If you were young and diagnosed with a fatal disease

[Allah na karay…]

would you tell your loved ones about it..? Would you tell anyone..?

Of course, it would be a prime milking opportunity. :p

Seriously though, that'd suck. I might tell people I know who won't just blurt it out to the next person they see. Other than that, my family will, of course, know. This is something I feel they have a right to know, and depending on how young you are (or I am) that information may already have been delivered to at least the parents. I'd then prolly spend my last days enjoying myself, with my family and among my friends (and no work!).

After wasting time and thinking.

No, possibly not.

RT Wolf, why do you say they have a right to know? Isn't it better if they remain in ignorant bliss? The sooner near the patient's death they find out the better...is it not? As for not working...hmmm...belive me working is the reason we can go on in life, we have something to occupy our time and not think of things...

hiccup, but when the patient is dying and the symptoms are really obvious...then what does the patient do? Do they take a job in a different city and live there, telling their loved ones they are okay...and then pass away in isolation...? I think that's the best approach.

do u watch kkusum? the guy in it got kumut pregnant n now that hes dieing he wants her to hate her so that she wont get hurt n hes trying to do that by telling ppl shes cheating on him :rolleyes: anyways guys r dumb like that…

I used to think i wouldnt, but I guess I would tell em like when its almost time to die cuz then they would be prepared

Maybe to one or two of them but not to everyone untill and unless I cant keep it a secret due to health condition.

I can't see as how you would be able to keep it a secret.

But I do understand what RT means when he says that they have a right to know. There are feelings that we all keep bottled up inside us sometimes it's too late to express them because the people pass away. I would appreciate knowing if someone I love is gonna be gone because I would make the effort to express those feelings.

One more thing....

We all have a fatal disease...it's called life.
;)

I don't mean that to be a negative statement.

^True.. all of us are dying as I type now. :(

*Originally posted by irem: *
RT Wolf, why do you say they have a right to know? Isn't it better if they remain in ignorant bliss? The sooner near the patient's death they find out the better...is it not? As for not working...hmmm...belive me working is the reason we can go on in life, we have something to occupy our time and not think of things...

Well, it's just how I look at family. I feel my family to be a part of me, like a limb, kinda, or I'm the limb of the family-body. A fatal illness is something very important that they should know, just cause they're my family. And I know I wouldn't like being told close to their death that they were about to die, I'd like to know before, I'm not exactly sure why. I know I wouldn't like not knowing until late.

Working, well, that's something else. It depends. If I found out I was gonna die in a few years, sure, I'd work. If I found I was gonna die in a week, pfft, screw that. I wanna spend all my time left on things that matter. I mean, what's my teacher gonna care I didn't hand in an assignment if I'm dead. People aren't gonna remember that, my family will remember I spent my last time with them.

I would…

But my cousin dint , and he seemed quite sad and lonely in the last few weeks…If only I knew…:teary1:

thanks for your replies everyone :-) and Allah na karay that u or any of ur loved ones r ever in this situation...aameen...

Pakora ...maybe this is painful for u to talk abt...hmmm...it has been on my mind since i read that thread...that ur cousin was so young, only 29, and passed away only 11 mths after the diagnosis...subhanallah...may Allah give him heaven inshallah aameen...
he didnt tell anyone? not even his immediate family?....mashallah, he must be one courageous soul..

RT, Muzna I get you, but, imagine how much pain it would give your loved ones to see you sufferring and going through pain...wouldnt it be better to separate yourself from them...?

BM...true..

*Tikhi * that sounds sad yaar :/

Re: If you were young and diagnosed with a fatal disease

[Allah na karay...]

would you tell your loved ones about it..? Would you tell anyone..?

I agree to the statement about being their right to be told. It hurts but u dont really want to spread the disease to them so why take risk, let them be more careful unless they are too young or too old to bear the truth.

Pakora ...maybe this is painful for u to talk abt...hmmm...it has been on my mind since i read that thread...that ur cousin was so young, only 29, and passed away only 11 mths after the diagnosis...subhanallah...may Allah give him heaven inshallah aameen...
he didnt tell anyone? not even his immediate family?....mashallah, he must be one courageous soul..

Nahi! I can discuss. He had pancreatic cancer. He weighed almost 220 pounds when this disease hit him. After the first operation his weight reduced to 140 and in the last days he was around 80 pounds. His older brother knew but kept on telling us all that its just an obstruction and he is loosing weight because of depression and we believed him . On the other hand Ismail turned into a complete introvert, I still visited him.. He became very moody and sometimes my jokes became a bit too much for him ( just like GS ppl) and I thought he is just being snobbish and retaliated .

The reality sunk in a day before he passed away I went to see him in PIMS Islamabad, and when I saw him there I thought OMG:( ! …..
He had intravenous drips in his jugular , he had turned totally black , was slightly delusional, could not remember names ……I just couldn’t believe it , We as kids grew up together(all of us cousins live in a common household) playing cricket in summer afternoons, cycling the whole of Peshawar sadar, making fun of each other , Teasing the elders and listening to lengthy sermons from Grandma, standing outside girls colleges , comparing notes on girlfriends, waiting outside Muddys, Marriott till 2:am to get a date, the list is endless……

Ismail u will never be forgotten, u r always in our prayers…

Khuda Hafiz Bhai.:)

chodhry bhai....thats true....hmmm...but what if the disease is non contagious?

Pakora....i'm speechless...
may Allah swt grant jannah to your cousin Ismail...aameen sum aameen

pakoraa hugs :frowning:

Yes maybe i would tell only few close ppl :eek:.. but No i wont …they ll get hurt naa :(…

Basically I agree with what Muzna said.

Maut ko samjhay haiN Ghaafil Ikhtetaam-e-Zindagi
Hay yeh shaam-e-Zindagi, subh-e-dawaam-e-zindagi!

I beleive I will tell to my close ones… The thought of them being hurt is relative… personally, I don’t think they will not get hurt if i die.. Of course they will.. then, what’s the point in doing all that?

well, easier said than done, ofcourse!!!

But I strongly believe in atleast telling one person, to admire the trust among the people. Everyone will die one day. The time is written. Fatal disease is just another worldy excuse. Faith is Blind and at the end of the day Faith is the ultimate reality:flower1: