If you became the most powerful person in Pakistan..

What would you do?

Doesn’t matter if that is being a President or Prime Minister post. Assume you have power on all administrative ofices and Army
is in your control.

Re: If you became the most powerful person in Pakistan..

Kill off all the Bhuttos :D

Education reforms on emergency basis. Money would come primarily from cuts from defense budget.

Make the government as lean as possible, incorporating systems reforms to bring independence in departments like railways, sports, airlines, election commission etc.

Devolve administrative and fiscal powers to provinces and divisions with central government primarily only in control of defense, security, external affairs, monetary policy and strategic policies for energy, natural resource development, international trade.

P.S. Heavy import duties for luxury goods like cars, high end mobile phones and zero tax on chocolates!!!

We had a thread like this earlier… Oh well i’ll use most of the same party manifesto… :slight_smile:

Introduce huge social reforms to make our country the worlds first Islamic republic again, something all Muslims can have pride in :jhanda:

Reduce the over budgeted armed forces and plan new strategies along the lines of assymetric warfare, make my country un-conquerable and begin martial training of the whole population should the nation ever be invaded it will be able to resist with great ferocity and break any army that dares attack our motherland… indeed the army will be the people and the people the army. :jhanda: Forget conquering others or fighting over things… we’ll just pull back from the border and stay strong at home… if we are attacked we will break the enemy totally and whats more we will only fight a just war.

Introduce free education to the masses and thus prevent litteracy rates and remove permanently the elite establishments from having too much control over a puppet people.

Introduce free healthcare to all citizens and only make the rich pay for thier cosmetics :wink:

Help the people of the country no matter what it takes, nationalise many institiutions so that the people have ownership and access to everything.

Introduce pure democracy and not democracy by representation, using a system actually borrowed from TLK bhai’s suggestion in another thread of Ramadan voting and Masjids being central to election processes as per any Muslim nation the Masjid should be the centre of society.

Introduce strict taxes on the rich and limit taxes on those who cannot pay…

Sort out the electricity shortage no matter what, i will not rest until every home has the same as what i as a leader have. I wont take a spoonfull of rice until all the people get the same amount as me.

Make it easier for the public to control the leaders and not the other way round… leaders should lead from the front just as they should on the battlefield… if the leader aint up to it… get him off his perch.

Allow the people of Pakistan to live in peace and work for peace even negotiating with terrorists or imperialists if we have to… if the TTP or Nato attack us again wipe them out or fight to the finish all and one…, we are Muslims not mice, shed our blood expect us to shed yours!

Make it easier for Pakistani people to live thier lives happily and reform the judiciary and police systems so that true justice is served. :smash:

Introduce and promote the Pakistani kaum wherever we can and most important of all do whatever is neccasary for our country to survive.

I have many more ideas but these are enough for now…

May we all work to the greater good of Pakistan, it’s people and Islam. Pakistan Zindabaad! :jhanda:

PS look out for me if i ever make it to the top spot, i will like to have five years to do what i can for my people and then disapear to a wilderness or to perform pilgrimage in the holy land, ye shall never see me again unless the people call me back that way i give others a chance to do thier best for the Motherland. :hypo:

get rid of the banking system and bring a new monetary system

Some visions. not necessarily in order:

1) Education reforms. free basic education. goal oriented education that can help the country to progress
2) Shift from security oriented state to welfare state.
3) Limit military budget
4) Encourage people to work for the country. Appreciate their talent and achievements irrespective of religion, creed etc.
5) Tax reforms. the more rich you are, the more tax you will have to pay. Jail the tax culprits
7) Computerized land ownership record. Get rid of patwari rule
8) Computerized and well integrated car ownership records for ease of law enforcing agencies.
9) Spreading hatred against any group big or small by anyone in the name of religion or else will not be allowed.
10) Encourage setting up small/medium businesses. Institutions will there to provide support and guidance to them as what is needed to set up certain business.
11) Gradually reducing the dependence on foreign aid.
12) Financial aid to the countrymen will be given with a vision of making them self sufficient.

I can never.
Most here can never.
Old in age to start.
For this you will have to join Army.

