I'm Married!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Story of Mayoun, Dinner, and Shaadi and Brunch!

Re: I'm Married!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Story of Mayoun, Dinner, and Shaadi and Brunch!

Congrats! Thanks for sharing in such great detail.

Re: I'm Married!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Story of Mayoun, Dinner, and Shaadi and Brunch!

congrats...u looked gorgeous on all da dayz... i loved ur mayun decor! u made a gorgeous bride! mashallah!

Congratualtions! I loved how amazing your wedding sounds!

That was so so so much fun to read through! Congratulations on your marriage!!!! :D

congratulation! you looked lovely.

Re: I’m Married!!! Story of Mayoun, Dinner, and Shaadi and Brunch!

I feel so overwhelmed by all of your responses!!! :blush: Thank you so much! I am glad everyone enjoyed reading about my story and also liked the pictures!!! Do not worry - I will post the story behind my Walima tonight as well :slight_smile: Pics as well…

I want to personally thank and respond to all you girls… so don’t mind me…

Thank you so much! I wanted to go for a very traditional look for my mayoun…minimal makeup and simple suit! Stay tuned for my walima dress pic :wink:

thanks so much hun! I remember you and all of our discussions on the perfect colors for bridal dresses… I’m glad my events turned out so well as well…but everything just goes by so quickly ..like a blink of an eye!!! I think thats why i can’t wait for the videos and pics to come… i want to enjoy all my events again. For the girls about to get married…take all of veteran brides advice and ENJOY your event please!! It flies bye!!!

When I think about my rukhsati …i still get teary eyed… writing about it made me cry all over again. Good thing my hubby was sleeping as i typed away..lol

Thank you! Yes… when my father said “tu meri jaan hai..” it was like game over… i was a horrid mess during my rukhsati! Ameen to your duas!!!

Thank you for your warm wishes!!

Walima story is coming tonight…stay tuned…

Awe thank you. So sweet :hugz:

I’m not sure if i shared who made my pink maxi - it was DE FLAIR - saiqa baji made it and you can find her on facebook. I just came across De Flair randomly online and omg…it was just a lucky thing. She sent me matching churiyan with the maxi as well..she is a sweetheart to work with. You are very welcome and i am glad you enjoyed my story! I chose dark teal for my bridesmaids bc it contrasts well with red and does not give the “christmas” effect u get with red and green!

Ameen! Thank you!

Thanks hun!

Thank you Gina!!! And thank you for ALL of the amazing tips you have given to brides and girls… your beauty tips have not only helped my freelancing as a makeup artist but also helped me so much on my own wedding day… Bobbi Brown Foundation Stick is unbelievable as a base!!!

Hahaha… thank you!! I am glad you liked my decorations!! My mom said that when they came home and saw the house all decorated they all started crying again because they knew I had decorated and now i was no longer there :frowning: It’s been a month since my mayoun…and now they are slowly starting to take hte decorations down…

I bought most of the decoration thingies from the dollar store!!! Dollar store zindabad!!! :smiley:

Thank you!

You are completely correct that my maxi was based off this!!! DE FLAIR - specifically Saiqa Baji replicated that anarkali into a maxi for me and it turned out gorgeous…its more stunning in real life!!!

Stay tuned for my Walima look..its completely different from all of my others!!!

Thank you and I am glad you like the decorations! Decorating is fun and it makes me realize that even though we have a harder time here in the west with these sort of things…it IS doable…and one can get great ideas from GS!!!

Thank you! And yes…i will ALWAYS remember those days fondly… in fact it is because my little brother (the one who gave the speech) helped me so much during this time period…and then he said such touching words - is why i started crying so much on the stage. I’ll always remember this time period! I will laugh and cry im sure

You are welcome! And thank you for your luvely compliment. My bridesmaids were a mixture of friends…a few were childhood friends..others were friends I made during college..others were friends i made during law school… all of them are the closest to me and AMAZING unbelievable girls… they all live in different states…different cities…most of them had never even met each other..but they coordinated so well with each other..they threw me an amazing bachelorette weekend in NYC and all flew for Buffalo for the shaadi…bought the sarees themselves…bought maching accessories…and were such a help to me and my family during the shaadi period… i am very lucky mA to have such great friends!

Thank you Reha and omg so do I!!! Proof that something does not need to be designer in order for one to love it and for it to be beautiful! My khalaa did a fabulous job having that made by her local tailor!

Thank you!

Thank you and you are very welcome!

