I'm feeling sick/confused

Re: I'm feeling sick/confused

You have two choices either go for the guy of your dreams whose family is not perfect or marry the guy whose family is perfect for your family but whom you don't know well. You can't have both right now.

The compromise has to be such you can live with long term.

Honestly your mil sounds more scatter brained than malicious. If she were an evil mil then I would urge you to back away but if she's educated and kind then her actions may seem strange but her intentions are not bad. Ultimately the rasmain and the stuff you want is part of a dikhawa and log kya kahein gay mentality which I personally don't like either and your mil not have had to deal with before.

You also have to be proactive. Know your inlaws enough to predict their actions and find a solution beforehand. Don't be the person who knows things are going to go wrong and then waits to cry about it. My uncle whose family is always late were so late at their son's wedding that the bride missed her photoshoot. That was plain dumb because she knew about their lateness and let things run the way they always do. The only person who lost out was her.

is there really something as dream marriage?😙

His mom is not preventing you from having a fancy wedding. Your family is planning the mehndi/ruksati right? His mom already told you they don't have any expectations other than a simple nikah. Well, that does not mean that you and your mom can't plan the event any way you want. Just don't expect your future MIL to participate/dress up fancy.

Even for the walima suit…she gave you a a budget of $500. She never said that you can only spend $500 or ask to go shopping with you did she? Assuming I'm right that she did not….then just take the $500, and buy whatever dress you wan….and have your parents pitch in the rest and NEVER mention a word about it to your fiance/his parents.

Again, nothing is preventing you from planning a nice wedding. But stop expecting his mom to participate or pretend that she's excited about it b/c that is not her personality.

I'm not sure what you feel needs to be discussed with your fiancé. His mother's personality is not going to change. Complaining about how his mother is behaving….especially when the complaints are so superficial, certainly is not going to do anything positive for your relationship with him.

I think your's mom rant is very inappropriate. She knows you and this guy like each other. Your mom does not have any complaints about the guy. Yet for her to rant to you about his family's behavior or even refusing to set a wedding date unless his entire family flies to your state is ridiculous. This is a time for your mother to focus on YOUR happiness. And her ranting is not really contributing to that.

Your mother (and even you) should realize that wedding is just that one day. The happiness of a marriage has nothing to do with wedding stages, what type of clothing people wear on that day, how a wedding date was set etc. In the long term, these are stupid details. Look at some of the other threads here on how other girls are having issues meeting a decent guy who will marry them. You managed to find a guy that you like, who likes you back! So far you seem to have a good relationship with your fiancé who is doing his best to be supportive of you. His mother also seems to be nice even though her personality is is odds with yours/your mom's. If you and your mother keep harping about material things….both these relationships (your fiancé and his mom) has the potential to go sour real fast. So please really think about what your priorities are LONG TERM before you have any type of "discussion" with your fiancé and/or his mom.

No. That's why I wrote dream WEDDING…..not marriage.

Hey girl so I'm hyderabadi from India as well just like your fiancee's family, and I can honestly tell you that we do not like to do little shaadi's! We are big on big weddings complete with: haldi, mehdni, shaadi and valima. We even do many little events after the weddings as well. We also dress up very well at many hyderabadi engagements i've been to. I'm sure not every family is like that but in terms of hospitality, hyderabadi's are very very big on that. As far as my family and everyone else I know I have always seen everyone go above and beyond for guests when they visit homes, I always thought Hyderabadi's were known for their hospitable nature. Especially when a rishtaa is taking place these people are simply very rude.

In my opinion If you see these people not good hosts are you feel like you are being treated poorly, I would definitely take it as a sign to stay away. Were not like American's where once we get married we can just choose to stay away from family easily if we don't like them. You know how big of a role family plays in our lives. You will be disappointed in every thing in the future, they will never know how to act and of course your parents will have contact with their family forever, its not just going to end once you're married. If you're parents have a bad feeling about them, I suggest don't get into the relationship. You're fiancee might be a good guy but trust me family matters. When you have children it is these people that they will look up to as role models as well, if they are not ideal and seem rude to you then I suggest don't bother. Also later on in the future you may tend to despise them because of their ill manners and may not feel your in-laws good enough people unconsciously to respect them. Right now you're biting your tongue to your fiancee because you're not married yet right? Trust me that may change in the future after marriage...

In my opinion they may be religious but are probably not educated enough. I feel education is what brings about manners and etiquettes, you can mask that all you want with religion but it shows through easily. Also the SIL is definitely jealous of you! Who "forgets" decorations and ideal stuff for a engagement? Also who leaves their brother's engagement (a milestone day) to go to a friends "mehndi" (not even wedding)?? She's definitely showing you already whose boss and showing you that you don't matter already to her. Do you think some of this has something due to the fact that it was a love marriage? and her brother picked someone without her consent/choosing?

You are definitely not weird or spoiled for wanting a big wedding! Every single desi girl dreams of her wedding day events since she's little, and it is your prerogative to want those things! We get married once in our lives!

