I'm scared of driving a vehicle

Re: I'm scared of driving a vehicle

No, go for automatic. It'll be much easier to learn. Once you have your license then maybe learn manual.

In the UK if you take lessons and pass in an automatic car, then you can only drive automatic and not manual. Whereas if you pass in a manual car, then you will be able to drive an automatic car later on, if you wish to.

^ That's silly. I still suggest learning automatic.

its a mental block. and like all mental blocks, you have to take them head on.

You rack disiprin!!!

I'm the same way. How do you manage with the three boys, Hareem?

bus, cab. :/

Re: I’m scared of driving a vehicle

Thanks all for help. I’ll start my lessons from next year Feb/Mar inshallah…preferably using an automatic car.

can’t wait to pass the test and get over my fears…and can’t wait to have this car (a used one of course).

Don't do automatic. I don't know anyone in the UK who has done their lessons/test in an auto car.

It will be much harder to learn manual and you'll probably never even get around to doing it.... but it's a skill every driver should have. Anyone who has learnt manual can drive automatic but not vice versa. You'll also have a better understanding of the car and how it works if you learn in manual.

I had a female instructor and she was excellent. I recommend her for my cousin who was starting her lessons at 17 and who had a very nervous disposition. She gave her so much confidence that she got really into it and she passed pretty quickly. You just need to find someone who doesn't faff around and just makes you drive.

omg! i can so relate to this. I feel so embarrassed of not knowing how to drive, now i have a baby and maybe in UK you have options like cabs and buses but in the US, not all cities have cabs or buses, most people drive here and its impossible to even think of getting anywhere without a car or knowing how to drive! its like being handicapped if you dont know how to drive here. i tried learning from my husband, it was an awful experience that ended up in a fight, me in tears and husband in a very bad mood! :( please give me some good tips, i really want to drive and be independent, how can i overcome this fear? whenever i drive, my hands start sweating until the steering wheel is wet :( and i can feel my heart beating faster, i think i have some kind of phobia, when i see teenagers and old people driving, i feel so embarrassed, how can i be confident and drive like everyone else?

so what? 90000000000000000000 other women on the road dont know how to drive. Does it bother them? NO

PS:

On serious note, take driving classes. Dont let psyah teach you. I tried teaching my wife and everytime I told her something in a bit of commanding voice, I had to buy a box of tissue to wipe her tears and pair of shoes to make it up :smack:

Lol!

My dad taught me the basics. So I could drive before proper lessons. He has a short temper and expects you do get things right instantly. But our nature’s are the same. So if he’d shout at me, I’d either just ignore it and do what I was doing or shout back :halo:

But seriously, finding a good instructor, one who is confident themselves and passes on that confidence is the key.

guys, I’m getting the provisional license and will be taking lessons in few weeks…thanks for all the support…especially redvelvet. :k:

Enroll yourself in a driving school. It won't take forever and it'll help build your confidence. As for your fear of losing control of the vehicle.....the car just does what you want it do. In a way it's more secure than riding a bike where you have to learn how to balance your body on two wheels. I don't think that the car itself is dangerous, rather it's the drivers' judgment (following or not following road rules) that has a greater impact on safety. Start off small.....practice driving in an empty parking lot...and then maybe in your neighborhood and places closer to your home..and when you feel more confident...branch out a bit more. Plus, I think it's easier to learn from a professional instructor than a family member or your spouse. The latter can be impatient...whereas the former tends to be more patient and is trained in handling driving fears.

Im scared 2 :smack: even though when i took classes, my instructor told me i was one of her best students ever as my control at the steering was real good. But i just have this fear that i wl loose control when in traffic so yah :bummer:.

It's getting lost that makes me more uneasy than the vehicle...I suck at directions, lol.

i m good with directions bt dnt know if driving makes u forget the directions :D.

I'm terrible at directions too! I don't think there's a corner of this city I haven't seen because I get turned around so much. SatNav/GPS was made for me :D

And driving is quite liberating - it gives you a sense of independence that you wouldn't otherwise enjoy.

I’ve heard driving in Lahore is very difficult even for the well trained and experienced drivers.

nai aisi baat nahi hai, i think its just me :bummer:.