Re: If Pakistan was never independent and was part of India
Im thankful to all the people who sacrificed their lives for giving us a seperate homeland
Our own homeland
Pakistan!
Im thankful to all the people who sacrificed their lives for giving us a seperate homeland
Our own homeland
Pakistan!
We’d probably eat a lot less gosht…![]()
Naa, were butter this way
well lets see - current day pakistan would have had to swallow difficult things like land reforms - abolishment of holding large pieces of land aka zameendari aka waderaism. also the evil of secularism would have been ubiquitous and the super-musalmaans’ eemaan would have been in severe danger from things like kali mata bath soap and hanuman brand toothpaste.
ps: i miss ~irem~, but then again now half of the members are liek her. :\
lol…no way…we, the Indian Muslims, eat more meat than Pakistanis do!
we have taught a lot of vegetarians to to switch to meat…shaakaa-haaris [vegetarians] have become maasaa-haariis [meat eaters]…ab Muslims areas meN Hindus aate haiN Biryani, kabaab khaane, qorma, kofta! ![]()
i would have been able to visit indian occupied kashmir, land of my ancestors
bout the only positive i see
Many of my relatives would never have been murdered.
The people who are present day Pakistanis and Indians lived with each other in relative harmony in the same country for hundreds of years before 1947 too so I don’t see any reason why there would have been discord/intolerance if the partition of India had not happened. I think instead there would have much more tolerance and acceptance of ‘others’ in a more multicultural and diverse constitutionally secular state where all citizens of the country would enjoy equal rights and equal protections.
I do find it quite obscene that a poor country like Pakistan where millions of people live in abject poverty and where so many poor kids don’t even have enough to eat spends so much money on arms race and buying expensive toys for the generals. And this to some extent goes for both countries of course. So if Pakistan was part of India, there would have much less need to spend on defense so that money could have been spent on development projects, on education and healthcare for the more impoverished members of the society.
Also, there would have been so much trade between present-day Pakistan and India. And that trade would have been duty and tariffs free so all the better. Plus, more tourists would probably be visiting the country and more foreign investment would flow into the country too, further driving economic growth.
But what’s done is done of course. So let’s hope that sanity prevails and at least the relationship between the two neighbors improves now.
I don’t know..there are two sides of the story. All i would say…it is good we have our homeland. Ya it is messed up big time..but i think…Quaid e Azam was right..we are two distinct group. Muslims and Hindus..can be good neighbors, friends etc but are different due to our religious differences. There are tons of stories..where both communities lived side by side with harmony before 1947. After 1947…everything changed.
You know..i was noticing one thing..which i always do. Most of fellow Pakistanis like myself…want a good relationship with our neighbor. And you don’t see that kinda optimism in India. Indian Muslims like kkf and delhi are exceptions..but when i read the amount of venom against Pakistan in their forums…disgusts me completely. And makes me appreciate more for being Pakistani.
Yup, woulda been much safer for Shias.
APMSO/MQM would not be there.
A lot of current Pakistanis would have met bollywood stars…their ‘dream’ would have come true.
Pakistanis would not be asking “What if India were not divided”.
Paklink would not exist. ![]()
True - I see more willingness from Pakistanis to be good neighbors.
Lets respect the struggles and sacrifices of the people from that time period. (Both sides) Countries form for a reason.
Both countries should now just learn to be on good terms. The hate exists for no reason.
u could be singing iqbal’s saare jahan se acha based on the name which originated from Indus river. Lol jk but no one is made to sing a song it can be refused.
There is a place in India called Pakistan. It is in Bihar and named after those who left for east Pakistan. What if the entire India and Pakistan region was called Pakistan or Pakindia or Industan after the Indus river? Kuch zyaada paka rahi hoon tumhe right.
Who knows? But like Philosophy says above the best approach is to move on.
It would be nice if borders were less strict, visas were easier to get and situation was peaceful. Better for the people and better for tourism.
Id probably be able to visit Karachi and Lahore something I don’t know will be possible in my life.
just for you Muqa bhai. Enjoy
Aye mere pyare watan on saregamapa show.
Interesting. Bollywood stars were asked whether they’d do an iifa show in Pakistan and all readily agreed as well as appreciating all their Pakistani fans so it may still be possible. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynKIksitX6k Pakistanis like Bollywood like Indians appreciate Pakistani songs and dramas. Plus they readily do shows overseas.
Unless the name of the country was a variant of Pakistan like Pakindia then paklinks could still be there.
The question then that would be asked is if “what if India were divided.”
But things are probably best the way they are.
