*Originally posted by Deviliciousss: *
me too.. its in the lower back.. feels liek its in the spine..
id go to a doctor.. but i rathar not kno...
same here... hubby is buggin me to go see the doctor for so long.. i guess m just scared ... i rather just bear the pain ...
Devil baji yea it's like lower back but on juz one side and then it's the spine it juz hurts so bad..yeh i'll go to da doc soon Inshallah
taqlee yeh i tried sleeping on my back and then on my side cuz i read somewhere that sleeping on ur back without a pillow is better and should sleep on the floor..but it doesn't work for me i can't fall a sleep then cuz it still hurts
Aleezay y r u scared though? u shuld see a doc
Aisha naw dat ain't da problem. my mum has severe back pain too but that's cuz she's been through ALOT n then because she was breast feeding and with the baby n all...n now she's getting these tests done to see wut really is up wid her
hiccup pftt girlfriend i have no time..n when i do and i try it, uff instead of gettin bettah ma whole body sores...but den again das cuz im a lazy bum n need to do it often
irem baji yeh Inshallah i will soon...juz tryna find a lady doc cuz i don't wana go to the family doc he's nice n all but i don't feel comfy :(
have u tried putting a balm there? like iodex? apni choti behn se kaho maalish kar de tumhari teyl garam kar k it might help…it could just be a sprain or muscle prob…is it getting better with time?
and have u tried sleepingi in the curved position? is ur bed too soft? that could also be a prob…
dont eat painkillers, they r not good…
have u tried heating pads for temporary relief?
i think u shud still go to a doc n they r gona do xrays n stuff yaar..just to be safe…tho i dont think at such a young age u would have any of those probs [inshallah]
how long has the pain be there? and is it continuous? or is it on/off ?.. do you still feel the pain when you are resting/sleeping etc? ... the bone might be growing since you are still growing do go and see the doctor or wo be asap ...
I am finally recovered from a 3 month back injury...girl i feel your pain...
First of all, there isn't much that medical science can do. Yes, you can get heavier pain medicine but other than waiting for things to heal and starting a low impact/strenghthening routine you have to wait it out. Go ahead and see the doctor just in case...BUT they most likely will give you anti inflamatorie meds such as motrin/ibuprofin, they can also give you muscle relaxants too but that has varying success.
*Originally posted by hiccup: *
Try pilates or yoga
Good suggestion but if the back injury is acute...you may not want to do heavy duty exercises as of yet....
Depending on your pain. ...BOTH heat and/or ice can work. Try it and see..just remember ice numbs pain heat relaxes muscles. For a while after my back injury i would sit with ice on it all the time..you really shouldn't do more than 20-30 min intervals.
I was in such pain the only thing that worked WAS a combination of several things...
anti-inflams during the day, accupuncture (yes, accupuncture), a nigh med that helped me sleep thru the pain (vicodine was strong but it's life was only 4 hours so i would wake up in pain, after the 2nd month not sleeping thru the night, i was misserable) and LIGHT exercise...water sports were highly recomended.The best thing to do is some stretching and light strenghtening of you stomache and back muscles....if you want more info, pm me and i'll go into detail. To be honest I stayed away from vicodine/heavy pain meds BUT when i wasn't moving because of the pain and getting worse, the pain meds helped me tolerate the pain so that i could exercise and recover..it's a balance.
As for mottie etc...it doesn't have much to do with wieght in my case..i'm skinny and just tried to lift something totally heavy, completly incorrectly and wacked my back out (of course i was also having a sore back from sitting at work alot...)
*Originally posted by crazyLarki: *
try sleepin on the floor
and also put a pillow between ur knees and curl up
Yes on the pillow but basically try the fetal position. Maybe on the floor..i couldn't tolerate it BECAUSE i'm so skinny..my muscles would get sore in my shoulders and hips from the hard floor..FIRM mattress will help.
irem baji yea actually my mum massaged my back and shoulders twice and everytime she does that it gets better for a quiet 20 minutes until i hafta sit n do sum work again. and as far as going to da doc, my doc is stupid she tells me the same thing over n over again
battameez well this pain i’ve had for a couple of years now and it wuzn’t that bad but these 2 weeks have been hectic, i dono y though :(. yeh i can’t sit at all it starts hurting in 10 min of me sittin at one place and then at times when i lay down it still hurts..hmm what does it have to do with the bone growing
cL yea i’ve been sleeping without a pillow and just to be even, but it doesn’t work
lussi y dontcha take me thea
amelie well i did go to the doc a year ago, and she told my i don’t have any back or stomach muscles and she said that’s the only reason it hurts me so much. To gain the muscles she said i have to do certain exercises which i haven’t been doing cuz then i would get bz with stuff and forget to do them and then when i would start again i’d be so sore. yep i have the same problem of not sleeping on the floor cuz im skinny kinda n my whole body aches then. especially my back. i’ve had this pain as long as i can remember, but it goes away for like a month or so and then comes back again and this time it’s just a killer pain. Inshallah i will start doing the exercises as soon as i get time and as soon as i get motivated but other then that i am sure if when i do go to the doc he/she will tell me the same thing. that’s y im not even bothering to pay em a visit
amelie i guess i used the wrong word, but i meant as in with work and school and all the lil errands i gotta run, after i come home im all exhausted and for some reason i do get really tired very easily so after that all i wana do is lay down or sleep. bus himmat nahi rehti
Your choice dear but it’s really only 10-15 min 3 x a week and you can do the exercies at home…while watching TV even.
Remember back pain at this age..can only get worse and what freaked me out was 2 things.
hurting my back post marriage and not even being able to tolerate going to the movies..(sitting up right for 2 hours) or standing in line so no shopping..
that when you get pregnant you’ll have worse pain too..and then you can’t take any medicine…