Ignorance Fuels Hatred Of Muslims ...amazing article

Im sure most of u have heard about the Muslims who were assaulted outside a mosque in the US and Falwell’s hatefilled comments about Muslims…this article sheds some light on the possible causes of these incidents and the fact that prejudice against Muslims in the West, esp. the US, is very much a reality and not confined to the so-called “average/ignorant” american. I mean, a prominent/influential figure like Falwell openly badmouthing Islam is not very encouraging.

neway, here’s the article:

**Ignorance Fuels Hatred Of Muslims **
By Charles C. Haynes, Salt Lake Tribune, 31 March 2001

Here’s a tragic story that sets off alarm bells about the future of our life together as U.S. citizens. Earlier in March, two American Muslims were brutally assaulted outside a mosque in Sparks, Nev. One of the victims is in critical condition after being struck several times in the head with a baseball bat. Although robbery was involved, Islamic groups believe the men were primarily targeted because they are Muslims.

Such a belief is understandable because, sadly, this isn’t an isolated incident. The rapid growth of Islam in the United States in recent years has been accompanied by an escalation of hate and prejudice directed toward Muslims. From arson attacks on mosques to discrimination in the workplace, anti-Muslim sentiment appears to be growing across the nation. What’s behind all this? Ignorance and fear. Many Americans know little or nothing about Islam, and what they do know is shaped by media stereotypes that make “Muslim” synonymous with “terrorist.”

So embedded is this distorted image of Islam that American Muslims must constantly strive to correct it.

A few years ago, I participated in a ceremony at the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia where Muslim leaders gathered to celebrate the U.S. commitment to religious liberty.

Facing the news media while standing before that great symbol of freedom, the first Muslim to speak felt constrained to say: “First, let me assure you that we are not terrorists. We are Americans.”

It’s a sad day in America when Muslim citizens feel the need to explain that they aren’t here to destroy the nation they love.

Of course, there are terrorists in the Middle East and elsewhere who act in the name of Islam (just as there are “freedom fighters” in Northern Ireland, Serbia, India, Sri Lanka and other places who kill in the name of their respective faiths). But for the vast majority of the world’s 1.2 billion Muslims, these acts of violence have nothing to do with authentic Islam.

The negative Hollywood image of Muslims is bad enough. But when religious leaders reinforce stereotypes, they contribute to a climate of hostility and prejudice. A case in point: Earlier this month, Jerry Falwell was widely quoted as saying: “The Moslem faith teaches hate.” He went on to argue against allowing Islamic groups to apply for government funds under charitable-choice programs.

“When persons are clearly bigoted towards other persons in the human family, they should be disqualified from funds. For that reason, Islam should be out the door before they knock.”

Anyone familiar with the American Muslim community could have explained to Falwell that his characterization of Islam is false and unfair. The Qur’an teaches compassion, not hate. And one of the pillars of the faith is “zakat,” or almsgiving.

Although schools are beginning to teach more about Islam, most Americans have little accurate information about Muslims. That probably means we will see more outbreaks of prejudice and hate as Islam grows in size and influence.

It’s worth remembering that something very similar occurred in the 19th century with the great influx of Catholic immigrants to the United States. Many Protestant Americans saw Catholicism as a menace, agreeing with John Adams that “a free government and the Roman Catholic religion can never exist together in any nation or country.”

Attempts were made to limit immigration from Catholic nations and to deny citizenship to Catholics. Laws were passed to keep papist influences out of public schools. This era was marked by social discrimination and, on occasion, riots and violence directed at Catholics.

But today, in spite of lingering anti-Catholic prejudice in some quarters, few Americans question the patriotism or loyalty of Catholic citizens. Roman Catholics make up one-fourth of our population, and their church is in the mainstream of life.

In the next few decades, Muslims likely will experience the same pattern of acceptance and integration as Catholics, Mormons, Jews and others who have suffered periods of widespread discrimination in our history.