OP do you really want to lose love of your life for differences in lifestyles, customs, traditions and behavior of family members?
You already knew you two come from different cultures and there will be a culture clash.
They are not stopping you from having a dream wedding from your side. You can have your mehndi , your ubtan, your dholak party , your wedding your way and let them have their side of events(if any) their way.
If the tables turned and you were being married to a guy who came from a family which was 10 times or more richer than you. Your side of mehndi , mangni , shadi , ubtan, mayoon will pale compared to theirs. They would be thinking in same terms as you and your mother are thinking about them.
They would be wondering why are you being so crude in your mannerism and why you are being so stingy about certain things.
Move beyond superficialities and look up to the beautiful future which awaits you two.

I agree. I don't think she's malicious; even my fiance has said that his mom is a ditz about stuff and tends to just say whatever she thinks will diffuse the situation, not realizing that she might come off as uninterested. He clarified from his mom that they just meant that they dont' want to trouble us with an over the top wedding but they're fine with whatever we want to do.

I know his parents aren't very image-concious but my social circle is. That, coupled with the fact that my extended fam in Pak is making really weird remarks about how I'm much better looking than him and I look "ajeeb" with their family because I'm way too modern compared to them and stuff, is poisoning my mom's brain so now she's saying stuff like she did yesterday. :S And the dikhawa part unfortunately is present in my family to a certain degree; their main problem with my fiance's family is that they're TOO simple (my SIL doesn't wear any makeup and only wears abayas) and that they have to deal with what other people say about this.

The walima outfit example I just gave to illustrate how clueless she is. I know that they're not stingy or anything like that, like I said before. For my engagement, they asked me what style I wanted and ended up spending 2-3x what I thought they would to make sure I got EXACTLY what I wanted. Even now, my fiance said to give him the exactly clothes I want along with the designers and he'll make sure that's what they are.

I think it just got to me yesterday because , yes--I'll admit I'm kinda superficial and into clothes/fashion, and my mom saying that I was trying to plan for a classy wedding was useless because my in-laws aren't the type to pull off a function like that and I got kind of...sad/upset. But you're right. It's just one day.

The only discussion I had with my fiance was to make sure that he knew that my fam was against just a nikkah and that we want a full wedding and he said that he knows that and that his mom mistakenly said Nikkah only to take the pressure off my parents to throw a lavish wedding on fairly short notice. But he said that he'll make sure that it happens exactly how we want.

You're right; I have a very caring fiance aH which is why my mom's rant bothered me even more and I guess I panicked and overreacted. It's hard to have your parents (who you've tried to please) tell you that the person that makes you really happy isn't good enough and that you can do better and that they were forced by you to say yes to an engagement. Kinda a ****ty feeling. :/

Yeah, Like I said, I don't think they'll actually give me a $500 dollar suit because she already told my fiance ot make sure I get the exact dress I want because she knows I care a lot about my clothing/appearance. I just am baffled at how a grown woman who has attended countless weddings/gotten married herself/had to plan a son's wedding can be so utterly clueless about something like this...the amount ($500) for the budget just seemed absurd and that + my mom's rant about how she thinks my MIL/SIL hate me made me think that they were trying to make a point.

That's the thing; it's so hard to describe because they're SUPER sweet and good "hosts" but...they lack certain behavior that my parents really value. 1) My mom would set an impressive table for dinner if people were coming over, ESPECIALLY for a rishta--and these people forgot dessert, the food was horrible and minimal, it was just kinda all thrown together. 2) Making sure that the other people that are visiting (the in laws at the engagement for example) are seated at the best seats and offered food/dessert/chai first and made welcome 3) a woman that can take care of a household and the household looks put together. Unfortunately, my parents didn't notice any of these things when we went and if this had been an arranged marriage, my parents would've rejected the rishta FOR SURE. They're not straight up rude but they lack the refinement that most people want in their in laws. My fiance is the "freak" of their family--his mother/sister say so themselves--and I would've never guessed his family was like that from his behavior.

They're also VERY educated. The entire family is drs/lawyers. So it's not like they're "jahil" and like straight up from the village and just learned how to deal with things recently. I don't know what it is...but I was shocked at how clueless the mom was. Like...I suck at domestic things but I'm pretty sure I could've hosted a dinner that was more appropriate for a rishta.

I figured that my SIL just wasn't fond of me in general for whatever reason because I'm younger than her and his family is (because I'm the new "interesting" thing) talking about me all the time. But my mom made those suspicions even worse so now it's muddling my thinking.

I want a big wedding in the sense that I want to wear nice clothes, have a nice venue, nice dinner, etc. Nothing too crazy. But my mom's made it sound like his family is gonna have an issue with it for whatever reason. And since I'm not physically there when our moms talk, the content of their conversation as conveyed by my mother start worrying me. It's not so much the wedding but the "true colors" that my mom claims are coming across that scare me.

I know it's not about money because they're well off; that's what confuses me. But I think it's a huge misunderstanding that was fueled by my mom's rant. You're right, I thought about it today all day and it's not worth losing someone that cares about me enough to talk to his parents and make sure my wishes are granted. A wedding is going to be a few days but the marriage will last forever; as long as his parents respect me and love me, I don't care how much of great cook she is.

Not everyone is into designer stuff. My wedding dress was $600. I loved what I got and have no regrets.

