If; terrorist attack in ny - thousands dead?

so what do you think will be uncle sam’s response to next terrorist attack on the mainland? probability of an attack is reasonably high in my opinion.

here are my predictions:

1. unilateral bombing of tribal areas by u.s/nato. reminder: no u.n. authorisation will be required because u.s. already has a mandate from the u.n. after 9/11 to go after al-qaeeda. pak’s help to the u.s. in g.w.o.t falls under the u.n. mandate

2. demand will be made on pak to allow the stationing of nato tropps. refusal on the part of pak, will at the minimum, result in the imposition of sanctions. pak economy will collapse meaning people will be barely able to afford food much less other essentials like medicine. pak will go the way of iraq during sanctions

3. mass deportation of people of pakistani origin from the u.s. should one of our brothers be remotely connected to the terrorist.i dont think americans will differentiate between residents/non-residents. remember the detention of japnese-americans during wwii

mullah-supporter response will be to claim cia/mossad involvement. they will claim since mqm killed 500 people on may 12, mqm be tried by international courts before any action be taken against al-qaeeda. domestically mullahs will demand that pak fight the americans/nato. jahil pak awam/media will cheer on the jehadis. end result will be pak turning into afghanistan/iraq. india will get involved as well. probably in taking out our nuclear facilities.

the existing situation in pak is quite worrying in my opinion. i am stuck by the boldness of recent al-qaeeda action in pak. the lal masjid saga shows that al-qaeeda is deeply entrenched in pak and now feels confident enough to take on the govt. this development means that al-qaeeda would be confident about strinking americans at home as well. bottomline, mega-terrorist attack on u.s. soil will mean the end of pak as we know it. given the stupidity of our awam and our intellectuals, i am not sure we deserve a country. and given that pakistanis want to give shelter to people who kill innocent citizens abroad, dunya will likely think we dont deserve a country either. unfortunately pakistanis living in the west wont be immune to the fallout.

Re: terrorist attack in ny - thousands dead

For God's sake yaar...I am sick...bas bhi karo ab. Give us a break please.

hey man, i wish i could talk about nicer things. i am struck by the lack of understaning in pak on the threats to pak from outside as a result of al-qaeeda finding a home in pak. our dominant trait is to put our head in the sand and hope problem will go away. dunya unfortunately wont wait for us to get our act together.

I understand your concern. But we always had more than what actually we could handle. You know the CJ issue, the Lal Masjid issue and now the suicide attacks. This was the background that I asked for a break. I know we are never short of issues and we are ready to face all. But I guess it's natural to get tired after a certain period of time. Your are talking of an assumption, it's still not a reality and I wish it never becomes one :)

my parents live very close to pak towers where a car filled with explosives was found. so things are getting too close for comfort. and yes, i am discussing a hyothetical situation which i pray never comes true. no harm in planning for contingency though. but i do agree that we are all feeling fatigue from the drama taking place in pak these days.