If Pakistan was never independent and was part of India

Re: If Pakistan was never independent and was part of India

I understand that we may have had bad experiences, online and offline, or read negative things about Indians/Pakistanis of different types. I am sure those people are not even a 0.1% of the total that exist of that population.

If Indians/India in general were not accepting/willing to understand Pakistan/Pakistanis or if they did not feel common affinity then why would they have TV shows featuring talented Pakistanis and appreciating their songs. It is there because people want to see it.

Here is Amanat Ali, a Pakistani guy, from UAE singing. It may have been shown on Pakistani TV or not im not sure.

dailymotion in case the link above does not work

Amanat Ali - Ae Watan Pyare Watan - Video Dailymotion

One day maybe an Indian singer will also be able to sing Allama Iqbal’s beautiful poem Saare jahan se accha on Pakistani TV. It may have occurred i don’t know. If it has feel free to post a link. This is a song all little kids in India learn to sing and love. It does not matter who wrote it and what religion they are. “Mazhab nahi sikhata aapas mein bair rakhna.” One day Jagan Nath Azad, a famous proud Pakistani Hindu Urdu poet’s song Taarana-e-Pakistan will be more well known to little children in Pakistan. I like all 3 songs. They are equally beautiful. Here is Azad’s dua http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21abGRAxqLc

Partition happened and it happened for a reason. There are many questions that can be asked. What if India(name originating from Indus river) had not been independent and was part of Pakistan but it was a secular country. What then? What if it was called a combined name like PakIndia or Industan would saare jahan se acha or aye mere pak watan not been written etc

I am sure both Indians and Pakistanis are happy with partition and what has happened but though we should not forget it or the sacrifices made it is good to move on to remembering similarities as well as just differences.

^Delhi..i appreciate your posts..really. And i think..ya’re very valuable member of this forum..and so as kkf and other Indians. If any…i have soft corner for Indian Muslms and have been good friends with them. And we share many common traits..among them is we both are Muslims first. Before any Indian or Pakistani or whatever. That is how i think. Nationalism is something i am not really fond of. However, when matter pertains to disagreement something about Pakistan..i have heard and seen Indian Muslims..swearing at Pakistanis. So what should we do in turn..methai bantay wapas?.

Another member..KKF..not sure where he mentioned..biasly posted..that there are more Muslims in India then Pakistan. Which is absolutely wrong. That is when..you don’t do research properly. And get your stat from wrong sources. According to Indian Govt. Muslims are 138 plus. NOT 200 to 250?..
Census of India: Religion

I also think..partition happened because of a reason. Nothing against any ethnic, linguistic or religious group in subcontinent.

I don’t have any hatred towards Indians, however if Pakistan would not have been created, I would’ve preferred my people to be 1. Independent 2. With Afghanistan.

I think that Pakistanis from Punjab, Sind, and Urdu speakers have linguistic, cultural, and familial links with North Indians so I can see why many people can see the similarities.

Had the British not taken control of the subcontinent then the collective “we” would have become a super power, most likely … But by the time they were about to leave they had over the 2 centuries of their presence turned the country upside down … At which stage there was a lot of built up anger against fellow people from either different races or different religions … The religious aggression seemed to be where the major fault lines were formed and that is where it split away … With a divide that was designed to weaken both countries … From the POV of the British the way the countries were carved up was designed to be such that control could be kept over all parts of them from distance.

Had the subcontinent survived the breakup but still suffered the British presence then most likely at first the influential Hindus and Muslims would have run the show … As seculars running a country … Within a decade there would have been infighting of regional control. I’m not entirely sure that the Muslim minority would have been totally subdued by the Hindus … There would have been a higher proportion of Muslims anyway. The formation of Pakistan may have given the Pakistani Muslims a bit of self-control but it effectively weakened the remaining Muslims left in India.

It was a strangely carved up plan … Never in the history of mankind were people divided like this on religion … But rather people have always been grouped by race and culture. The Bengalis are separate racially and culturally from Western regions. Sindh should cover the whole of the south west coastline … The areas under Pashtun and Baloch control were never touched and not really affected that much … Punjab was split in two … The Sikhs and Muslims if we had gotten along a bit would have made Lahore into the capital of the wider Punjab region.

Everything would have remained more or less same, for ordinary people apart from war and strategic thing.
Dengue would have been a menace as it is in both Lahore and Delhi, same traffic jams, same number of people spitting where ever they like. Some religious leaders making fiery sermon about heaven and hell, Might be instead of third language as Sanskrit, we would have been taught Urdu, but most of things would have change to just cosmetic level.

Some really great points here. I do want to mention that while the areas under Pakhtun and Baluch control were not effected under the paradigm of British India, they were also split between two countries: With Pakhtuns residing on both sides of the Durand Line effectively split between what is now Pakistan and Afghanistan; the Baluch similarly split between Pakistan and Iran’s Seistan va Baluchistan.

I also do want to highlight that fact that Pakhtuns voted for Pakistan and have believed in that entity. If the Pakistan option had not existed then the Pakhtuns would have preferred Independence or merger with Afghanistan. I can’t speak for the Baluch as they were never presented an option, however I suspect that independence from India and/or merger with Iranian Seistan va Baluchistan might have been the credible option.

^^ But weren’t pakhtuns, at that point of time, were under of baccha khan, who himself was pro-Indian?

Bacha Khan represented one political party which was allied with Indians. The referendum was held on a popular basis which meant that the voice of the average person was counted.

Like I said earlier, nothing against India or Indians, but there little cultural, linguistic, ethnic, and religious commonalities with India. Therefore, no reason to be part of that country.

I would have been very depressed if I had to apply for visa to cross hasan abdal. :frowning:

Muslims of Subcontinent itnay zalil o khowar nahin hotay jo aaj kal hain.