Perhaps this time we can work harder to cut short the cycle of prejudice and hate that precedes understanding and acceptance. We can start by learning something about the nearly 6 million Muslims in our midst and welcoming them as fellow Americans.
http://www.themodernreligion.com

**~~I’m not going to ask if you just said what I think you just said because I know it’s what you just said.~~**DS

Maybe it should begin by muslims who study and work in the U.S. to condemn people like Osama and the Taliban. Rather than posting about how bad the U.S. is compared to the muslim world. If that was case...why would these hypocrites by here?

Thank you for the good Read! =)

Don't you think that religious freedom in America is far better than most countries elsewhere? Just curious ...

Stereotyping is common among nations, and every race/cult/religion has to face it every now and then. How good of a job they do to clear up that misunderstanding (if there is one) is up to them.

Originally posted by Infoman:
Maybe it should begin by muslims who study and work in the U.S. to condemn people like Osama and the Taliban. Rather than posting about how bad the U.S. is compared to the muslim world. If that was case...why would these hypocrites by here?

i know what you're saying and believe me, there are Muslim individuals and organizations who condemn Osama and the likes of him.
Just two weeks ago i heard several interviews on the MPAC (Muslim Public Affairs Council) website, by Muslims condeming Osama and terrorists like him. Many Muslim groups are among the first to denounce acts of terrorism...but its just that they dont get as much coverage in the media.
But all that aside, this article is about prejudice against Muslims in the US...so lets stick to it.

~~I'm not going to ask if you just said what I think you just said because I know it's what you just said.~~DS

[This message has been edited by hk (edited April 05, 2001).]

Originally posted by ahmadjee:
**Thank you for the good Read! =)

Don't you think that religious freedom in America is far better than most countries elsewhere? Just curious ...

Stereotyping is common among nations, and every race/cult/religion has to face it every now and then. How good of a job they do to clear up that misunderstanding (if there is one) is up to them. **

yes i agree with all of that. There is more religious freedom in the West (US, Canada) than most countries.
But i think despite that freedom, Muslims are probably the only group who face such prejudice. Take women who wear hijab for instance, i hate the way people stare at them, as if they're to be hated/pitied for being oppressed and being Muslims. But then, atleast these women are allowed to wear hijab.
I read about this woman in the UK who wasnt allowed to wear hijab for her passport photo. She fought with the british gov't and won in the end. But this wouldnt be possible in a country like France where girls are thrown out of school for wearing hijab.
Christianity and Islam have had a bitter history together but i doesnt have to stay that way. But if people like Falwell are allowed to spread ignorance, how is the rest of the population supposed to understand Muslims.

~~I'm not going to ask if you just said what I think you just said because I know it's what you just said.~~DS

[This message has been edited by hk (edited April 05, 2001).]

We are the Taleban-Resistance is Futile
Sin: Osama Bin Junior

YB's got a point there

No matter how hard we try they will ALWAYS hate us. Because we preach something different. It is true, they are scared of Muslims. They are scared because all Muslims are terrorists to them. And their ignorance is fueling their hatred. Just as Infoman put a condition that Muslims should condemn Osama to be not-treated-bad. Its like a 5-year-old Muslim child has to first condemn Osama before he is allowed to come to class. I mean no one goes around asking Catholics to condemn the IRA before they are treated "well".

Its all crap, though Infoman comes here and chats with all us Pakis here, he still hates Islam! And he will not condemn the making of stereotypes created about Muslims, but he will put a CONDITION on not making stereotypes about Muslims. It is people who hate Islam that WANT Islam to have a bad name.

No matter what we do or say, we will ALWAYS be considered terrorists by the likes of Infoman. Though his name might suggest that he does have the info... I beg to differ. His putting CONDITIONS on Muslims being treated like humans indicates just that. Its an indication that Muslims have to conform to the way that others CONDITION us to believe.

Here infoman has shown his true colors. Hats off to Infoman.

Although I have noticed a significant reduction in anti-American rhetoric by US- and UK-based Pakistins in this forum, your hatred for us id still evident. You are the same people who cheered when th US embassy in Africa and the USS Cole were bombed by terrorists.

