Go to the following link:
http://www.al-islam.org/encyclopedia/chapter2/6.html
Masha-Allah very informative link sister.
Meaning of ghaib (unseen)
The original meaning of "Ghayb" in Arabic is "that which has been concealed", and it is with this meaning which has appeared in the Holy Quran (4:34, 12:52, etc.) It
signifies a meaning opposite to "Hadhir" which means "present to the senses", and thus denotes with things to the external world (i.e., Ma'lumat; known things). This
opposition of Ghayb/Hadhir (unseen/present) should not be confused with the opposition of Ilm/Jahl (knowledge/ignorance) in which the latter pair is concerned with the
internal act of knowing. So it may happen that something is "Ghayb" in the dimension of time which does not exist now but it will be or it was; or in the dimension of place
that is the knowledge of something which is located elsewhere but not here.
Thus we can divide own our knowledge into two parts:
A) The knowledge of something which is present to us right here and right now (Ilm bil Hadhir),
B) The knowledge of something which we know but is not here now (Ilm bil Ghayb/Gha'ib; the knowledge of what is concealed from the senses).
It should be noted however that the above division is according to general/original linguistic meaning of the term. The knowledge of Ghayb itself can be divided in two
kinds:
1) The knowledge that comes to us through our senses, but indirectly. Examples are our knowledge of history which comes either through narration from one person to
another, by speech or in writing or through examining the relics and remainings of the past, and then deducing certain historical facts from them.
2) The type of the knowledge of Ghayb which does not come through our senses.
jazakAllah sister.
May Allah bless you in sadqa of Mohammed o aale Mohammed (s.a)
However, as Quran mentions "news of Ghayb" have been transmitted to the Prophet Muhammad, and from that channel, it has been transmitted to the Imams of Ahlul-Bayt.
the trasmission from teh prophet to the immams?>>>>Where is that mentioned in teh Quran??? plz identify...thanks
btw , this is a quote from teh site provided above..
[This message has been edited by X_Communist (edited November 25, 2000).]
so does anyone care to provide an ‘intellectual’ significance of this quote, above?..(gfq, plz note, how polite i am …
)
i talked to a scholer about this and he said Quran main hai k Allah ko ilm ghaib hai aur usko jissay Allah chahay..so look it up
"Prayer is a shield for the believer. When you knock on the door repeatedly it is sure to be opened for you. - Imam Ali (as)"
"..Say (O' Muhammad unto mankind): I do not ask of you any reward for it but love for my relatives(Ahlul-Bayt)"Holy Quran(42:23)
(after his last pilgrimage) the Holy Prophet (saw) stood to give us a speech beside a pond which is known as Ghadir Khum & said,"I am leaving for you 2 precious things.First of them is the book of Allah in which there is light & guidance...
The other one is my Ahlul-Bayt.
I remind you in the name of Allah about my Ahlul-Bayt.(3 times)Sahih Muslim,Chapter of the virtues of the companions, section of the virtues of Ali,1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, Arabic version,v4,p1873,Tradition #36.
Then the Prophet held up the hand of Ali and said:"Whoever I am his leader,Ali
is his leader.O God,love those who love him,& be hostile to those who are hostile to him."(Sunni hadith:
Sahih Tirmidhi,v2,p298)
The Prophet said to Ali:"Glad tiding O Ali!Verily you & your companions & your Shia followers will be in Paradise."Sunni hadith:Hilyatul Awliyaa,v4,p3
So is yaqeen (faith) in Allah ilme-ghaib too? We have not seen him, but we believe in Him!
Imam Hussain makes that belief even stronger..many sacrificed their lives for their religion or their country..but dont know if anyone sacrificed their 6 month old baby
"Prayer is a shield for the believer. When you knock on the door repeatedly it is sure to be opened for you. - Imam Ali (as)"
"..Say (O' Muhammad unto mankind): I do not ask of you any reward for it but love for my relatives(Ahlul-Bayt)"Holy Quran(42:23)
(after his last pilgrimage) the Holy Prophet (saw) stood to give us a speech beside a pond which is known as Ghadir Khum & said,"I am leaving for you 2 precious things.First of them is the book of Allah in which there is light & guidance...
I remind you in the name of Allah about my Ahlul-Bayt.(3 times)Sahih Muslim,Chapter of the virtues of the companions, section of the virtues of Ali,1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, Arabic version,v4,p1873,Tradition #36.
is his leader.O God,love those who love him,& be hostile to those who are hostile to him."(Sunni hadith:
Sahih Tirmidhi,v2,p298)
The Prophet said to Ali:"Glad tiding O Ali!Verily you & your companions & your Shia followers will be in Paradise."Sunni hadith:Hilyatul Awliyaa,v4,p3
[This message has been edited by Sherazz (edited November 27, 2000).]
What is Ilme Ghaib?
