If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

Re: If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

^ And read my comment carefully - I did not say all Pakistanis - I said I noticed it in some.

Re: If you’re Pakistani and you’re mistaken for an Indian…

This is an interesting post. I like it.

Hm. I didn’t know you were living in Pakistan. According to you, only people in Pakistan holding a green passport qualify to respond?

What color passport do you hold right now?

Pakistaniyat tabhi jagti hai logon ki jab koi Indian keh de. :rolleyes:

Anyway, for those who believe we are not the same…sure there are difference and the main one is our faith. But the reason an average individual mistakes us for one or the other is because to a non-biased person…there isn’t much difference at lease physically. And this fact really hurts egos apparently even though the entire country’s roots are Indian.

You can call it potato or poTAHto…it still looks the same. Pointless getting bent out of shape over it.

I'm not saying punjabis are prettier. Or that they're all Goris. Or that gori skin is better. I'm saying that's what people think when they say "Pakistanis are prettier than Indians". They don't realize that like half of Pakistan looks indian because it's next to India and many of our families migrated over. We did not migrate to be told we don't look Pakistani.

There is no such thing as "looking" Pakistani. There may be a such thing as "acting" or "speaking" Pakistani. But not "looking"

^If there is no such thing as looking Pakistani then there is no such as thing looking Indian either because Indians are even more diverse than Pakistanis.

If someone mistakes me for being Indian, I'll correct them like I would correct anyone who thinks I'm spanish, chinese or iranian. I wouldn't bend out of shape but I won't be particularly pleased either and I definitely don't like the whole "oh you were one country" - Yeah we're not. Move on please.

I'm originally from Kotli in Kashmir, we have all skin colours there, from dark to white and something in between. Most of them are lovely people, inside and outside. With some exceptions of course. I like to see those differences, nice variety so to speak. Nothing wrong with that. Beautiful people are from everywhere and every skin colour, even though I'm personally not attracted to people from every country or continent, I do see beauty in people from everywhere. Some of the loveliest people I know are black. (Eritrea and Portugal, especially Portugese)

This discussion is reminding me of the dark skin - fair skin issue. How sad that had to become an issue.

I agree about people not 'looking' Pakistani. Because of customs and clothing, you can recognise us, but other than that, it's difficult. I've been called Turkish, people asked if I'm Moroccan, Arabian, from the Philippines, Indonesia, if I'm Caucasian Dutch or French or American or English or from one of the East-European countries.

Only when they say India they come close. Sometimes someone will say Bangladesh. After 9-11 people only asked me if I came from Afghanistan (even after being born and raised in the Netherlands, I've worn salwar kameez most of my life), now most of them stopped asking that and it's back to 'are you from India' 'No, my origins are in Pakistan, but I'm born here, so I'm Dutch too' 'Really? Pakistan? So, Bin Laden is Pakistani too, right? No? Do you support him?'

Meh.. I am a citizen of this world and have been mistaken for everything from Indian, Mexican, Filipino, Persian, Italian, Russian, Albanian, and even Polish. Not everyone knows what every race and ethnicity look like. It's dumb to get offended.

Persia does not only refer to modern day Iranian. Historically, at one point Persia also included part of Eastern Afghanistan. Afghan people who refer to themselves as Persian do so to differentiate themselves from the Pashtun majority and mean that they are not Pashtun and are Dari speaking, not that they consider themselves Iranian. In reference to preferences in Afghanistan, I’m not stating that we don’t have our own rather specific standard of beauty or that people don’t find specific features attractive because every culture has that. However, traditionally light skin colour has never a requirement for marriage or in the “ideal woman.”

Yes, every country has its preferences and some may even prefer light skin. However, to state that the fascination with fair skin is given as much emphasis in the rest of the world as it is on the subcontinent is inaccurate. In the countries you mention, its rather unlikely that lack of fairness hinders someone’s marriage prospects or that people reject marriage proposals because the person is not far.

As far as Afghans looking down on Pakistanis, the reason for that is primarily political. Many Afghan people view Pakistani interference as largely responsible for the chaos of the last 40 years and accuse Pakistan of supporting and aiding the Taliban. I’m not stating that this is entirely accurate, but it is the view some people have of Pakistan and the reason for the animosity.

and the main one is our faith.

Just like to point out that there are as many muslims ( or maybe more ) in India as there are in Pakistan. India is not as homogenous in terms of faith as is Pakistan.

The way this conversation evolved from india vs. pakistan to goray vs. kaaley to punjabis vs non-punjabis etc is a sad reflection of state of affairs in pakistan. Even supposedly intelligent and educated people seem to feel the need to identify and defend themselves along ethnic lines even now. There is no one fighting for pakistan. And no one is fighting for islam.

Youn tho Syed bhi ho, Mirza bhi ho, Afghan bhi ho
Tum sabhi kuch ho, batao tho musalmaan bhi ho?

That was written in 1913, over 100 years ago.

Well idk about the pashtun in afghanistan but in Pakistan according to Malala, girls in village talked about fairness creams and Swat isn’t too far from Afghanistan, and i also know Afghans who doubt somebody’s Afghaniyat just because they’re dark skinned and suspect that they’re ‘mixed’.