Listed below are some of the gems I have collected from pak.org.

YUSUFALI: Remember thy Lord inspired the angels (with the message): "I am with you: give firmness to the Believers: I will instil terror into the hearts of the Unbelievers: smite ye above their necks and smite all their finger-tips off them."
PICKTHAL: When thy Lord inspired the angels, (saying): I am with you. So make those who believe stand firm. I will throw fear into the hearts of those who disbelieve. Then smite the necks and smite of them each finger.
SHAKIR: When your Lord revealed to the angels: I am with you, therefore make firm those who believe. I will cast terror into the hearts of those who disbelieve. Therefore strike off their heads and strike off every fingertip of them.

YUSUFALI: But when the forbidden months are past, then fight and slay the Pagans wherever ye find them, an seize them, beleaguer them, and lie in wait for them in every stratagem (of war); but if they repent, and establish regular prayers and practise regular charity, then open the way for them: for Allah is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.
PICKTHAL: Then, when the sacred months have passed, slay the idolaters wherever ye find them, and take them (captive), and besiege them, and prepare for them each ambush. But if they repent and establish worship and pay the poor-due, then leave their way free. Lo! Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

SHAKIR: So when the sacred months have passed away, then slay the idolaters wherever you find them, and take them captives and besiege them and lie in wait for them in every ambush, then if they repent and keep up prayer and pay the poor-rate, leave their way free to them; surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

YUSUFALI: Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day, nor hold that forbidden which hath been forbidden by Allah and His Messenger, nor acknowledge the religion of Truth, (even if they are) of the People of the Book, until they pay the Jizya with willing submission, and feel themselves subdued.
PICKTHAL: Fight against such of those who have been given the Scripture as believe not in Allah nor the Last Day, and forbid not that which Allah hath forbidden by His messenger, and follow not the Religion of Truth, until they pay the tribute readily, being brought low.
SHAKIR: Fight those who do not believe in Allah, nor in the latter day, nor do they prohibit what Allah and His Messenger have prohibited, nor follow the religion of truth, out of those who have been given the Book, until they pay the tax in acknowledgment of superiority and they are in a state of subjection.

YUSUFALI: O ye who believe! fight the unbelievers who gird you about, and let them find firmness in you: and know that Allah is with those who fear Him.
PICKTHAL: O ye who believe! Fight those of the disbelievers who are near to you, and let them find harshness in you, and know that Allah is with those who keep their duty (unto Him).

SHAKIR: O you who believe! fight those of the unbelievers who are near to you and let them find in you hardness; and know that Allah is with those who guard (against evil).

Here are some of the verses, which are very very disturbing to a human being who's only crime is that he does not believe in Islam or Mohammed. But even if one is an atheist, should he be killed for not believing in GOD?I find the 008:012 most distastefull and disturbing.

"Kill the mushriqeen (pagans, polytheists, kuffar) where ever you find them."
[Al-Qur’an 9:5]

Verse 5 of Surah Taubah says:
"But when the forbidden months are past, then fight and slay the Pagans wherever ye find them, and seize them, beleaguer them, and lie in wait for them in every stratagem (of war); but if they repent, and establish regular prayers and practise regular charity, then open the way for them: for Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most merciful."
[Al-Qur’an 9:5]

Similarly in Surah Taubah chapter 9 verse 5 the Qur’an says, "Kill the Mushriqs where ever you find them".

