Im going to be a mother for a month.

Well let me try to make a long story short.

My aunty and uncle are going to Pakistan, and on the way they have to make a few business trips to some other places.They have a 7 year old son, who- hates to travel.

Since he’s also attending school ,my aunty decided that he should stay here.Matlab ke with me and my family.My parents both work, and my brothers both study.

So that leaves me.I mean I agreed to take care of him for a month.I also work and study btw.Im kind of nervous, because I have never taken care of a kid for more than a day or two.He’s a great kid, kinda stubborn though- and has a temper.

I know he will miss his parents ,and that will probably the hardest part- getting him used to the fact that he’ll have to be with me for a month.He’ll be coming over on Friday.

Im very excited, but if you guys have any helpful tips on how I can make sure he’s happy and doing well- I would really appriciate it.

*jealous i wanna be a mother for a few days too …

story-telling works … you tell him a story and ask him to carry it on this will keep him busy…

talk more to him as he is gonna be silent at first .. have him open up to you so he feels free with you and can talk to you if he starts feeling parent/home-sick …

well since he is a boy he is gonna be more restless compare to a girl … have him take up a hobby … like playing computer games (something which he can do alone like drawing ) etc … and when you do have time … do play with him …

teh or soching … till then :wave:

it may just be gr8 time as well as may also turn into nigthamare.

make him ur friend, treat him as if he is ur best friend, try to get into his mood, n both of u will enjoy this time.

do tell after one month how was the experience

batameez Thank you.Haan main thing is I have to make sure he can tell me anything thats bothering him etc.

Oh we're very close.Iv been taking care of him since he was a baby.But never for more than a day or so.I love him to death -we get along great.But he is very stubborn.My Aunty said that especially in the mornings she has a hard time getting him out of bed and off to school.He's picky about his lunch etc.Wish me luck.

ophiolites Thanks.Sure I'll keep let you know how its coming along.thanks for the tips.And yeah my little cousin and i are very close- thats why he will be staying with me.But lets hope he doesnt get into a temper too often.

Good luck :flower1:

khala.

*Originally posted by a_bad_hair_cut: *
khala.

Stop calling me khala(not that I mind) and come help me cheer the poor kiddo up.

Hmm, well whenever my niece is over, to keep her busy, we sometimes play teaching games. She usually likes them if there is something tangible involved in the game, that she likes. For example, coins, lego pieces, fruit, candy, etc, to teach her math or reading.

Jigsaw puzzles last for a while, then there are toy race cars. Kids love to play connect four. I used to work with children ages 5 and up, and that was one of their favorites, especially if you let them win often. They get tired of the game real fast if they keep losing.

Reading to them, and having them read books to you. Talking to them about their bestfriends in school and who they are and why they are friends with them, etc. Ask them about their favorite teacher, favorites of just about everything. Those conversations tend to last, because then they will ask you the same stuff. Make up stuff if you have to. grin

Boys also play with dolls often at that age, so that can be something too. Talk about any recent trips he went on. Play with a ball. Watch his favorite cartoon movie with him. That takes up about 2 hours or so, then talk about the characters, etc.

Be sure to have different books on hand, kids go through them in minutes. Ask him what he likes to do. Talk about his family.

Thats about all I can think of for now. hehe. If you have a game that is not so easy for a 7 year old but still for kids, that will take up considerable time, because kids like to impress you with their abilities. And you have to show them appreciation because they wait for it without asking.

I'm sure you'll do fine, Insha'Allah! Don't forget to give plenty of hugs and kisses. smile

I remember this aunty left her two sons with me once..n they were like 6 n 4 i think...well everytime they cried i gave em ice cream n then i scared em with the vacum cleaner..like i showed em how it sucks up a tissue n if they made me mad i would suck em up with it too n it worked

Remember, sometimes little boys could use a beating...

Munni Thanks a bunch for all the great tips.Today is the day I really spent with the kiddo. He is quite picky when it comes to eating -took me forever to make him his fav breakfast.But after that things went quite well.I took him out shopping, and bought him some toys.

We had lots of fun, and he's starting to cheer up.Misses him parents a lot. The rest of the day we spent reading, and watching tv. I also hooked a pc up in the livingroom for him.And he played some games.

I dont want him to be watching too much tv, or spending all his time on the pc.So starting Monday I guess I'll have to make sure we spend more work on his homework.

We also got some blocks.And my goodness we had such a great time playing!!! We spend hours making castles and cars and what not.

TJ and Ahmed I doubt if I want to scare him, or hit him.No way.I dont believe in such stuff.If he does anything wrong. Im going to sit down and talk to him about it.Theres no way Im even going to yell at him.He's only a child.And children need to be taught right from wrong.

Anyway tomorrow Im going to be meeting his teacher.

This is a small world indeed.My little cousin’s teacher turned out to be the nephew of the teacher I had gotten in an argument with. I accused her of giving wrong information to the students.Nearly got suspended because of that.But this is really weird.He’ll probably go home and ask her about the student teacher whos always making trouble.Me.:blush:

And my kid is leaving me this week.sigh.

Iv so gotten used to taking him to school, picking him up, shopping, arguing, food fights,answering unique questions.Iv actually really had a lot of fun with the kiddo.Im going to miss him.

Good Bye Kami :wave:

:slight_smile:

Evil Jalebi :disgust:

All i can say is good luck :hehe:

i think you should set routines for him instead of just letting him do whatever he wants because if that will be the case he won't know who's incharge of the situation

secondly see what he likes to do in his daily routines at home n stuff and try to do that and also ask him what he'd like to do this whole month.

im pretty sure it's not that hard since my sister's 6 goin on 7 n all she likes to do is play outside read, read more, make up stuff sing eat n play more..not to mention her homework n stuff

so im not sure what kind of a kid he is. but yea in those routines make up some fun activities, etc. try to make it a bit exciting and playful for him so he won't miss his parents much and won't really feel it much.

i work at a daycare center so they have kids around the age of 5 or 6 yrs. and having a routine is definetly the best thing, not that u have to do the same things over n over again. just that at a certain time u shuld do a certain thing n help him with his homework or eating time n stuff..

i hope i kinda helped...i'll try to see if i could find more stuff :)

X Chorni… no offence, but it seems you don’t read a thread completely before responding. Like, for example, there is a post in this thread here which is kinda interesting, and it also helps to look at the dates of the posts :-p

Good tips, nevertheless :k:

lol aww Chorni.Lagtha hai your mind is elsewhere.Thanks a bunch for the tips anyway.But my kids leaving me.

oh crap, when did this happen :smack: sigh i think i’ve lost my mind totally

Faisal bhai :blush: i guess i wuz tryna b helpful to the mothers-to-be :bummer:

lol n.e. ways…phew!!!

MQ sorry yar