Hahah thank you and omg hun I know u do an amazing job doing eyemakeup yourself!!! My base was the kamaal of a good moisturizer (NO SPF), Smashbox photofinish primer, and applying my Bobbi Brown Foundation Stick with my SIGMA flat top kabuki f80 foundation brush!!! I used bare minerals mineral veil hydrating transluscent powder to set it all. I used different golds, maroons, browns, and black eyeshadows to create my eye look - all MAC and LANCOME. Bobbi Brown black Gel liner. And Urban Decay false lashes (bought online from sephora).

I hoped that helped somewhat!!

Thank you and Ameen to your duas!! Doing my own makeup was good for me.. i like having control haha. It really helped me stay calm actually!

InshAllah will post pictures and story about Valima experience soon! I am very blessed to have a very luving and supportive family and friends. It made the whole experience memorable. Definitely do your own makeup for your wedding!!! You have tons of time to practice and yes…its more intimate..you have more control… you can buy and use all of hte products …and then have them all afterwards as well! For me it was very calming to be in control of my look.

Time truly does fly! I can’t believe its almost been a month since mine! Thank you and congrats to you as well! Ameen to your duas and I wish the same to you! Definitely post your story too! It will be amazing to read! I always find them so nice, touching, and helpful!

Malaika is amazing and super sweet. She does keep her word and her work is of superb quality as you mentioned…i would recommend her to all of gupshup!!!

She also did my Wallima dress..will post the story and pics soon :smiley:

You are very welcome and I am glad you liked everything! :hugz:

Thank you! And i would like to think I made the right decision!

You are welcome! The detail is what I loved so much in other’s stories about their wedding days..so I had to do the same!

Thank you!

My wedding seems like it was a blurr…but yes it was amazing … thank you so much!

I’m glad you enjoyed! Make sure to read about my walima too when I post that!

Thank you!

Some girls have PMed me with some questions and I thought it would be best if I addressed it here!

1. I did not do ANY of my shopping myself at all! Except for buying a few pairs of shoes from ALDO, clutches, and makeup from my side and helping Malaika design both Shaadi Dress & Walima dress. I also ordered my brunch dress (from our side) from DE FLAIR. Other than this ... i had no say in anything. My khalaa's did my shopping in Lahore... originally i planned on going but did not get the time off from work...then my mom wanted to go but she hurt her back... so the shopping was all my khalaas choice and she did a great job. Some were ready made, others stitched from the cloth that my mom sent over there. I got a variety of outfits - 21 ...shararas, ghararas, dawats suits, heavy suits, peshwas, maxis, lehngas. I also received 15 sarees from my side. Some were bought in lahore, others ordered from online, others are from india brought back by family friends. My parents also gave me an entire luggage set.

2. Even my wedding jewelry and other sets i received - i had no idea what they looked like until like 3 weeks before my wedding when my naani came from Pakistan and brought them. I received a lot of gold.....i honestly dont know how it happened. 3 big sets from my parents ..2 small ones.. and then other sets added up that relatives gave me.

3. For my Bari- I received 15 outfits total... all heavy. 3 of them are HSY. 3 are very heavy sarees. I received like an entire huge thaal of bangles from them...like 3284902340283!!!! I'm stocked for life. 5 pairs of heels I think, 5 fancy clutches, and a basket full of makeup, perfume, and other various beauty items. It was really luvely and the presentation was gorgeous. I also received a lot of jewelery from their side as well.... they also gave me an entire luggage set. So i think im set for life in regards to luggage. haha.

But yea... basically i had no say in any of my shopping on both ends. I didnt really think it was a big deal... i had my say in my wedding dresses and my brunch dress from our side... that was good enough for me. Too much unnecessary drama is created if too much interference is given with these things iv noticed. I am happy to have received gifts from both sides and look forward to using gifts from both sides :)

MA u look gorgeous congrats, hope u have a fab married life ;-)

InshAllah :) Thank you!

Thank you for sharing with us! I loved reading about your shaadi!

You look so gorgeous mA and I wish you a wonderful and happy marriage :)

Mashallah, everything looks great and you looked absolutely stunning!! <3
May Allah bless you with a lifetime of happiness, ameen.

Congratulations PR, stunning pictures and fab story! One that I really enjoyed reading! I wish you and your husband all the best for the future, may Allah swt give you both lots of happiness :D

P.s. if you ever visit your family in the UK, we must meet up :)

PR!!! Many many mubarakein on our events!! Only YOU could write in so much detail and make the GS Guppies feel as if they have attended ur wedding!! :hugz:

I LOVED each and every detail and am sooo glad that it came together to be such a beautiful series of events!!

Im especially loving the yellwo&silver look u rocked on the mayoun, the wedding lehnga was abs stunning and the brunch maxi was gorgeous too - ps hot pink so suits you!!! :smiley: im v happy the outfits turned out even better than expected..pls pray that mine do too, not long left now!

