Re: I’m also curious
And I’m curious, all the curiosity about clothes surfaced at once:hmmm:
Re: I'm also curious
I am moving this to parenting:)
so far only American clothes. Nani went to Karachi and brought back all sorts of ghararas, shalwar kamiz, and churiyaan, but they are too big right now.
My daughter wears dressy desi clothes (shararas, ghararas, pishwas, shalwar kameez, etc.) on special occasions, like Eids, weddings, etc. ....
Usually she's in western clothes..... waisay ajeeb sawaal hai, Pakistan mein bhi sab bachay western hee pehentay hain.
my daugher is 2 1/2 years old and she is obsessed with shalwar kameez. when i come home from work i change to desi clothes as they are more comfortable for me ,and she wants her "sharwar", too :p
desi as much as possible.....
Both. Mostly western but desi on special occasions and sometimes randomly at home.
I love dressing up my daughter in shalwar kameez...etc.
My mom brought back a bunch of cute stuff from Paki on her recent visit so she got some made to match my outfits. Since a lot of stores sell 3 piece outfits, I told her to have something made for her from the dupatta and get me a generic dupatta...it is so cute!!!!
Ooh and choorian, and I even got payal for her!! She is 7 1/2 months :)
And I give my son sherwani, funky kameez with peshawari chapal or even khussa...its uncomfy so he changes into boots soon.
Oh and the sad part...really my fault...but NOW when I give him shalwar kameez (its been a while) he is like what is this...oh this is the pakistani suit...(associated with the fact that his Nana abu is still in Paki).....yeah need to work on that a LOT
It's cold and wet here. unless they come out with insulated and waterproof shalwars and lehngas - I am sticking to western clothes.
They wear them to desi weddings.
Western clothes primarily. Desi clothes on special occasions.
My sister bought some baby shalwar kameez for my little boy…can’t wait till he fits into them! ![]()
It's cold and wet here. unless they come out with insulated and waterproof shalwars and lehngas - I am sticking to western clothes.
They wear them to desi weddings.
Agreed, Desi clothes are not really suited to the climate here.
Not to mention I find most Desi clothes highly unaesthetic. I'm proud of my roots and who I am but I don't need to wear gaudy (sherwanis) or scruffy (shalwar kamiz) clothes to prove it.
Nosherwan - The kids in northern areas of pakistan mostly wear shalwar kameez but they wear more heavier materials (khadar, tweed) with layers of heavy sweaters.
People from those regions are the most beautiful in the world but they spoil their image by wearing clothes belonging to another era.
Just imagine how much a pair of jeans and a t-shirt would compliment their looks?
I guess their unfortunate circumstances don't allow them to be fashion conscious but I hate it when Paki guys in the west wear shalwar kamiz, looks so scruffy and untidy.
I'm a proud Paki/Pashtun but I don't need to wear shalwar kamiz to prove it.
Greeks don't wear togas to prove their nationality, Scotsmen don't wear kilts, Persians don't wear sherwanis, Englishmen don't wear tail-coats anymore...
I prefer pant-shirt which is not western but rather international worn by young people all over the world be they Persian, Turk, Arab, Kurd etc.
I dunno why Paki ppl think wearing shalwar kamiz (or arab dresses) makes them more Muslim or more Paki. Shalwar Kamiz was invented by some Budhhists anyway.