I'm having an existential crisis..

So I think I am having a dark night of the soul.. as someone who always has had a belief in God, I am questioning whether i really have faith.

I am guessing some of you have gone through a moment similar in your life and I wonder how you got through it?

Re: I'm having an existential crisis..

Yep once in my life i didn't want to believe in a God.

It got to the point where i was infact rejecting there was a God, the same old question was in my mind and i sat crying and cursing... yeah crying becuase my lifelong friends were dying around me.

It was a strange feeling like hatred, anger and despair all in one.

But i resolved to pull through becuase my faith was not relyant solely on God alone... the reason i believe in a God and Allah to be exact is becuase Muhammad RasoolAllah may grace and peace of Allah be upon him said that there was a lord.

In my heart the messenger became more important than the message... I to this day only believe in Allah because of Rasool Allah and because i love my lord and master.

I thought for a fleeting moment in life that let the lord see what faith can achieve... whilst Allah is far from my view the lord and master who's kalima i read is much more real and in my viewpoint.... thus in the name of the lord i got up and faced come what may.

Many will say i'm wrong in my belief but i'll gladly go to hell for it a thousand times.

Ya Muhammada!

dear,

majority of Muslims go thru this at some point or the other i think.

you have to read the Quran. and offer salah.

also... if you google "weakness of faith", "weak iman" etc... you will find some very good articles..

yup once i went thru the same phase in my life..i started questioning God for few things...i know i was totally wrong.. i stopped saying prayers and all but then i realized, kuch b ho jaye life mai,Allah k siwa koi support nahi..u have to return to Allah in the end...

and yeah i have seen many people, they went thru this phase..

I go through this like every month. Periodically. I shout, get angry, give taunts to my parents, then remain calm and think about what's bothering me and become okay again. You have no idea how many times I have contemplated becoming an atheist even though I am a hafiz.

so is the crisis because of some tough things you are going through? or is it something else.

This shouldnt be something which we may relate to our mood swings or harmonal imbalances. Questioning your own identity or your existence, to be precise, usually ensues after a truama or something like a shock, maybe physical, or mental or both. A healthy person in a smooth sailing wouldnt really wander though that phase.

Takahlus, if i were in your place, I would delve into the issue that pushed me into this. I would probe hard and bravely, and would root this feeling out. This is purely momentary phase, resulting out of sheer hopelessness mainly, but this usually passes away, just as they say, when winter is there, can spring be far behind?

When a baby born, the baby never saw her mother was given her birth. So how baby believed that lady is her/his real mother and that man is her/his real father?

This is due to faith on pplz saying, who said to that baby this is your mother and that is your father and these are your uncle, aunty etc etc.

Same thing is here, we should have strong faith in our hearts and minds to believe in Allah SWT! exsistance.

Moroever, Shaitan hamara khula dushman hy or woh hi aisa fatoor hamary zehan mein daal deta hay.

It was a mixture of things, plans going awry and cleaning up the consequences. The frustration that so many seem to get a break and yet not me..a bit of Munni Begum to further darken my mood..but thanks for the comments guys ..they say the nost important thing in dark timesis to realise we are not the only one with hurts and doubts

Phir bhi kehte hain humse yeh ahle chaman
Yeh chaman hai humaara tumhaara nahin

Ae mere humnasheen chal kahin aur chal
Is chaman mein ab apna guzaara nahin

Aaj aaye ho tum kal chale jao gay
Yeh mohabbat ko apni guwaara nahi

Umr bhar ka sahara banoo toh banoo
Do ghari ka sahara, sahara nahin

Ae mere humnasheen

Zaalimon apni qismat pe naazaan na ho
Daur badle ga yeh waqt ki baat hai

Woh yakheenan sune ga sadaain meri
Kya tumhara Khuda hai humaara nahin

Bro! paywasta reh shajar se or umeed-e-bahar rakh :)

I was asking my mom the exact same thing this morning. I was wondering why a very religious woman, who offers all her prayers, keeps all her fasts, performs aitekaaf, performed Umrah has ended up with jerks twice. They say har chise main Allah ki behtari hoti hai. I don't see what behtari there is in being married to a man who turned out to be a jerk ( he was sleeping with other women including his sister Astaghfirullah). Yet this woman didn't want a divorce because no one has ever had a divorce in her family and what would people say? Somehow the divorce did happen and she had another arranged marriage. Now this man had children from his pervious marriage ( his wife had passed away).She does everything to please her new family. Unfortunately she gets nothing but crap. This man doesn't want to have kids, is a jerk too ( same story as before minus the sister), his children treat her like dirt. I feel sorry for her and couldn't help think what behtari was there in all this? You come out of a horrible marriage and enter a worse one. Another thing this person i'm talking about waited for some peace and happiness all her life. She's 40 now and doesn't see anything good happening ever. I know she's frustrated and so am I because at times like these you wonder why isn't Allah doing anything? Why is he making her suffer even more? Sometimes you never get an answer and just have to accept things the way they are =)

I do believe that life's not all perfect. It just can't be but some of us go through a lot of problems. Whereas, some don't. Allah can't be so harsh despite of us being major sinners. If He gives you hardship, He will also give you the opposite. Some people express their circumstances. Whilst, some may not and that is why half the time we don't even know what the other goes through.

I guess some of us do go through some phase in life where we question His existence. Why we do? I really don't know...

I can remember one night (or it may have been a few days and nights actually), when I got to the point I thought I never would in my life. I always had strong beliefs, never doubting, never feeling anything but faith. Then, I don't even remember the why"'s of the situation, but I had a night as dark as dark can be. It was as though the Evil one himself had come and gotten inside my soul. Well, I didn't wantt o kill anyone, thank goodness, but I did have a disbelief as I had never felt. (all because of some hurt that I felt was the last straw to my strength) I remember crying, and even shouting out to God of my disbelief in Him, (lol....shows you how stupid the night was....if I didn't believe then who was I talking to?????) So, this night passed and the next day, or day after, I remember feeling such shame. Although I felt it automatically I was blocking it out that night because of my rage!

I remember crying out that I had lived my life acccroding to what I thought GOd wanted of me, although there had been some falls along the way, I always found my way back shortly. And if I was trying so hard, why, why , why had I ended up with losers, cheated on, lied to, money shortages, and all the other pain I felt? I recall thinking that God was telling me that I should sell all I owed and just move.....go to where my grandchildren lived. But, sell everything? I owed a lot and although money was short at times I was truly blessed now that I look back. But, wanting the pain to end I really wanted to give it my all this time. I did not want to hold back anything. I wanted to obey the way I felt I was being led.

So, I sold all my belongings, including my beautiful car, persobnal furniture, all that I owned. I moved an the life at my childs home along with her husband and my grandchildren was less than perfect!!!!! It was a night mare actually! But, in the time I was there I met a man from pakistan. I ha never dreamed that love would come from so far away.....but it did.

To cut this short, I think that when we feel this doubt, or when we feel this darkness inside of us, I think we need to look at what we are really feeling and what we are really blocking out? Are we REALLY living the life we should? Or are we cheating those small cheats that lead us astray in the end?

After turning my life around and giving up everything, I have now found that I have everything I ever needed. A happy relationship, and my God, still with me in my life through all my up's and down's.

wow, u are a grandma? mad props to you, some experiences you have listed there and thanks for sharing.