No, you’re statement is ludicrous because a large number of women in East Asia, the middle east and Latin America as well Africa bleach their skin, they even go further than South Asian women and dye their hair blonde,wear weaves,contacts; if you watch any Latino or Middle eastern movie you would find it hard to believe that the people on tv look like the locals; colorism is universal and that’s why there is racism in America and Europe based skin color.

Actually if you look at statistics, African-American women are the least likeliest to marry outside their race, why is that?Because they’re the darkest, and for the same reasons many Indian and some Pakistani girls find it hard to date outside their race because the darker skinned ethnics are placed at the bottom of the dating totem pole, even to this day White girls are usually put on a pedestal, as the standard of beauty, both by the media and people in general.

That’s not entirely accurate, Afghans have looked down on Indic people even before Pakistan’s inception, they treated them as second class citizens(yes even the Muslim ones) for being darker and I’ve heard Afghans say racist stuff about Sindhis,Punjabis,Urdu-speakers etc and it may have been politically motivated but skin color played a role too, so for you to believe that Afghans don’t care about skin color despite being vehement racists is downright absurd and FAR from the inconvenient truth

Bridal make up is crazy in South Asia but so is it in most of Asia

^That bride is getting caked in make up and she’s from the other side of the durrand line

I guess you could say it's the inverse for me...I'm of Indian descent but people sometimes confuse me for being Pakistani. I don't mind it but I'll correct them since the questions are almost always along the lines of "are you Pakistani". A lot of times I'll also be confused for being Gujarati and I'll tell them I'm not. However I've never been offended by it.

Also, since I grew up in the west, I'd say that I really don't see much difference between Indian Muslims and Pakistanis.

A lot of the times it's not just about colour itself It's about the features also and height and body build and hairstyle and how liberal they are

Oh dear. Where did I state that Afghans are immune from racism? I never stated that some Afghan people are not racist. Obviously, some people are. What I stated was that the animosity and downright hatred some Afghans have towards Pakistanis is not primarily based on skin colour.

Most of the hostility is politically motivated and based on other idiotic stereotypes and prejudices, not solely colour. For instance, a common stereotype some Afghan people have of Pakistanis is that they're not "real muslims" and "copy hindus" because some Pakistani traditions resemble traditions in India, such as brides wearing red, wedding traditions, and living in joint families. Most of the arrogance and contempt some Afghan people have towards Pakistanis is based on similar outlandish stereotypes and political animosity.

I don't see how Pakistanis copy 'hindus', over 50-65% of Pakistanis are Indics and descend from Hindu converts so they're just following the traditions their ancestors did, similarly how Iranic people celebrate Nowroz and follow zoroaster traditions and Balkan Muslims follow European culture; if you realy want to see the most Hinduized version of Islam then you should visit Indonesia; it's really common for Indonesian Muslims to have Hindu names.

^ :k:

I did state that such stereotypes were absurd and idiotic. It is also rather hypocritical given that all Muslim cultures retain some cultural traditions that date from the pre-Islamic era.

Well said.

I'm surprised at the foolishness and ignorance reeks from some of the posts. People who say "Pakistanis" look like "Indians" probably know jack sht about the profound racial, cultural and lingual diversity of both Pakistan and India. Not all Pakistanis look the same, not all of Indians look the same. There is so much diversity within those countries, so how can people can think they're being clever by making such all fluffy and airy broad brush statements? If only all of Pakistan meant whatever town and city you visit every 1-15years for 14 days and all of India meant whatever town or city their families migrated from nearly seventy years ago. There's so much to these two countries than whatever wishy washy stuff one pretends to see their snowy vision.

Instead of pulling ethnic cards, it might help if people buy themselves a good history book on Punjab. It might help them think before typing and save them from embarrassing themselves.

any particular history book that will aid people distinguish the various brownie peepz of the subcontinent from each other from one or two casual glances? please recommend, jolie je..

But the reason an average individual mistakes us for one or the other is because to a non-biased person.

Errr, that's got nothing to do with bias in most cases, it essentially reduces down to level of regional and ethnic familiarity, knowledge and experience one has.

I cannot tell a difference between Caribbean and African black, or a Nigerian black or a Kenyan black, but literally all my black friends can. Likewise, to my mother, a white person is a white person regardless of his/her nationality. I, however, can mostly and in some cases easily distinguish between a German and an Englishman, Scandinavian and French, and between an Italian and Spanish. That's not me be being bias, that's just me knowing a thing or two about local population and history, along with having tiny bit of interest in genealogy.

I occasionally used to walk to down to school with an Argentinian girl who absolutely hated being confused as Brazilian at the age of 14. I always thought it's something to with world famous and my personal favourite Argentina vs Brazil football rivalry, but apparently there's lot more to it. So yes, identity can be very important to people, and people identify themselves in a lot of different ways with lot of different things.

Mujhe to yeh samajh nahi arahi why do people expect others to know what every race and ethnicity look like? Pakistanis and Indians are very mixed to begin with. Hardly anyone in either country is pure racially. This is so idiotic!