Overall I think it could be true but that may be because Pakistanis generally know more about India. In India people don’t know much about how Pakistanis live or have access to pakistani dramas. Those that watch them definitely prefer them. Abroad lots of Indians watch Pakistani dramas and you can get Pakistani tv channels with Indian ones. My parents just watch humtv. The media like foxnews like to exaggerate. Abroad Indians/Pakistanis either get along very well or become super patriotic more than those back home.
I guess it depends which forums one goes to and how much the community you see online represents the entire population of India/Pakistan. How much do those comments count compared to the love, appreciation and affection given to Pakistani singers, actors and the Pakistanis participating or judging talent shows like chhote ustaad or saregamapa. Amanat Ali, a reality show contestant, has sung aye mere pak watan on an Indian tv show and received full marks from the indian judges.
Bollywood these days and recent past has shows india and Pakistani solidarity especially when abroad. In a scene in namaste London when there is a game of rugby of whites vs Asians all the Asian players had Indian and Pakistani flags painted on their face.
Medical tourism of Pakistanis to India for liver or heart transplants has continued even through conflicted times. At times anonymous Indians have donated blood to Pakistani patients they have just met. Indian doctors and students give Pakistani patient fresh lease of life - The Hindu
These are probably Indians who don’t have access to net and maybe were uneducated. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUhh1DhPmu4 I am happy that India can help Pakistanis and that they do not need to travel far or abroad for treatment.
Pakistanis are also quite hospitable to Indians who visit and have helped out Indians like the Indian sailors attacked by Somalian pirates. So willingness is there on both sides.
sure there is some discrimination but by a small minority and not by the common people many who dont even have access to the net.
I am sorry that you had to read disgusting comments online but i don’t think online forums can represent a population of 1.2 billion or even 200 million Pakistanis many of the common people who do not even have access to net. Many of these people would be too cowardly to say this in real life. Like gs there are some good india forums which are not very political and moderate unwanted elements. They have Pakistani moerators there as well. There was a Happy Pakistani independence day on there Happy Independence Day Pakistan | 3700204 | Pakistani Serials Forum
and also one where an Indian was enquiring about Pakistani serials.
Plz suggest some Pakistan TV serials | 3701655 | Pakistani Serials Forum
There are lots of communities where Hindus-Pakistanis get along well not just in India but also in Pakistan (i.e Sindh). Violence does not always occur just between religions but also within religions (i.e. Shia vs Sunni in many places of the world or Catholic vs Protestant).
While there have been many stories of partition bloodshed there are also heartwarming stories of people helping neighbours playing on their lives.
Bloodshed would have been much worse if those people did not risk their lives to save other communities. It occurred on both sides. i would rather focus on positives between both communities of which there are many examples. India vs Pakistan: Crowd sing’s ‘Yeh dosti hum nahi todenge’ - YouTube in the end you’re right. partition happened for a reason..and its probably best to move on from hypothetical situations. It happened and Pakistanis are happy and Indians are happy.
Interesting to note molvis such as Dr Zakir Naik saying Muslims would be better off without partition. he mentioned it on some yt video.
He is also proud to be Indian. Interestingly he says “It is one of the few countries in the world which gives the right for the citizen of India to preach, propogate its religion and practice.” I think he is talking about law more than law and order/society. Society is discriminatory and if law and order is not controlled things can happen to minorities whether that be India, Pakistan, Syria, Iraq etc.
WHY DR. ZAKIR NAIK IS PROUD OF HIS COUNTRY INDIA? - YouTube
Personally, that is his view. I agree with most here that it was probably best at the time. I think maybe at that time it was the best thing because of discrimination occurring at the time propelled by the British.
I don’t believe that in most of history there was no unity between Hindu-Muslims or between different Muslim sects in subcontinent. If there was there wouldn’t be Muslims in India or there wouldn’t be the well-known Hindu-Muslim unity found in Sindh. The Sufi tradition is big in subcontinent especially in Sindh and in places in India. There Muslims-Hindus seemed to get along just fine for many centuries. The song dama dam mast qalandar was based on a kalaam by Baba Bulleh Shah a few centuries ago, based on Shahbaaz Qalandar who preached tolerance between Hindus-Muslims. There may have been grievances in both sides but was hardly a dominant theme till this century. Lot of people mention Mughal empire just because it had a Muslim leader does not mean it was a government focused only on Muslims. Actually quite a few had secular principles respecting of all religions.