It should be observed that the first type can be by means of ordinary senses (the five normal senses) or may be by a special sense which has been given to a person like
telepathic sense (if there is such a thing). It is, however, only to the second type (the non-sensory one), that the technical/special meaning of "The Knowledge of
Ghayb/Gha'ib" is denoted. The historical events mentioned in Quran has been named by Quran as "the tidings/news of Ghayb" (11:49, 12:102, 25:4-6) which are all the
second kind which did not come via senses.
The Holy Quran is quite specific about the fact that Allah alone has the knowledge of Ghayb (what is concealed) in the heavens and the earth. Quran tells us that there are
keys to the Ghayb which are with Allah:
"With Him are the Keys of the Ghayb; non knows them but He."
(Quran 6:59)
and that no one knows anything of Allah's knowledge except if He will. Quran tells about the knowledge and the intercession of the Prophet Muhammad and his twelve
successors that:
"Who can intercede with Him except the cases He permits? He knows what is in front of them (the Prophet and the Imams) and what is behind them, and
they encompass nothing of His knowledge except what He will." (Quran 2:255)
This shows that the core/keys of the Knowledge of Ghayb is with Allah, but He may release "a news of Ghayb" to the one He wills.
Originally posted by Cool Guy:
***What is Ilme Ghaib?*
It should be observed that the first type can be by means of ordinary senses (the five normal senses) or may be by a special sense which has been given to a person like
telepathic sense (if there is such a thing). It is, however, only to the second type (the non-sensory one), that the technical/special meaning of "The Knowledge of
Ghayb/Gha'ib" is denoted. The historical events mentioned in Quran has been named by Quran as "the tidings/news of Ghayb" (11:49, 12:102, 25:4-6) which are all the
second kind which did not come via senses.
The Holy Quran is quite specific about the fact that Allah alone has the knowledge of Ghayb (what is concealed) in the heavens and the earth. Quran tells us that there are
keys to the Ghayb which are with Allah:
"With Him are the Keys of the Ghayb; non knows them but He."
(Quran 6:59)
and that no one knows anything of Allah's knowledge except if He will. Quran tells about the knowledge and the intercession of the Prophet Muhammad and his twelve
successors that:
"Who can intercede with Him except the cases He permits? He knows what is in front of them (the Prophet and the Imams) and what is behind them, and
This shows that the core/keys of the Knowledge of Ghayb is with Allah, but He may release "a news of Ghayb" to the one He wills. **
yeh now they dont hav anything to say about this..man they really need to just except the truth
Sahih Tirmidhi,v2,p298)
thanx for that cool guy
**"Who can intercede with Him except the cases He permits? He knows what is in front of them (the Prophet and the Imams) and what is behind them, and
This shows that the core/keys of the Knowledge of Ghayb is with Allah, but He may release "a news of Ghayb" to the one He wills. **
the second half....is that the same line following the first one???
JazakAllah sister. Your research and positive feedback is appreciated too. Masha-Allah!
ONLY Allah knows the Future/past/unseen
Surah 02(Al-Baqara)-Verse# 165.
-
- And [yet], among the people are those who take other than Allah as equals [to Him]. They love them as they [should] love Allah. But those who believe are stronger in love for Allah. And if only they who have wronged would consder [that] when they see the punishment, [they will be certain] that ALL POWER belongs to Allah and that Allah is severe in punishment.
Surah 03(Al-Imran)-Verse# 42-45, 58, 179.
***- 42. And [mention] when the angels said, "O Mary, indeed Allah has chosen you and purified you and chosen you above the women of the worlds.
-
- O Mary, be devoutly obedient to your lord and prostrate and bow with those who bow [in prayer]."
-
- That is from the news of the unseen which WE REVEAL TO YOU [O Mohammad]. And YOU WERE NOT WITH THEM WHEN THEY CAST THEIR PENS* as to which of them should be responsible for Mary. Nor were you with them when they disputed.*** Note: Some people believe that Mohammad(pbh) knew unseen and future, but this verse confirms that he did not, but the knowledge of the ‘unseen’ was “REVEALED” to him.]
***- 45. [And mention] when the angels said, "O Mary, indeed Allah gives you good tidings of a word[refering to prophet Jesus, who was conceived merely by a command from Allah - the word “BE.”] from Him, whose name will be the Messiah, Jesus, the son of Mary - distinguished in this world and the Hereafter and among those brought near [to Allah].
- That is from the news of the unseen which WE REVEAL TO YOU [O Mohammad]. And YOU WERE NOT WITH THEM WHEN THEY CAST THEIR PENS* as to which of them should be responsible for Mary. Nor were you with them when they disputed.*** Note: Some people believe that Mohammad(pbh) knew unseen and future, but this verse confirms that he did not, but the knowledge of the ‘unseen’ was “REVEALED” to him.]
-
- This is what We recite to you, [O Mohammad], of [Our] verses and the precise [and wise] message*.
-
- Allah would not leave the believers in that [state] you are in [presently] until He seprates the evil from the good. Nor would Allah reveal to you the unseen. But [instead], Allah chooses of His messengers whom He wills, so believe in Allah and His Messengers. And if you believe and fear Him, then for you is a great reward.***
Surah 64(At-taghabun)-Verse# 4.
