I heard this statement recently:
The more beautiful you are, the more self conscious you become
What do you think? Is it true or false?
Re: Image
The Game Responds:
*Oh, I can so identify with that :smokin: . Really. People, That Is All.*
very true
If that was true, then i’d be a supermodel ![]()
No I dont think thats true.
Yes I do feel that is true to a great extent. You are constantly stared at by men and women, children are awed by you, your every move is scrutinized, everything you say is listened to in fascination, your sense of style/fashion is emulated, etc. It’s a rather unique, egoistic view, nonetheless, beautiful people do “suffer” alot in terms of conscientousness.
*Originally posted by moona: *
Yes I do feel that is true to a great extent. You are constantly stared at by men and women, ...
As long as I am not stared by men, I am OK with this nuisance that comes with being gorgeous looking.
I think its some for alot of people, but not all. My fiance is convinced she is ugly, even though she is the presttiest girl. ever. (i may be bias ;) )
~~
What about people who are perceived of as conventionally unattractive? Wouldn't they have a self-conscious problem? Why is it reserved for conventionally attractive people? What about those who, for example, have an amputated limb or needed reconstructive surgery for a face burn - they'll still get stared at and isn't that likely, perhaps, to make them feel additionally self-conscious about themselves?
coconut yaar, you know my answer to that ![]()
bara ishtiyaq hai app ko dekhna ka moona baji.. kabhee apni pic zaroor post kijeay ga.
*Originally posted by CocoNut: *
I heard this statement recently:
The more beautiful you are, the more self conscious you become
FALSE....
Those of you who took the time and liberty to answer, thank you. now answer me why did you choose to answer that?
Well, I think this is true to an extent. I have seen my female cousins and also my brother who is quite goodlooking going through such a phase( for some it lasts forever). Well, its true that these people are beauty conscious.
I on the other hand being an ordinary looking person never fret about any such thing. I give a daym what other people think of my style, of how I carry myself, what my hair style is, whether the marks left by pimples tarnish my beauty, lol.
However, there isn't anything wrong if you are conscious of your beauty... if you want to keep yourself uptodate, spick and span....
Also, keeping in line with what I wrote earlier, what makes a beautiful person self-conscious is that she is viewed by everyone to be “perfect” and once that “stigma” is attached to her, she strives, more so than other people, to ensure that she lives up to this perfection standard. Once she is placed on the proverbial pedestal, if she comes crashing down, it’s a shock to the people around her. Now if that isn’t pressure, I don’t know what is.
its the other way around.
Once she is placed on the proverbial pedestal, if she comes crashing down, it's a shock to the people around her. Now if that isn't pressure, I don't know what is.
Mona , point well taken. That is indeed pressure. However, if one is humble than the other people would not expect much from him/her. On the contrary if one has a supercilious attitude then naturally people tend to have expectations from such people ....
imho the most beautiful person is one who possesses innocent beauty and does not know how beautiful they are
some of the beggar girls i have seen all dirty and begging in the streets back home in pakistan are beautiful mashallah but they are so unassuming and seem to be completely unaware of their beauty and that is what makes them truly beautiful
i know some ppl who are mashallah stunning but they are just unaware of how beautiful they are and that just makes their beauty so much more sincere and real
imho when someone is conscious of their beauty and thinks and knows that they are beautiful they lose that which makes a person truly beautiful…the earnestness and sincerity that shines outwardly but comes from within…which is only achieved by the humility of the soul…
woh kia hay kay, jub khuda husn daita hay tau nazakat aahee jaatee hay.
one does not have to be beautiful to be self-consious. the attitude of being self-consious does not develop cause' the person has a magic mirror which constantly reminds him/her that 'you are soo beautiful' or 'you are so not-so-pretty' 'that i think u should do something about it'; .....wholaa there you have a self-consious person.
being self-consious is a characteristic of a person regardless of his/her looks.
normally teens go through this.. and feel as if everybody is staring at them and blah blah...and generally they grow out of it and realize that ppl actually have better things to do.
:k: now thats beautiful..