Re: Iftari at a non-desi restaurant
dude I recommend you use periods. what is your other nick anyway? u sure sound like someone.
yeh, quesadilla .....man there are three and half hours to Aftari
Mr Reincarnation, thanks for the reminders. I’ve been jhatka free for a whole year and going strong. I still have been eating McD’s filet o fish though (theyre two for 3$ on fridays
) and even though its “grilled in the same oil as beef-based french fries or cheeseburgers or flipped with the same spatula that tramsitted the Bacon to the egg mcmuffin” i sometimes manage to convince myself its okay. But thanks to you im off that too now. And yes i am grateful for the food provided to me. That is why now instead of responding to random cravings when im outside i wait to get back home and eat whatevers for dinner. And if theres no dinner cooked then an omelette sandwich with ketchup is the best plan B ever.
Mr Funguy. You have been on gupshup long enough to know opening a thread about iftari and then voicing your stance on zabihah food will most definitely spark a separate debate.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
FF, no one, we eat out or starve a lot. :(
nah asifoo, too busy for that. today I'm home with the kids, they had their vaccinations, and wifey is at the gym. so i was bored, decided to gupshup a bit till kids wake up. which is now.
Mmm mm i can almost smell the brandy or cooking wine they use to make their fish. C’est bonnn ![]()
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Aren't Fish filets 'fried/broiled' in oil? Thats what I thought cuz JIB takes much longer to prepare them.
They dont mention it for the same reason you dont mention cooking oil on the ingredients list: its taken for granted.
Ms Fatale, I'm sorry i jumped to a conclusion too fast because i dont exactly know the cooking methods at the restaurant you go to. But a majority of non muslim establishments use brandy or martini or some sort of alcohol, though in minute proportions, to enhance the flavour of the fish. Cooking wine is another very common taste enhancer.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Femme yaar roza hai kuch tow ehtraam karo :o
sharabi ![]()
Kaun kehta hay kay mai nahee chakh-khee
Kaun jhooti qasam uthaaaataa hay
thai food
or someplace with stuff that's delicious and deep-fried (like a place that serves fries and mozzarella sticks)....mmmmmmmmm and spinach dip, potato skins...maybe something like Fridays OR -- much better -- Cheesecake factory.
Agent, mind your own business when it comes to personal matters, PLEASE!
Did I ask for YOUR or anyone else's opinions? NO
And check your tone in the first post.
Anywhere I can find fresh whipped butter, fresh mushrooms, freshly baked French or Italian bread. Or steak! Or a major French binging spree, complete with insane amounts of black pepper.
These days I am opening them at the coffee shop near home. So soup and bagel it is.
Panera Bread - and I'd order their broccoli and chedder soup, with a frontega sandwich. :)
Reincy ur the one with lil kids n live in CT ritE?
Sara516, rightO!