- 04. He knows what is within the heavens and earth and knows what your conceal and what you declare. And Allah is knowing of that within the breasts.
Surah 81(At-Takweer)-Verse# 24.
- 24. And he * is not a withholder of [knowledge of] the unseen.[prophet Mohammad did not withold that knowledge of the unseen which Allah had revealed to him in the Quran.] *note: As I said, the knowledge of unseen was “revealed” to Mohammad(pbuh), he knew, after it was revealed to him by Allah in Quran.
V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**
----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----***
ramesha, you there sis?..my question remains unanswered
ilme ghaib and power of miracles
According to the Quran, things which are special property of Allah, such as creation, giving life, curing without medicine, the knowledge of what has happened and what
will happen, may either be momentarily given by Him at the moment they are required, or else the power and ability to do them may be given so that they can be used
when necessary, by the permission of Allah. An example of the latter comes in the story of Prophet Jesus (AS) who, according to Quran, said:
"I have come to you with a sign from your Lord; I will CREATE for you out of clay a figure of a bird, then I will breath into it, and it will be a bird by leave
of Allah; I will also HEAL the blind and the leper, and BRING TO LIFE the dead, by leave of Allah. I will also INFORM you of what things you eat and
what you treasure up in your houses. Surely, in that is a sign for you, if you are believers." (Quran 3:49; see also 5:110)
To give a simple example, consider a person who looks at a monitor which displays some part of a database located in the hard drive of a computer. The user can
retrieve any part of this database and see it on the monitor. But the whole database is always in the computer and not in the user's head. Furthermore, the user is
unaware of any real-time modifications that may happen to this data base and the formulas behind the modifications.
more references regarding ilme ghaib from quran
Allah let the Prophet and Imams know whatever they needed to know. However, they don't have the whole knowledge within themselves. But Allah would give them
whatever they needed any time. It is important to understand that what the prophets or the Imams wish to know is exactly what Allah wished to release to them. They
do not wish to know anything that Allah do not want to release to them (among which is the keys to the knowledge of unseen).
Based on Quran and the transmitted traditions by Ahlul-Bayt, Allah has two types of knowledge:
1- The knowledge that is withheld (i.e., Ghayb). As I mentioned Nobody has control over this type of knowledge except Allah. Allah may inform "a news from
Ghayb" to some of His servants, but this is different than "possessing Ghayb". In fact, there is a whole chapter in Usul al-Kafi which discusses this type of
knowledge where it is clearly mentioned that neither the Imams nor the prophets possess the knowledge Ghayb. "The Will (Mashiyyah) of Allah operates on this
knowledge. If He wishes He decrees it. And If He wishes He modifies it and does not carry it out." (See Usul al-Kafi, Kitab al-Hujjah, Tradition #664)
2- The knowledge that is granted. "This is the knowledge that Allah fore- ordained (Qadar, Taqdeer), He decrees it, and carries it out (with no modification). And
this is the knowledge that has been passed down to the Prophet Muhammad, and then to the Imams." (See Usul al-Kafi, Kitab al-Hujjah, Tradition #664)
If the Prophet or Imams possessed any knowledge about the future, it is this second type of knowledge (the knowledge of what has been foreordained), and NOT the
first type of knowledge (the Knowledge of the Unseen).
For the First type of knowledge, Quran states:
"Allah removes what He wills, and confirms what He wills, and with Him is the Essence of the Book." (Quran 13:39).
The unseen knowledge that prophets had, WAS REVEALED TO THEM BY ALLAH THROUGH WAHI. When the wahi stoped coming, the knowledge stoped coming. ONLY ALLAH HAS EVERY KIND OF KNOWLEDGE UNSEEN or anyother!
*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*
----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----
Shias practice something called "taqiyyah"(concealment of truth, lying).>*"Nine tenths of religion is taqiyyah (dissimulation), hence one who does not dissimulate has no religion." *<(Al-Kafi vol.9)
"A believer who does not dissimulate(lying) is like a body without a head."<(Tafseer al-Askari) - And they have many more self-created lies and practices which contradict with Quran and sunnah.
Above listed material in "bold" from shia hadith books contradicts with the teachings of Quran and Sunnah here:
Allah states in the Quran: "Surely those who hide from people the clear proofs and guidance, which we clarified in the Book (Qur'an), will be cursed by Allah and all those who curse." (2:159) And the statement of the Prophet (s.a.w) who said: "Whoever is asked for knowledge and conceals it will have a bridle of fire around his neck on the Day of Judgement." (Abu Dawood, Tirmidhi)
You be the judge, who is right, their lies or word of Allah and Mohammad(pbuh)!!!
cool guy forget it man..whoever wants to learn, they probably learned by now..but u cant teach anything to a thick headed arrogant person
Sherazz,
Change your signature otherwise your posts will be deleted.
[This message has been edited by Sherazz (edited November 30, 2000).]
[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited December 01, 2000).]