I see a lot of people talk of Mughal empire and 700 years rule. Akbar had a Hindu advisor called Birbal who he respected and asked opinion of. Razia Sultan, the first Muslim female leader in subcontinent treated Hindus and Muslims equally. Just like one day, maybe when there is more eduation/less communalism, there will be an excellent Muslim leader and he will become PM of India yet he/she will display secular ethos and treat all religions the same.
Not saying this because i am trying to compare India and Pakistan. I dislike doing that. If you keep on doing that it just distracts from improving yourself. Some things Pakistan are better at and some things India is better at. Hopefully one day, with better education, legal protection and improved law and order, there will be equality for all minorities in India and Pakistan. One day travelling the subcontinent will be like travelling Europe and knowing it is safe. I don’t believe in the 2 nation theory based on religion. There can be a 2 mindset theory with
individuals/governments of any country being either secular or communal. Secular means you follow your religion personally and in society but do not ask that the government imposes it on others and you treat all religions fairly. Communalism means you believe in divisiveness and creating difference and imposing your beliefs on others. This can exist between people of all religions and sects.
Just because India and Pakistan are separate does not mean that Pakistani’s muslim and non muslim heritage before 1947 cannot be mine or that India’s pre-partition heritage cannot be considered to be Pakistanis if they consider it so. No force or pressure if you don’t want to. I hope one day the chowk that was to be named after Bhagat Singh in Lahore where he was shaheed goes ahead or at least something like that happens. It was going to happen previously but was stopped due to protests as non-Muslim named roads and squares should not occur in a Muslim country. Bhagat Singh did not have religious biases and promoted brotherhood between all religions. AR Rahman, a famous and well respected Indian Muslim who converted his entire family, wrote a beautiful song called “desh mere desh mere meri jaan hai tu” for him as part of a Bhagat Singh movie.
Good friends, good neighbours..yehi toh chaiye aur kya.
What of the Hindus living peacefully with neighbours in Sindh and have lived there for many centuries due to peaceful Sufi traditions of Bulleh Shah and Shahbaaz Qalandar? Should they be given a memo that they are not welcome now because they are different and this was discovered 40-50 yrs before partition but not many centuries before when they both lived peacefully. Or of the Muslims living peacefully in India with heritage of Taj Mahal etc? Should we let them know of this difference?
What of the non-Muslims represented by the white of the Pakistani flag? The Ahmadis seen as non-Muslim in Pakistan, Christians, Hindus and even Shia who are Muslim and have lived in Pakistan for many centuries?
What of the people of communities who helped the other escape after partition many more millions would have died if that had not occurred. Partition might have been good but planning was bad.
What about sectarian fights in Syria, Iraq and elsewhere? When did things change for them..is that based on Hindu-Muslim as well?
there are forums that are respectful of both Indians and Pakistanis. Then there are the venomous forums on both sides. I apologise for the Indian ones. I try to understand the mindset and lack of willingness. I think it can be attributed to not only media image of Pakistanis (and propoganda which also occurs on Pakistani side to a lesser extent), lack of exposure to Pakistani dramas and knowledge of Pakistani life, and to the treatment of minorities in Pakistan under the law. That’s also an issue western governments have and if they are better treated lot of people will lose the negative image they unnecessarily have of Pakistanis. That does not excuse it though and it is completely wrong. Then when stories such as a suggestion to name a chowk after Bhagat Singh who was shaheed in Lahore, is rejected just because he is non-Muslim and it should not be allowed in a Muslim country, then people generalise and think all Pakistanis want to disown any common heritage they have with Indians and they distance themselves and react. Obviously it is wrong to think that way and I’d condemn it if I came across it online or in real life. This happens more in subcontinent then in West because we judge people based on collective groups rather than Individually. This is wrong and i don’t agree with it.
But to generalise and say it is all would be wrong. There are plenty of movies, Indian singing tv shows and concerts in India featuring Pakistani artists which show there is appreciation and willingness. Recently a Bollywood movie, Ranjhanaa, got banned and it featured a Pakistani singer singing the main song. Reason was because it was a Muslim-non Muslim love story. Then how come “My name is Khan” was allowed when it has similar love story?
Thank you for the kind words about me. There are also i am sure many similar minded indian posters i have chatted with on gs chat but they do not make their Indian identity obvious. They could be Muslim-Shia,Sunni, Ahmadi, Hindu, Christian, non religious etc but don’t see it as necessary to mention. Before being Indian or Australian or whatever i am a human.
I think Quaid-e-Azam wanted to create a country which was Muslim majority but also respected the religions of minorities such as Christians, Sikhs, Hindus etc as mentioned in his speech and to give them freedom to practice it their own way without interference from the state.