Surah Taubah chapter 9 verse 6 says:
"If one amongst the pagans ask thee for asylum, grant it to him, so that he may hear the word of Allah; and then escort him to where he can be secure that is because they are men without knowledge."
[Al-Qur’an 9:6]

It is not permissible to join in the non-muslim festivals for the following reasons:

Firstly: because this entails imitating or resembling them, and “Whoever imitates a people is one of them.” (Narrated by Abu Dawood). This is a serious warning. ‘Abd-Allaah ibn al-‘Aas said: Whoever lives in the land of the mushrikeen and celebrates their Nawrooz (New Year) and their Mahrajaan (festivals), and imitates them until he dies, he will be a loser on the Day of Resurrection.
Secondly: taking part in their festivals is a kind of befriending them and showing love for them. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):
“O you who believe! Take not the Jews and the Christians as Awliyaa’ (friends, protectors, helpers), they are but Awliyaa’ of each other. And if any amongst you takes them (as Awliyaa’), then surely, he is one of them… “[al-Maa’idah 5:51]
“O you who believe! Take not My enemies and your enemies (i.e. disbelievers and polytheists) as friends, showing affection towards them” [al-Mumtahanah 60:1]
Thirdly: festivals are the matter of religion and beliefs, not the matter of worldly customs, as is indicated by the hadeeth: “Every nation has its Eid, and this is our Eid.” Their Eid or festival reflects their corrupt beliefs of Kufr and Shirk.
Fourthly: “And those who do not witness falsehood, and if they pass by some evil play or evil talk, they pass it by with dignity” [al-Furqaan 25:72 – interpretation of the meaning]. The scholars interpreted this aayah was referring to the festivals of the mushrikeen. It is not permissible to give any of them cards for their festivals, or to sell them cards or any of the other things they need for their festivals such as lights, trees or food – including turkey, candy canes, etc.

Sahih Muslim, Book 001, Number 0176:
It is narrated on the authority of Usama b. Zaid that the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) sent us in a raiding party. We raided Huraqat of Juhaina in the morning.
I caught hold of a man and he said: There is no god but Allah, I attacked him with a spear.
It once occurred to me and I talked about it to the Apostle (may peace be upon him). The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said:
Did he profess" There is no god but Allah," and even then you killed him?
I said: Messenger of Allah, he made a profession of it out of the fear of the weapon.
He (the Holy Prophet) observed:
Did you tear his heart in order to find out whether it had professed or not?
And he went on repeating it to me till I wished I had embraced Islam that day.

[This message has been edited by schopenhauer (edited April 05, 2001).]

here are some more gems from pak.org

This interview was published in February 1999 issue of "Jamhooria Islamia" a monthly Baluchi magazine published from Panj-gar. Interview with Nawabzadaa Nabiullah Khan. Interviewed by Jalil Amir ---

Hence we do not care if such Indian Muslims die in the riots.

Women should not have life outside the family. Education can be provided to them but not to compete with men in public.

…since all the main leaders of Jamaat believes that women will not have voting rights after they come to power, they should openly say that.

As explained by Qazi, the idea of Jizya is not protection money. But it is a monetary force on the non-Muslim to convert to Islam. Once the Jamaat comes to power, the minorities will be induced (forced) to become Muslims either by monetary or psychological factors. JI is already equating the India with Hindus so that the Hindus of Pakistan will be forced to become Muslims.

JI actively involved in destroying the Hindu temples in Punjab and Sindh. We ordered the destruction of the Hindu family property too. But our main aim was to destroy the Hindu temples. We wrote the JI pamphlets that destroying each pagan temple make a Muslim move closer to heaven of Allah. We used the Hadiths in all the pamphlets. Babar destroyed the Ram temple in Ayodhya. Because he was a true believer. The same way every Muslim should take upon himself to destroy the Hindu temples in Pakistan. Our idea was to encourage the Muslims of India also to destroy the Hindu temples in India. But this was not met with much success since the Hindu police in India started attacking the Muslims who were doing the Allah's duty.

. But Qazi explained to me that it is true. He told me three or four Hadiths in which the camel urine and camel milk drinking is suggested. So Qazi wanted to drink the camel urine and camel milk along with the Sheik

Every God abiding Pakistani Muslim will get slaves once we conquer India.

One of Qazi's relatives wanted to become a Hindu. He did not have a child for many years and it seems he had prayed to a Hindu God and got the child. Hence he felt thankful to that god and wanted to become a Hindu. Qazi got to know of this and called him and threatened him dire consequences. That relative did not become a Hindu.

