*IIFA Awards 2009 *

The results are out at the prestigious International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards held at Macau, China. And we have the round up of the glitz, glamour and those who clinched the trophy.

The biggest winner was Ashutosh Gowariker’s historical romance Jodhaa Akbar. It swept the IIFA awards with a perfect 10 trophies - including Best Film, Best Actor (for Hrithik Roshan) and Best Director (for Gowariker).
Double Oscar-winning A R Rahman was honoured with the composer of the decade award. He also won Best Music Director for Jodhaa Akbar. Oscar winner Resul Pokkutty bagged Best Sound Recording for Ghajini. As for the special awards commemorating 10 years of IIFA, Shah Rukh Khan was accorded the Best Male Actor of the Decade, while Aishwarya Rai was crowned with Best Female.

Priyanka Chopra looked at ease with the Best Actress award she lifted for essaying the trials and tribulations of an aspiring model in Fashion.

Hrithik Roshan won the Best Male Actor for his performance as Akbar in Ashutosh Gowariker’s historical romance Jodhaa Akbar. He also won the IIFA Style Icon award.

Asin Thottumkal glowed as she posed with her Best Female Debut award for the action thriller Ghajini.

Newcomer Anushka Sharma, who debuted in Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, also a contender for the Best Female Debut award, however, had to make do with giving sound bites.

Ashutosh Gowariker must have been a very happy man - with his film Jodhaa Akbar bagging 10 awards. But he was a picture of calm as he accepted his award for Best Director.

Kangna Ranaut, dressed as ‘Cinderella goes to the ball’, seemed pretty sure of herself as she clutched the Best Female in Supporting Role award that she bagged for playing a supermodel headed downhill in Fashion.

Arjun Rampal walked away with the award for Best Male Actor in Supporting Role trophy for playing the longhaired, brooding guitarist in Rock On!!

Abhishek Bachchan won the Best Comic Actor award for his performance in Dostana and dedicated the win to his wife Aishwarya Rai and ailing Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh.

The lovely Bipasha Basu walked away with the IIFA Style Icon award. A lot of ladies tried out blue on IIFA night, but no one carried it off quite like Bips.

Farhan Akhtar was surely not surprised when his name was announced for the Best Male Debutant award. And he looked like the cat that had the cream when he posed for the photographers later on.

Singer Shreya Ghoshal, who won Best Female Playback Singer for Teri ore from the hit romantic comedy Singh is Kinng, looked pretty in a sari.

Among the many awards won by Jodhaa Akbar was Javed Akhtar’s Best Lyricist award - for penning the song Jashn-e-bahaara. A well deserved one, indeed.

Rakesh Roshan could not hold back the smiles as he lifted his Best Director of the Decade award.

Rajesh Khanna was also honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award - presented to him by Amitabh Bachchan.
But we could not look away from his blonde hair long enough to appreciate the award! Is he the same raven-haired romantic hero our mothers gushed over?

Re: *IIFA Awards 2009 *

Kangna Ranaut's fashion sense is questionable!

Shreya Ghoshal needs to step it up a notch in her fashion stlye

Asin looks so pretty. I wish Priyanka didn't dress up like a slut and Kangana should have realized this isn't a ball or a wedding for such a dress. Btw, I saw the awards and they edited out the part where Ashutosh talked about Priyanka. And as expected, Anil Kapoor's comment towards Aishwarya was just out of humor, it will make sense when you watch it. It's his dialogue from Slumdog which he used and the hosts kept making fun of throughout the night.

Priyanka looked the bestest.
Kangana's dress was interesting.
and i hated when they just cut out the more masala wallah Ashutosh-bash-Piggy-Chops part.

just hate jaya bachan for doing something like that to priyanka. poor girl.
she was FANTASTIC in fashion...no one cud have performed better than her in fashion, not even her darling bahu Aish.

she didnt wanna look like the villian, so she used ashutosh. CHEAP!

It was terrible of Geo to show 2 mins and give 5 mins ad...argh! anywayz...from what i saw i didnt like much of anything the performances or the show or whatever...lol.

1) Sonam can't dance...she was extreemly nervous but thats ok chalo it was her first performance but still there were 2 other actors giving their debut performance on show and they were all confident. And wth was she wearing during the show? arghh even the performance costume wasnt anything good.

2) Abhi managed to bring some life and excitement in her performance but i felt the choreography wasnt that great. The start was good him coming thru the audience....and i loved how kangana danced, it was so cute :) she luked like a doll lol.

3) I loved the black dress kangana was wearing at the red carpet, i dont know why she changed?!. I loved sush's dress too she looked elegant. Neha looked nice but ofcourse that dress was kinda tight from you know where but i guess she wanetd it to be that way hah. lol

4) Ash has gotten something done to her eyelids or eyebrows...and it has gone wrong cuz she looked old and more fake. And seriously she looked more like big b's wife than abhis :( lol....

5) What the hell was bips wearing during her performance and otherwise too...argh! totally disgusting. priyanka looked jaded too cuz the color didnt look nice on her plus whats the whole attitude abt...just 1 year as success and it has totally gone to her head. diya looked nice.

6) Aushotosh needs help. i thought he got sajid good but he seems to think he is some bollywood god or something cuz he has that look on his face everytime that hey i m the best. and he sucks big time so yah ban him from awards from now on....

i think thats it...........................

Sonam's Grecian-gown-meets-Kerelaite-sari look was gorgeous. atleast for me. very hatke, different and refreshing.
and yes, she cant dance.
you guys noticed how Jaya's hair got all black and bouncy?? Ash ka asar?
Bips' dress wasnt that bad, but she could have done a bit of re-working.
backless doesnt go too well with the deep cleavage.
either that or this.

sonam's performance was terrible. she had a similar look at filmfare as well in that chanel dress, it just doesn't look so good anymore.

chaiwali episode was total fun..media walai bhi nah:smack:

can you post the bit where ashutosh slams priyanka...

Im watchin it now...but only the end bits...when kangna won, she didnt get people standing around supporting her, she ws alone..:{

goddd how pleased with themselves do jaya and amitab look....

aishwarya doesnt look as good as she used to..frozen face

hey wheres the bit where he slags her off...

oh i was talkin abt her performance dress...but ya i thought the other one had something weird abt its fit...i dont know but it didnt look like i well made dress...>:D

she has to give a long emotional speech in praise of her family over and over again…just take your award and buzz off.

yh boring speech and rajaesh khana nay to dimag hi chat lia tha

wow brilliant performance by aish... n she was looking beautifullll

is priyanka wearing that desi girl song sari?

lol @ RAJESHH KHANAA >>>:omg:…:omg::rotfl:

tum jo hoo tou ga rahe hai ye hawa… jao naaaa :cb::cb:

Lol..i don't get the bachans trying to over react at every award function..ashwariya specially dancing on her chair as if she's the only married woman on the planet..lol
Ashutosh i must say has the heart of a lion..he's always taking panga's with other celebs..lol, poor priyanka..