Why are FB vendors STILL not posting up prices upfront on their pages? Even a lot of legit home based designers don’t list prices? They want you to msg them, or they inbox it to you. I have put posts asking for so many prices at once while going through peoples albums that by the time they respond, I have no idea which dress their even refering to, and no one even cares to respond with a description… its happened more than once! I am just trying to understand the reasoning behind it, business tool to build clientelle or just simply unprofessional?
Re: "I'll inbox you the price" - Whats up with FB vendors NOT posting prices?
Why are FB vendors STILL not posting up prices upfront on their pages? Even a lot of legit home based designers don't list prices? They want you to msg them, or they inbox it to you. I have put posts asking for so many prices at once while going through peoples albums that by the time they respond, I have no idea which dress their even refering to, and no one even cares to respond with a description... its happened more than once! I am just trying to understand the reasoning behind it, business tool to build clientelle or just simply unprofessional?
Its generally not about being unprofessional. When someone sends you a message via inbox or email, the process is potentially interactive compared to you posting the price and people commenting on the picture that they want to order it. (We don't receive notifications from the messages posted under pictures). I purchase from facebook too so I make sure to include the link of the picture along with the code to make sure that whenever they respond, there is a reference of what information was requested.
In certain cases, I have to post the price but there is little to no margin of discussing discounts on already mentioned price. Say I post a dress with a price tag of PKR 10k what are the chances that people won't start debating that this actually should be worth 5k? Not a good idea to have this kind of discussion on a public platform. Privately client can mention his/her concerns and they can be counter argued. Selling on facebook isn't like selling on a website where the only discount someone gets is through coupon code or something similar.
Just to clarify my point I am quoting a couple of the comments received on the FB page where price was mentioned.
Price: PKR 15,000 for a winter coat
A Khan: prices tou dekhay koi hunhh itne b prr ni lagay isma (This comment is still on the picture with my reply)
Price: PKR 10,000 offered as a deal (Deal price is generally equal to the cost of the dress)
i want to take this dress on 3 thousand.
yeah or ye dress 2 ya 3 hazar say ziada deserve bi nahi karti.
lolz bakwas dress (Had to eventually delete the comments cause this type of language isn't acceptable to me.)
So you might understand why some people don't want to have this type of conversation on their walls :@:
Well I think Prototype posts prices on her facebook page and I haven't seen one bad comment.
I think it makes it transparent for everyone.
It's like shopping on the Internet, prices and details about products are available from the vendor and as a consumer if you like the product and price you may purchase it.
I look at Pakistani Brand facebook pages and most of the comments are "price please". Nobody wants a discount or are bargaining, I just want to know the price, that's it.
Just to add on to what the op said. I find it super annoying that vendors increase thier prices as the value of Rupee decreases to match the US currency.
I know things are expensive in Pakistan but they don't increase like 3000 rupees in one year on a suit!
Recently a close family friend visited Pakistan and just came back very recently and she said the Facebook Vendors charge way too much! She went to melange and l'atelier and paid approximately for designer wear what facebook vendors charge.
InshaAllah I will be visiting Pakistan in the very near future and really want to see if an average price for a Formal dress is around 25,000 - 40,000.
It's truly annoying.
Re: “I’ll inbox you the price” - Whats up with FB vendors NOT posting prices?
^ fuzzy you won’t be dissapointed, i was shocked to see on a recent trip to Karachi Zamzama how reasonable prices were in the shops for designer wear, and not much different to what you get asked to pay from facebook vendors ![]()
Thanks clothesmad, are there any particular shops I should visit.
I'm going with my family first time to see Pakistan. I am really excited! I have lots of lists of things I want to purchase, obviously clothes is at the top!
Well that again depends on the clients that you attract to your facebook page. If majority of the fans (as in case of my facebook page) are Pakistanis based in Pakistan, I wouldn't recommend posting the prices at all unless anyone wants to do it for real cheap price.
Fuzzy it all depends on what type you are looking for, there are loads of small local designer shops as well as the big names, and like me you will be pleasantly surprised at the prices.
All reasons aside, it always surprises me how do such vendors have extra time on hands to respond individually to multiple queries about prices of a single product? I honestly find it total wastage of my time to check prices from my saved files and inbox prices to each query separately and then not to hear back at all :halo: for me, putting up prices means I’ll be contacted by serious buyers only to whom the prices are acceptable and they want to proceed with ordering which makes it easier for me and saves me loads of hassle and time.
like I said in another thread:
Eastern Dresses, those are rude comments by people indeed. I have hardly had such discussion on prices so far and if someone questions the price, I am always more than ready to give a full breakdown of all the prices of fabric,kaam,stitching,etc and clearly disclosing my profit margin in it and this ALWAYS satisfies them.
I never disagreed to the idea of putting prices up. I think its convenient for the page admin as well because as the page grows there are chances you'll miss a lead because you weren't able to respond to a price query on time. However, its equally hectic to keep on cleaning the page from these comments. I am sure no one questions your pricing or if they do, your explanation satisfies them too. I hope that would work for me some day too :D
whatever the reasons the vendor might have, I admit that I always get the feeling that they are trying to hide something from me...(i.e. let me deal privately so that I can negotiate up or down without anyone being the wiser).... I prefer to deal with folks that are transparent.
besides...if someone is posting negative remarks on your page then you have the option to delete them.....and if that is too much work then I'm afraid that turning your nose up at that much time to maintain a completely FREE advertising channel is just a bit of a lazy attitude per my standards.
furthermore.......why would you want to waste even more of your precious time engaging with a potential customer that wants to pay $3K for a $10K dress on email?!
whatever the reasons the vendor might have, I admit that I always get the feeling that they are trying to hide something from me...(i.e. let me deal privately so that I can negotiate up or down without anyone being the wiser).... I prefer to deal with folks that are transparent.
besides...if someone is posting negative remarks on your page then you have the option to delete them.....and if that is too much work then I'm afraid that turning your nose up at that much time to maintain a completely FREE advertising channel is just a bit of a lazy attitude per my standards.
furthermore.......why would you want to waste even more of your precious time engaging with a potential customer that wants to pay $3K for a $10K dress on email?!
I never had issues posting prices on GS. Even before it became a policy all the dresses uploaded had a price tag. Any products uploaded on website already has a price updated as well.
I kinda agree to some of the things you said but marketing on facebook isn't universal, that is, what works for one might not work for others. It also depends on the stage you are at with the business.
Just to clarify, unless you pay, any new post made on facebook isn't made available to more than 10% of your fan base as per the new policy so its not entirely free. Rather facebook is the second most expensive mode of advertising I use for eastern dresses after google adwords. Having said that, I appreciate your feedback and really hope to incorporate that in the future.
prototype by which name ur on facebook ?i mean about page
she goes by kapray shapray cancerian.