Q: But we still need the arms and knowledge of western world, which believes in science. And again you had referred to television as evil. If we abolish photography how can we have passports or identification cards?
A: Yes. That is strategic. With the help of Allah, we will be given oil for them to run their cars and we will have arms in that place. We will use their arms to destroy them in the course of time. As for as photos are concerned, they will be banned as it is done in Afghanistan

Although I have noticed a significant reduction in anti-American rhetoric by US- and UK-based Pakistins in this forum, your hatred for us id still evident.

I am an American too, and I can say it loud and clear that I hate America and F**K America!!!!! Not only here but in American faces all over, white, black, hispanic and you dont count! now wot??????

Thank u come again!

[This message has been edited by yOuNgBrAt (edited April 06, 2001).]

The United Snakes of America, the new world order. After it destroyed the Communists ideology it has now set it sights on ISLAM, but it will never succesed,because the truth will be victoriuos. One look at history shows how many people they killed and slaughtered i.e native indians,abrogines,japanese,korean,cuban's,iraqi's,sudenese,kenya,afhgan's etc the list is endless, just for the sake of thier increasing their wealth. And then they accusing others of being barberic,(We ask ALLAH to return the mighty khilafah state so that mankind can once again witness the peace and tranquilty of islam).

And one more point whats this, that we are American muslim, british muslim,pakistani muslim, arab muslims,african muslim etc???
May i remind brothers and sisters that the ummah of Muhummed(saw) is one ummah which is only bonded on the islamic aqeedah, not of one nationlism,patorism,race,tribal etc because this only serves to divide the muslim ummah and to prevent the return of the unique islamic state.

YB:

Isn't it amazing that you can say all those things about America while living in and benfetting from what America has to offer.You should be thankful for the opportunity granted. There are lines forming outside the local embassies in Islamabad, New Delhi and the rest of third world for a chance to get into America.

Could you do the same in Afghanistan, Pakistan, even India for that matter...I think not.

schopenhauer ive seen similar useless ramblings of yours before. I am not an American and this article does NOT promote hatred for america. If u'd paid close attentiion and read the article, u'd notice that the author is an american and NOT a Muslim. He also mentions the love Muslims have for the US just like the rest of the groups in the country. How is addressing the issue of prejudice against Muslims anti-American? Its the same as talking about prejudice against black americans...would u consider that anti-American?
I dont care for ur narrow minded/prejudiced views but next time, DONT presume so much or put words in my mouth.

**YB:

Isn't it amazing that you can say all those things about America while living in and benfetting from what America has to offer.You should be thankful for the opportunity granted. There are lines forming outside the local embassies in Islamabad, New Delhi and the rest of third world for a chance to get into America.

Could you do the same in Afghanistan, Pakistan, even India for that matter...I think not.

Whatever I said is to tick off schopenhauer. He comes here talking about FBI, CIA, and newspaper. WHO IS HE TRYING TO SCARE? I have talked about Taliban/OSAMA and SADDAM with Americans all over, my history teachers, science teachers, even a JEW teacher, what did they do that he is going to do? One thing for sure is that they an't lil sissies like this guy. He thinks he knows about America Law etc and we dont… and he is trying to scare who? ME? US?

What is he trying to say by this?

Although I have noticed a significant reduction in anti-American rhetoric by US- and UK-based Pakistins in this forum, your hatred for us id still evident. You are the same people who cheered when th US embassy in Africa and the USS Cole were bombed by terrorists.

That we have nothing better to do then show hatred to America and Americans?

He comes here talking like a lil sissy, so I say GO CALL THE COPS BABY, I’m right here.

And I’m going to support Taliban and Osama as long as I want, because if American can support a pervert like Clinton then there is no shame in supporting someone who is willing to die in the name of GOD!

[This message has been edited by yOuNgBrAt (edited April 06, 2001).]