Your last line "I don't care how much a great cook she is" sounds very arrogant. Why would they respect and care for you when you have zilch respect for them. All you care about is materialistic stuff...Leena daina, size of wedding, etc etc.

They are rich they are educated therefore it looks like to me that they believe in simplicity , simple lifestyle and simple mannerism. Looks like they are really educated and use their wealth and education wisely. They use their brains on things which matter more rather than superfluous mannerism.
When I throw a party I make sure there is always a wow factor in each party but when I go to parties where I am not the center of attention or the food is rather mundane, I never complain because I know that the world does not revolve around me. Everybody in this world does not have to necessarily do things my way. Others do not have to live their lives according to my whims and whishes. But when the same people come to my parties I still give them the same respect and same treatment. I do not expect them to go and try to imitate my mannerism , my style and my sophistication.

and then we complain that there is shortage of eligible rishtas for girls

based on your description your in laws sound awesome. They're educated, well off and simple. Simple is a good thing, it means chances of them being manipulative and scheming are a lot lower and considering your family seem to be a little materialistic, it might actually be a good balance for you to marry into a family that doesn't pay as much attention to these kind of things, because at the end of the day they're not what's important.

Hmm I'm gonna pm you

Ummm did you read everything I posted? I never said I don't respect them, ESPECIALLY because of my dress or anything superficial. The line that you're quoting, I was actually saying that it doesn't matter to me what my mom says about their "negative qualities" (for example, that my MIL can't cook) because my in laws are nice to me and respect me---those are the most important things in my mind.

Regarding the outfit, I've said it numerous times already but that was just an example to portray how out of touch/clueless my MIL seems to be with wedding stuff. She wants me to wear designer for the Walima so that's why I thought it was crazy. I know that in the end they'll get something great aH so I'm not concerned with them trying to get me something non-designer; I've been trying to find ppl to replicate my dress designs to make it cheaper so I could care less about the label.

It's not about how grand of a wedding--I'm talking about my mom's issue with their "Thor-thareekay". To my family, the inability to host guests--especially potential in laws--is a major problem and not a superfluous detail. I don't know if I necessarily put as much stock in that stuff as my family does, since I live alone anyways and will continue to do so after marriage, but it's difficult trying to get my parents to move past it since it seems to come up everything there's a problem or disagreement with my in laws. Yeah my parents are hung up on the engagement and how they were forced to do it at my in laws place even though they had wanted a much nicer event, but they're slowly accepting it.

Yeah they're def not manipulative aH and that's a quality my parents appreciate also. It's just been more difficult than i thought trying to reconcile the extremes. My parents are very "traditional" and somewhat backwards with wedding stuff and they refuse to let go of their old ways whereas my in laws don't do any of that stuff and don't really understand most of the super pakistani stuff anyways since they're not from there. I knows it's not a rishta my parents would've entertained (my parents wanted me to marry a pakistani) so that coupled with the differences in mentality is causing friction. I appreciate my in laws not being superficial but I think you can still have a nice wedding/be a good host even IF you aren't materialistic.

Re: I’m feeling sick/confused

Do you see the source of all your tension/stress? :smack: It’s certainly not your future MIL. You seem to be aware of the fact that wedding is just that 1 day versus marriage is for a life-time. And it sounds like you/husband will be living separately so his mother’s personality is not going to be an issue on a daily basis after marriage.

If you plan on going through this wedding….which it sounds like you do….here’s a piece of advice for your own sanity: Make it clear to your parents that you don’t appreciate them talking bad about your fiancé/future in-laws. Obviously do it in a nice/respectful way. But let them know that you love them (i.e.. your family) and how hurt you feel if someone were to ever say something negative about them. Let them know that you also love your fiancé and care about/respect his parents and would really appreciate if your family kept these negative comments to themselves b/c it causes YOU stress and hurts your feelings. If your mom needs to rant, ask that she share her rant with someone else. If you don’t put a stop to this verbal bashing right now….this is continue to cause you stress for years to come and sooner or later, your fiancé (later husband) will hear it and it’s going to cause issues in your marriage if he realizes how little respect your family has for his.

Re: I’m feeling sick/confused

Yeah I know it’s my side of the family and , if God forbid, our relationship was to ever end, it’d be because my parents made it so miserable that it wasn’t worth getting married anymore. My brother had a talk with my mom yesterday and she denied saying that I forced them to get me engaged. I dunno what’s going on anymore but you’re right; I need to get my mom to stop saying stuff like that. Even if I try to block it out, eventually it starts getting to me.

Honestly, I see issues with YOUR side of the family than his. Simplicity isn't something to be sneered at. You've mentioned that you felt disrespected by his family, maybe his family feels disrespected by YOUR family with their lofty expectations and your father's disinterest in the rishta.

Paheli hit the nail on the head - you need to figure out what matters to you: His family's behaviour and the extravagant/simple wedding versus a guy you love. And when making that decision, you have to keep in mind how your own family's behaviour may be perceived by his family. I'm not suggesting that his family is perfect - they probably have their own share of issues and imperfections. But you need to look at their behaviour objectively as opposed to emotionally.