'm an extremist. :/

^ It's not about sainthood, and you are right that these things don't have to be mutually exclusive.

But I believe, and this is solely my personal opinion, that if you focus too much on outward appearance you get carried away and don't have enough time to focus on the 'inner makeup'. Plus, if we are spending a fortune on materialistic stuff that we don't really need, then we are tossing away money that could have been useful for someone else.

Of course just like SGC said, you can balance these things and own one designer bag instead of tonnes of them. The main thing is that please don't let these things distract you from the real purpose of life. Or to think that you have to have these things to feel good or confident about yourself. Apne apne rujhaan ki bhi baat hoti hai.

^yep, that's exactly how I'm feeling these days, getting into this stuff too much.

I don't really wear makeup on a daily basis anymore...I wear makeup on the weekends for parties and even then I don't wear a whole lot of it. I am NOT into dramatic makeup on myself at all. It barely shows up in pictures and most people tell me I don't look different without it.

I am working on getting my skin to a point where makeup is no longer necessary and I can just skip it altogether.

Its true, you focus soooooooooo much on these things sometimes that you forget what's really important.

everything in moderation should be ok. But it's true if you start dwelling on these things a bit too much ...chances are you would become an obsessed shopaholic.

People say to me all the time that I don't wear much makeup, I don't dress up like a nayi naveli dulhan rolls eyes. I believe in subtle stuff and makeup that makes you look nice but not flashy or OTT. But I do at least do this much to keep myself feeling good and presentable.

lets say she didnt do any make up and ate and didnt socialize and came home with ape..i mean hubby. hubby gets nothing more that he'd get if wifey had make up on. wife gets less than she got with make up and socializing. so she's grumpy and tells ape his mom is annoying. and the games begin..

Make a story with less variables and assumptions maybe? :chai:

Make up/no make up: She will still say his mom is annoying from experience on life1. :stuck_out_tongue:

mmm i just quoted you back your own story pal. but good find. :wink: :smiley:

story cntd.: his mom finds his wife’s make up kit and embraces it. but alas she is a couple of shades fairer than her bahu, so she’ll have to buy her own foundation. bummer.

Good for you! :biggthumb: (And anyway, if it’s all about being attractive to men, what kind of man do you want to be attractive to? The kind who wants a painted doll who looks like the sister of an airbrushed magazine photo, or the one who thinks a bungee-jumping, paragliding, rowing, deep water-diving woman is HOT?)

Exactly! So, why do you even bother, Diwana?

i don’t wanna attract any sort, i’m married and mom of 3 kids. : D

I’ve noticed in recent years people have started to give a lot more importance to “be presentable”, people won’t serve you nicely in shops if you don’t make yourself look “presentable”. So instead of going to the mall why not go to the woods where no one’s gonna bother about your looks and clothing.

Being presentable and being fashion forward are not the same, you can be the former without buying new things all the time. As RV stated, moderation b but do update us on how the minimalist lifestyle works out!

Me bothered? Of what? ;)