I am a proud pakistani and would like to assure all american pakistani criticizing americans that you are much much better off there,you have all kind of freedom about your religeon.here in pakistan masajid are the most unsafe place in the whole country. you don't see machine guns at the door of evry masjid and imambargah in the west. you don't have cops recording every khutba of imam sahib in the west.
wassalam

**YB:

Inf Oman:
YES u r right in india they would muzzle you ,thats why we dont believe India is a democratic also,just as Pakistan.WE admit & say ,You dont say but DO IT anyway without saying.

This is the difference between you & us.I do not know how yiou came here ,but speaking for ppl. like us we did not form a line in Delhi Madras or Islamabad.We didnt come seeking assylum also .We didnt come at any such terms that we owe allegience to us .We came legally on whatever visa & are here on our own legal merit.WE dont see anyreason to talk behind back like you .What you mean by saying "you are saying this": You are hypocrite you dont say but just feel.That is even worse b/c just because you dont say anything to american doesnt make you any more friendlier than muslims.You think that America did not support you in 71 you hate the fact tht Nixon sudelined india You hate Senator Moynihan who saifd that only thing india EXPORTS IS INFECTIOUS DISEASES.
Dont say anything but how can you hide your actions ,You know american are not dumb like indian who just go by WISHESES
"Muh me ram ram bagal meine churi"
STOP BEING HYPOCRITE thats worse than being anti imperialism &anti-american exploitative foreign policy.
Only liars cheaters ,& corrupt indian speak in dark & need to be taped by TEHLKA.
What we are doing is open argument .If you can disprove you are welcome to add your point.Yes America has many things more than anywhere else ,but will you go & suck up to the richest man b/c he can give you most money,WE DONT ;that is the difference with you & us!

Yes SOME ppl.hate us we know that & you know that ,but whats knew about it atleast it is not as bad as in 1500 yrs ago when there were only dozen muslims ,mashallah now we know that even if i die there will be 1 bn left to carry on.

"jo kHat main kahte they apni jaan mujhko
aaj kHat likhne main unki jaan jaati hai .....

[This message has been edited by FYI (edited April 07, 2001).]

Thanks hk for the interesting article.

It reminded me of my student days a coupla years back when i shared a house with an English guy called Chris. We soon became good mates having shared many common interests and it was probably a new experience for him too, to share a place with a UK Muslim. Chris was a non-practising Catholic and we would often talk about Islam. I told him all i knew and we spent many long nights into the early morning chatting about Islam, Christianity and God. I always encouraged him to go to Church or read the Bible more often as he was begining to take an interest. He told me about a near-death experience and we both tried to analyis what it meant to him it was the nearest he came to God.He is such a nice guy that i still pray for him-always laughing always listening to what i had to say earnstly.

One day he promised me that if he ever heard anyone saying anything bad about Islam or Muslims he would stick up for us! Well i thought, he was being a good friend, but maybe the opportunity would never come up or he would forget.

Six months later Chris went to the States to continue his education. He was staying with a practising Catholic family. I soon got an email from him and you know what? He cleared up all the apprehensions that family had about Islam! He told them that we were a peaceful people and committed to Allah (swt) just as much as they were. My Catholic friend educated others about Islam! Boy was i proud.

This is just a small story, but perhaps it offers a glimmer of hope...

Think i'll give Chris a call.

Originally posted by Gubber Singh:
I am a proud pakistani and would like to assure all american pakistani criticizing americans that you are much much better off there,you have all kind of freedom about your religeon.here in pakistan masajid are the most unsafe place in the whole country. you don't see machine guns at the door of evry masjid and imambargah in the west. you don't have cops recording every khutba of imam sahib in the west.
wassalam

looks like some of arent getting the point...this post/article is NOT meant to criticize americans...
Its about prejudice Musims face in america..
the two things are totally different..so lets stick to the topic! geez!

ps..thanx for sharing that nice story tunku

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

its all in our attitude and how we present ourselves as Muslims to others

**~~I’m not going to ask if you just said what I think you just said because I know it’s what you just said.~~**DS