Tum kitnay bhutto maro gay

Har ghar se bhutto niklay ga :omg: :omg: :omg:

if i become one then i will:

give free basic education and it will be compulsory.

get rid of any irrevelant entry tests to medicine, dentistry etc.

make strict rules and fines for anyone who throws litter in streets/roads

make strict edcutaion rules for any jobs/posts-NO sifarish

make good public transport

banning and seizing wine/alcohol etc in any part of the country-whether it being privately consumed or publicly

freeing all woman from prostitution/bazaar-e-husn

make good family places/parks

will make new free houses for people who are living in jhopriyaan or in bad areas. (and then perhaps they can buy the house when one of their family member is able to earn).

telling teachers on how they should behave and perform when students give them so much respect.

alter the whole govt hospitals system. giving proper education to all staff on how they should behave when a patient needs the treatment.

chaning the whole police system too. no more showing laziness during work or taking the fir jsut coz the opp party is someone rich.

making sure that all these rules are for the whole country. so that no one part of pakistan says "idhar humara pana qanoon chalta hai"

strict rules against people who go on for extreme strikes....normal strikes/rallies are fine...but the one on tooo extreme are not acceptable. in say mulk ka hi nuqsaan hota hai koi faida nahi.

yaar
thats just wrong. They need to be unelected and authority stripped.

As Quaid e Azam put it very nicely in his final speech at the inauguration of State Bank of Pakistan:

The Quaid’s Speech on the Occasion of the opening ceremony of State Bank of Pakistan on July 1, 1948:-

"I shall watch with keenness the work of your Research Organization in evolving banking practices compatible with Islamic ideals of social and economic life. The economic system of the West has created almost insoluble problems for humanity and to many of us it appears that only a miracle can save it from disaster that is now facing the world. It has failed to do justice between man and man and to eradicate friction from the international field. On the contrary, it was largely responsible for the two world wars in the last half century.

The Western world, in spite of its advantages of mechanization and industrial efficiency is today in a worse mess than ever before in history. The adoption of Western economic theory and practice will not help us in achieving our goal of creating a happy and contented people.

We must work our destiny in our own way and present to the world an economic system based on true Islamic concept of equality of manhood and social justice. We will thereby be fulfilling our mission as Muslims and giving to humanity the message of happiness and prosperity of mankind."

I understand what you are saying but you have to realize people voted for the PPP and not the Bhuttos. The PPP played a role in the restoration of the judiciary and it's plus point, i.e. capable leaders emerged as sincere and ones that could take the country out of a crisis after the trouble a dictator got us into. However, most of the latter were sidelined, and a criminal using a flawed presidential ordinance was able to become the head of the nation. When the legislature is violated, animals like Jamshed Dasti will be elected too.

I'll have 3 priorities

Education, Education and Education

Some sort of Education emergency in the country.

I'll remove all avenues of brainwashing and ensure all pakistanis are educated with true history, true science and truth in general

I agree that PPP did play an important role in the freedom of judiciary, but you can't just kill some politicians and expect things to change. They are part of the history and governance of the government. So the best way would be for someone (other parties) to un-elect them from their offices.

Example: during the '04 campaign (bush second term) he became so unpopular towards the end. And in '08 the democrats were elected with the majority of seats. Bush wasn't killed for his crimes against humanity. Although many would have liked for him to be tried and sentenced. Grant it that Pakistan does not have term limits.

Sadly, in Pakistan the circumstances do not permit for the democratic institutions to make their stances. Most are bribed or silenced.

Yes. very true. They could slash from the defense budget or other wasteful spending and do that.

good luck with that.

This takes millennium. At the very foundation what could be done is set up the system where by it can be achievable in smaller short term goals oriented policies.

So far one thing is common. Education.

Let us take one item at a time.

What do we mean by education?

What kind of education are we talking about?

I don't know if any one of you have seen the move "The Fall of Roman Empire" 1964... Its about power greed and top down corruption, Pakistan fits right in! Unfortunately.

The closing or the end goes something like this when Livius is asked to grab power.

Victorinus: We're in command now Livius, the throne is yours.
Senator: Gaius Mettelus Livius, the people are asking for you.

***Livius: You would not find me very suitable, because my first official act would be to have you all crucified.*

you have my vote Faris !

I agree.

Very thoughtful responses.

Every social evil stems from scarcity of law and justice. I would construct a rigorous justice system with specially very strict public punishments for people who think they are above the law.