Cant believe my beautiful friend is now a MRS :slight_smile: mA

so happy for you meri jaan, may Allah always bless you both xoxo

Kuriyeh, tussi to great lagde ho :hehe:

Amazing account of your events and great pictures. I particularly love the video; such a great idea. Love all of your outfits…congratulations! :slight_smile:

Congrats Faiza ..You look super pretty ..i wish you a very happy and blessed married life :)

Reading your story made me feel a mix of overwhelming emotions, like the the other guppies have mentioned I truly felt I was there experiencing it with you.

After reading how organised you were, I felt a sense of trepidation about my own wedding which is happening right after Eid ul Adha, basically November. It's been a hectic road getting to this point already and we've only just booked the halls! I'm also planning to do my own makeup- Aand it's so nice to hear of a bride doing her own! Although not a makeup artist like you, I've always had a flare for art, and I've researched beyond brain capacity about what make up suits me- hopefully inshallah itll all set in. Any tips and advice you could offer?

And btw- if I had a house like your I'd be beyond proud of holding a mayoon there- London houses for most aren't as lovely!

May Allah bless you with all the happiness in the world, your story has given me a perspective as to what its like to have a wedding on the other side of the pond, it's been meaningful believe me!

Lastly, you looked stunning in all your photos

Thank you hun! And you are welcome

Ameen to your duas! and thank you!

you are so cute hun! Thank you! Def will look u up inshAllah when I visit UK :hugz: Ameen to your duas ..

BIG BIG BIG :hugz: for one of my guppan besties!!! I’m so glad you liked reading the details jaan… i know that sometimes we all wish we could attend each others weddigns after discussing it so much in detail and asking mashwarahs from each other! That can not happen… but I hope this was the next best thing. We discussed my wedding so much that It makes me so happy that you liked the detais and inshAllah - your outfits will turn out gorgeous.. can not wait to see how they turn out! They will be fantastic just basked upon your mangni and nikkah outfits i have seen.. you have great taste :smiley: xoxoxo

I’m glad you enjoyed all the details … thank you! Tuwadi compliments se mainu sharam aah rehi hai.. too much :blush: !

Thank you hun… could not have looked the way I did without your amazing talent. You are extremely talented mA and have an extremely wonderful attitude and professionalism about you that is often lacking in Pakistan… stay true to who you are… you are going to be sooo kaam yaab inshAllah! I know it! :smiley:

Awe thank you hun… and do not worry too much… you still have tons of time!!! I pulled most of everything together (other than bookings and sending out wedding cards) .. all the planning got done only one month before the actual wedding.. bc that was the only time I got off from work and was able to go back home. You will be fine inshAllah. Take it one day at a time.. make lists …and check off things on the list as you get them done.. do somethign wedding related everyday and you will feel better… that feeling of trepidation will go away..promise.

Its wonderful to hear of another bride that plans on doing her own makeup! I am not a professional makeup artist…where i took courses and/or got training… like you I had a flair for art always and picked up make-up artistry very quickly. That is how the freelancing began. I did sooo much research in regards to bridal makeup as well..not just for me but for the desi brides I got ready this past year.

Tips and makeup advice I have for your is to make sure none of your makeup or moisturizer contains spf - that reflects light and often makes pictures come out kinda whack. Make sure to moisturize prior ..but give your skin time to absorb it. Then wipe of any excess. Use a good primer (i really like smashbox photo finish) and a good base. Gina recommended the Bobbi Brown foundation stick and I took her advice! And glad i did…they have a great range of colors that suit our skin tone and also gives a very flawless finish. It’s heavy enough where it covers everything but does not look heavy/cakey in real life. Using a good foundation brush is key. I also used Bobbi Brown concealer and corrector as well. Lastly, most importantly - learn how to contour!!! contour contour contour! It truly changes the face shape and sculpts it! I used a MATTE bronzer - Too Faced Chocolate Soleil

There are tons of amazing youtube videos that can teach you the perfect techniques to contour and also the right brushes to use… once u master this … u will feel confident about your bridal look!

Lastly- get a good pair of false lashes…long, thing, that extend out. Try them on during trials ALWAYS! :smiley: best of luck hun…

Great advice and thank you for taking the time out to reply to everybody, when I’m getting married I shall be sending a PM your way, ahem! :hugz:

hi PR, thanks for ur makeup tips and advices

Ofcourse! When one takes the time to compliment someone it is only proper to thank them :hugz: You are very welcome for the advice! And I look forward to your PM iA when its your time to get married hun! :hugz: Thats what us guppans are here for! To help each other!

you are very welcome!